We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (530)
Filter reviews
530 results
Traveler rating
205
212
70
24
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
212
70
24
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewseparate buildingsmain buildingold townboutique hotelfree on street parkingfree bikesbreakfast roomrooftop terracedelightful hotelfive minute walkpublic parkingbed was very comfortablebreakfast was excellentfour nightsfresh fruitarchaeological park
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 530 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2017

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in October. It is close to the central market and within walking distance to all major sights. However, the room we stayed in was very small, exactly as in the picture, and as it faces the street, it was noisy, even though we closed all the windows, and that made the room very stuffy. The front desk staff was friendly, and breakfast was okay. This is a quirky little hotel that needs a lot of tender loving care and upgrades.

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank CM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2017

Loved this small hotel by the sea...Room was on the small side but clean and comfortable. We had a great view of the sea..Lovely terrace to relax on and have a drink or read..Breakfast was enough to start your day..Location was perfect. Walked to the market and all over the old town...We were able to park free on the street...Would definitely stay here again if in the area..Staff was very friendly and helpful..

Room Tip: Room with balcony looking on the sea
Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank monancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2017 via mobile

This hotel has lots of charme, and an excellent seafront location in gorgeous Ortigia. The rooms are simple but nicely decorated. Breakfast is rich, but getting a cappuccino instead of a filter coffee is somewhat stressful, as the staff are so much concerned with cleaning up and refilling the bowls and plates. Still, it’s very nice!

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Member_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2017 via mobile

The worst hotel room i have ever experienced. Booked for 2 nights on lonely planet recommendation. Stayed in room 2 . Had to endure the first night with the strong stench of sewage coming from the bathroom. The room is not fit for commercial letting. It is a public health issue. On advising the desk in the morning although the receptionist was very apologetic we still had to pay for the 2 nights. We paid and left after 1 night. The room should be condemned until rectified suitable for further booking. Would the owner stay in this room ?

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
5  Thank RichardB8921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2017

Stayed at the Gutkowski for six nights during a recent tour of Sicily, we had booked a room with a bath, however we were given a room with a shower. The room did have wonderful sea views from it's balcony window. The rooms are simple, decorated with antique furniture giving quite a nice style. The windows are modern an keep out the majority of the traffic noise from the road outside. The 'bathroom' is well fitted although the shower is quite low pressure. As previous correspondents have mentioned the rooms are starting to show some of their age, some of the paint is flaking and our shower head bracket was temperamental, some of the items would be easy to fix, if they levelled the wardrobe the door would open easily. A fair bit of noise is transmitted from the corridor to your room as the doors do not seal, light can be seen all round the door. This results in the lift arrival and departure bing bong being a nuisance particularly when they are catching an early flight, there will also be the noise of suitcases and voices, when they reach the front door you will hear the scrape on the frame as it is not aligned. This all seems quite small and petty, and if you were staying one night I suspect it would not bother you, however trying to get a long lie in peace is difficult.
Breakfast is in the main building as we were in the annex, this is just a few steps along the road. Generally we were breakfasting around 9am. There is a choice of cereals, fruit, yogurt, cheese and bread, sometimes their are a few additional dishes. We were puzzled by the lack of fresh fruit, this was freely available at the market and excellent value, however the majority of the fruit at breakfast was cooked. Fruit juice was on offer, but not orange, just pineapple and apple. Coffee was on offer, but we are tea drinkers and the water boiler was often to cool to brew the tea. There was a selection of cheese available, usually four choices, in all of our other hotels we had also been offered a range of cold meats which gave variety to our breakfast, but here only cheese, again fine for one or two breakfasts but not for a longer stay. Fresh rolls are available, these are good crisp and slightly chewy, nice. Boiled eggs are also on offer. Empty platters are replenished slowly on several occasions I had to request for the empty platter to be filled, this was a slow process. One morning when different staff were on and the staff were proactive, breakfast was good that day, perhaps when the person from the Michelin guide stayed they were on duty. Reading over my review it looks like a bit of a moan, however the Gutkowski could be so much more, the difference between an OK hotel and a good one is always in the detail. Free bikes are also available and we enjoyed cycling round on them, some of the gears on mine worked !

Room Tip: Sea view nice but on the main road.
Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sgstark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews