We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A (reasonable) room with a view”
Review of Hotel Gutkowski

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gutkowski
Ranked #29 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in July. The hotel is charming, it is on the water, has bikes to lend, and the staff is friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and had a view of the sea. The air conditioning worked well, which was important because it was very hot. Breakfast was good, wish they had more fresh fruit. The hotel offers good value for your money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 489 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

We arrived on a busy Saturday night searching for accommodation, unable to find room in the first one, we were directed to here, and how lucky we were. Beautifully located in Ortigia, 5 mins walk from the town, and the harbour. Slightly confusing entrance as hotel is split into 2 buildings. Very stylish interior, with unusual touches; a tapered ladder leaning on the wall, with flashing lights; a long curving ultra modern light in the bedroom, next to a distressed table, really lovely. The hotel has a small terrace overlooking the harbour wall. One difficulty might be parking, although there is a large car park not too far away, very scruffy, probably not ideal to leave your car for too many days. Parking is free opposite the hotel, if you can find a spot. We moved our car early the next morning, we were staying two nights. A little expensive, but a great stop. Fabulous breakfast, beautifully laid out, local and organic produce, plenty of choice and replenished frequently. One slight niggle, our shower tray filled up. Recommended stay.

Room Tip: We had a room to the side, our friends looking out towards the sea wall, which they said was a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is a really good find! The location is very good in the nicer old part of Siracuse (Ortigia) and is a beautiful 5 min walk from the centre. The hotel faces the sea, being very close to a nice little swimming spot used by adventurous locals (and tourists!) ...accessed by a metal ladder and by climbing over the railings!
The staff and owner were super helpful with restaurant suggestions and onward travel ideas and made us feel at home. Nice to see a minibar/fridge with reasonably priced items. Breakfast was in keeping with other places we stayed in Sicily - egg, fruit, cheese, tomatoes, bread, croissants, cereals, juice and was pleasant.
We found it useful to have a dedicated computer for use by guests and the communal areas were comfy with ample guide books etc. Lift with luggage and on-street parking opposite was very useful.
What we loved about this hotel was the design - a mix of original period features and modern chic - really classy. We arrived in Siracuse with no accommodation so visited many other hotels in the city before coming across Gutkowski - the atmosphere and tasteful interior decor stood out as being far more in keeping with what we wanted than the others.
Great views from the rooftop terrace! Bed was really comfy - we had the best sleep of our entire honeymoon here despite facing the street. Ceiling fan and air con and beautiful shutter windows to let the sea breeze in. We would highly recommend this hotel! :-D

Room Tip: Spacious sea facing room number 8 was a great choice... think it is a superior room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Jandy_Adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Gutkowski. The location is very convenient to everything in Ortigia as well as Siracusa. The view from the sea wall (which is located across a street), is beautiful. The room we stayed in was spacious and very, very clean. We also found it fairly quiet despite being located in front of the road. We spent several afternoons on the terrace enjoying the afternoon sun with a glass of wine and some antipasta we picked up at the grocery store. We also enjoyed the complimentary granita that was available in the late afternoon. The breakfast was more than adequate with fresh fruit and many other items to choose from. The staff was amazing, especially Christina who was very helpful and spent a great deal of time helping us with dinner suggestions. All in all, a charming, clean, pleasant place to stay in Ortigia. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are very nice, but if you prefer quiet, you can request a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2011cherp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel’s location is ideal: in front of the sea, with parking area and within easy walking distance of anything in Ortygia, including the best rated restaurants and sights. The rooms are small and bare bones but clean and perfectly adequate. The staff is very helpful. The breakfast leaves a lot to be desired with few choices, and it gets very crowded. We had to search for staff to get coffee each morning we were there; it was also the first time that a hotel had a sign that they would charge for a second cappuccino. Wifi is available but you need to get new passwords/login information every 24 hours, which is annoying and not particularly efficient. The hotel does have a very lovely deck with awning cover where you can relax or sunbathe while overlooking the sea and where they provide free granitas each evening. There is an amazing open market a few blocks away where you can get fresh prepared meals, and many hotel guests purchased lunch there and returned to enjoy their meal or snack on the deck. The hotel is also within very short walking distance to the only two places to swim in Ortygia (perhaps even Syracusa).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank albagianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

In general nice stylish hotel with a nice atmosphere. We stayed in the smallest room next to the terrace which was nice and fairly cheap. Although it seems that they have made an effort on the breakfast it didn't suit us and we found that we didn't like most if not all things.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nik0sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I loved the area, and the hotel was very pleasant. Below average breakfast and a little drain smell, but hey, ancient building. Really nice staff, and would certainly stay again Syracuse is a terrific and fascinating town. History is everywhere, in depth!

Room Tip: Upstairs with the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drewratter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.6 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
0.1 mi away
Domus Mariae
Domus Mariae
#22 of 75 in Syracuse
328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Domus Mariae Benessere
Domus Mariae Benessere
#26 of 75 in Syracuse
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.3 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#3 of 75 in Syracuse
610 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Hotel Alla Giudecca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gutkowski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gutkowski

Address: Lungomare Elio Vittorini 26, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Price Range: $88 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gutkowski 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Gutkowski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gutkowski Hotel Syracuse
Hotel Gutkowski Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing