We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great situation”
Review of Hotel Gutkowski

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gutkowski
Ranked #24 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great situation”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I loved the area, and the hotel was very pleasant. Below average breakfast and a little drain smell, but hey, ancient building. Really nice staff, and would certainly stay again Syracuse is a terrific and fascinating town. History is everywhere, in depth!

Room Tip: Upstairs with the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drewratter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    192
    61
    18
    15
See reviews for
72
246
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We travelled by bus from Piazza Armerina (with a stop to change buses at Catania). We walked from the bus station (approx. 10 min walk). The hotel is located within the island of Ortygia. The hotel has rooms overlooking the sea. The decor is lovely, with extremely cozy public areas. Our room was interior but still it was great. The bathroom was huge, with a bathtub. The hotel is very close to all the sights in Ortygia and is also within walking distance of the archeological area and museum. Staff is really helpful and friendly and breakfast is great!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel is small but that is part of the charm! We found it to be very comfortable and clean. It is very quiet but if your room is in the front facing the street, you hear the traffic since the hotel is on the main road that leads you out of Ortigia to the city Siracusa. When we step outside you are right by the sea and walking distance to points of interest in Ortigia. It has a very nice terrace. The breakfast was amazing! From a great variety of fresh fruits to cheeses, breads, croissants and a perfect cappuccino, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SicilySmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was a great place for part of our family summer holiday as it was in a great location, only a short car journey from stunning nature reserve beaches and with an amazing market just around the corner from your front door, what more could you want?

We visited with 2 teens and a 10 year old and we all had a very enjoyable experience with fantastic weather and delightful staff. It really is more than you could expect for their price!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a small boutique hotel in two buildings close together. We were away from the main reception and had a room overlooking the sea. The room was very clean, bright and very comfortable, with a great view. There was no noticeable traffic view. The bathroom was perfect. The staff were very friendly, and gave useful advice about where to eat. The breakfast was just what we wanted. Overall, I would definitely recommend it - book ahead. We used iescape.com.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are bright, spacious and worht asking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C2OTTO-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Paul de Vence
Level Contributor
114 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Located on the seafront of Ortigia this small hotel offers a great view. The best place to enjoy the panorama is the terrace. It is divided in two separate buildings 30 meters apart, one for the rooms and the other for the reception and the breakfast room. It is within walking distance of all the sites of Ortigia where it is no problem to walk the streets and the alleys even at night. Parking is available on the lungomare.

Our room had a sea view which on one side was great, but on the other side had the huge disagreement to be terribly noisy as the traffic never stops on the lungomare and the soundproofing is nonexistent. It was like having the bed on the sidewalk. Room was small and deprived of any decoration: the only item on the walls was a flat TV with no international channels. Furniture was of odds and ends and nightstand looked like Ikea. Bathroom was small and basic, well in line with the room. WiFi available in the lobby. Breakfast was frugal and could be more elaborate: juices and pastries only. Service was good but nothing exceptional.

To account for the location and the friendly service we'll give it an average minus, not to mention a room rate too expensive by 10 percent at least.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chagoule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I was there for six nights. I arrived at 11:15 pm for my first night, and upon entering the room found a large, deep puddle of water covering most of the bathroom floor. I called the clerk up, and he figured the water had come from the air conditioning unit. He promised that the problem would be fixed the next day. The 'solution' turned out to be that they disconnected the air conditioner. Every day I was there, I pointed out that the air conditioner wasn't working; every day I received smiling assurances that the problem would be fixed that day. It never was. Alas, the inability of the hotel staff to solve the problem of no air conditioning during a Sicilian summer knocks down the rating, even though other aspects of my stay were fine. If your room at the Gutkowski has a problem, don't expect a solution from the staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lthoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.1 mi away
Domus Mariae
Domus Mariae
#16 of 75 in Syracuse
310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.3 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#4 of 75 in Syracuse
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
0.3 mi away
Hotel Livingston
Hotel Livingston
#18 of 75 in Syracuse
322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Hotel Alla Giudecca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gutkowski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gutkowski

Property: Hotel Gutkowski
Address: Lungomare Elio Vittorini 26, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gutkowski 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Gutkowski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gutkowski Hotel Syracuse
Hotel Gutkowski Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing