We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Forgettable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chiesa di Santa Lucia alla Badia

Ranked #14 of 111 things to do in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
342 reviews
169 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
“Forgettable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Echoing what a previous reviewer stated, unless you read and comprehend Italian, this site is probably only worth a peek. Yes, there is a hole in the ground covered by glass before the altar that had no explanation. When I went, there were relics (bones) of what I assume were St. Lucy's; with the signage being in Italian, I wasn't sure. I also did not know which painting was Caravagio's and since one can't take photos inside the church, there was no way I can look this information up online later on. I'll probably eventually forget about what I saw.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank CCC_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    100
    33
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Got an education”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

So, full disclosure, my wife is Italian and I speak and read Italian. So, I get extra help during these visits understanding what it is that I'm seeing. That said, I'd never heard of Michelangelo Caravaggio, and I'm glad I got to see and learn about his work.

The church is nothing to write home about, and the hole in the ground near the altar wasn't explained. It was also hard to see down in there because of the reflection of the light from above. Also, the painting was a bit far away for me to truly appreciate the details. However, there is a big board in the back of the church (all in Italian) that gives a detailed explanation of the painting and of Michelangelo Caravaggio and his journeys in relation to the painting and also information about the restoration of this work. If you speak and read Italian, then this is a worthwhile visit. Otherwise, pop in for a look, but you probably won't understand much.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank martianwalrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Palisades
Level Contributor
97 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Worth the visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

If I remember correctly, this is where you'll find the Carravagio. Check the hours that it is open.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Friar4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1,075 reviews
655 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,571 helpful votes
“An Unexpected Caravaggio Altarpiece”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

The Basilica of Santa Lucia of the Holy Sepulchre lies at the far end of the Piazza Duomo in the Ortygia section of Syracuse. The Saint was martyred on this site in 304 AD. The church retains the basic Norman plan of immense nave and with two side aisles.

One of the most notable features is an immense painting by Caravaggio depicting the Burial of Santa Lucia dating to 1608 that hangs over the main altar. The painting is a masterpiece with it's bold contrast of light and dark and composition dominated by two enormous figures hovering over the body of the Saint. It is interesting to note that Caravaggio came to Syracuse after excaping from prison in Malta. Why he fled to Syracuse is a mystery, though there may be a link between Fra Raffaele of Malta who was also Guardian of the Convent of the Church. The painting was just painstakingly restored to its originial beauty. No photos are allowed inside the church.

The sepulchre itself is next door, a large octagonal building dating to Norman times. A catacomb lies beneath the church and extends beneath the square. A large plaque in Italian lists many who are buried here. If I read it correctly, there are many family members of Santa Lucia interred there. Don't miss this church...it's pretty wonderful.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank redeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiesa di Santa Lucia alla Badia also viewed

Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Chiesa di Santa Lucia alla Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing