We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property about 20 minutes from Syracuse”
Review of Limoneto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Limoneto
Ranked #87 of 231 Syracuse B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Menlo Park, CA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice property about 20 minutes from Syracuse”
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We enjoyed our stay here. The host is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very nice and are in bungalos, but solidly built. This is a lemon farm and it is nice to walk around. It is quiet unless they have a party at the restaurant, which does happen on weekends or holidays, so beware as a lot of kids are there as well as noise from the restaurant, especially if a singer is present and they crank up the volume on the mic!! We had to ask them to turn it down as did others.
Food here is horrible and unedible. Way overpriced and the meat was so tough, people were leaving it behind. Pasta was not great and you paid extra for water or wine. At 22 euros each, it was a ripoff. We did meet a lot of nice guests here, though. They all agreed the food was awful and they ate in Syracuse where there are numerous good trattorias.

Room Tip: as far away from the restaurant as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buchends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at Limoneto, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Dear Buchends ,
thank you for your review. It is in general line a positive one . Good has been the welcome and the way you have been treated as a guest .
Nice and clean was the room and nice was the place . you gave them 5 points .
You even rated 5 points the quality of your sleep , in spite of some music that in fact was immediately turned down, as proper reaction of a well behaved family .
Then , all of a sudden your style changes . and you start to inveigh against that food that we have so caringly prepared for you , as a family do for their guests.
Now , what is clear is that you did not like the food, but why not telling us ? have we treated you rudely ? have we given you a dirty room ? haven't we given you all the necessary information to enjoy your daily trips, and finally ........ haven't we treated you as a member of OUR family listening to you and sharing feelings , all seated around the table talking about family events during the second world war? .
As, this is an agriturismo, staying with a local family , sharing ideas , experiences and feelings , good and BAD; where also cultural gaps are mended ( like in the case of food) . You should have told us , we would have cooked something special for you and WITH you .
What I want to get with this reply?
I want to invite readers and potential guests to come to Limoneto with the idea that they are going to stay in a FAMILY where ALL members ( YOU and US ) are happy to experiences, to help , to fulfill each other wishes and where everyone wants to have a second chance, as in the best families .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    36
    16
    10
    12
See reviews for
31
58
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Could not believe this place in light of the reports on reputable websites and books such as Sawdays. What I could not believe even more was the response of the proprietor to a previous report in november 2010 which also describes it as terrible.
On that basis I am sure the owners will also think of my report that I have a problem with myself and where I am in life. Perhaps when a few more people with such problems write in they may start to get the message.
The food was the cheapest preparations available. Proprietary cheapline supermarket foods, processed breads and cheese, terrible coffee!! (in Italy for heaven's sake) and the only home grown produce I saw was an orange (hardly surprising on a working orange and lemon farm). The pasta dish on the only night we subjected ourselves to the restaurant ( cafetaria would be a better word for it) was DEFINITelY not made with home made Pasta. It was essentially macaroni cheese that would have raised eyebrows in a school dining room.
The welcome? What welcome. It was cold when we arrived, but all the heating was firmly switched off and the room smelt of damp/ After a prolonged procedure the heat grudgingly appeared. The towels were paper thin and I presume that guests are only expected to take one shower per stay as the shower gel was not replaced after the first night.
It is all such a shame.the location is stunning, the potential enormous. Unfortunately ones overriding impression was one of maximum profits with minimum expenditure. Everything was from the cheap end of the market, the food, bedding,towels, and attitude to extras such as heat when appropriate.
This is the first time in my life I have ever written a bad report for a hotel or restaurant. However this place was so poor in relation to what it was supposed to be, and the appalling response of management alluded to above was just too much for me to ignore.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovenoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

This place was a huge disappointment and we were very surprised by the descrepancy of our experience and the description of the website. There is no contact from the owners except for handing us a key upon arrival and then asking for cash payment at the end. Our room was dark, damp and cold with very little natural light. Bars in front of the windows block what little view there is making it feel very much like a prison. There is a sense of cutting corners and cheapness about absolutely everything. Our room was freezing (we had to ask Alceste to have the heat put on), the sheets were cheap and scratchy, tiny cheap bars of soap, cheap toilet paper. We stayed three nights but were only given two small sachets of shampoo to last the duration of our stay. The dining room seems institutional with a buffet bar serving terrible overpriced (at £22.00) dinner. The website says the food is typical Sicilian cooking and pasta is home-made (it was a pre-cooked 'pasta bake' served in a Pyrex on a warming bar), pre-cooked institutional sliced meat swimming in gravy and some fairly OK cooked pre-cooked sausages with spinach. The only dessert option for the set-priced dinner was an orange. (yet on the website it shows cake) Compared to beautifully cooked food during the rest of our Sicilian holiday - this is not at all good value for money. We felt very misled and cheated. Our breakfast consisted of terrible stale white bread with no way to toast it, cheap processed cheese, cheap sliced sausage, cheap jam, bad coffee and cheap artificially flavoured prune & apricot yoghurt - no fresh fruit - goods that all seemed to have come from the local hypermarket rather than 'agritourismo' locally grown or sourced products. I got no sense of being in Italy - as there were no locally produced ingredients or foods at breakfast except for a glass of fresh orange juice - IF you know to go to the kicthan door and ask for it.

Maybe this place is OK if you have children and might get a good discount for them - but for a couple this place is very overpriced and depressing. There's no where to escape the 'prison room' and no way to buy or make a cup of tea or coffee except in the dining room between 8.30-9,30am breakfast and 7.30-8.30 dinner.
The owners seem only interested in doing as little as possible for the best financial return and good luck to them. I've stayed in Youth Hostels with better food and service. SHOCKING!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whoopigsooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

We booked here not only for the location close to Syracuse and Ragusa/Noto area, but also because of recommendations from Karen Brown, Frommers and Sawdays guidebooks. In our month of travelling the south of Italy, this place was our only dog. Although the grounds are pleasant, our welcome was non-existent; the owner was having lunch and was not pleased to be interrupted. She asked for payment immediately, there was no introduction to the farm, no hospitality whatsoever. Our room was basically a cheap motel room, with a tiny bathroom that had a toilet that wouldn't stop running, a shower stall that was so small my husband had to keep the door open when he showered, and broken tiles on the floor. We had to ask for toilet paper, and an extra bed sheet. The owner had the air -conditioner turned off, despite 28C humid weather. We suffered the first night, then asked about the controls for it, and she reluctantly turned it on, shaking her head why we wanted it. We never purchased dinner here because it was always a buffet in a large room that turned into a musical karioke night. The breakfast offered was an embarrasement to agritourism. There was coffee, cheap sliced bread ( no toaster), processed cheese slices, yogurt and some grapes that had seen better days. It was obvious that the other guests we saw at breakfast were also disappointed. Nobody was present at breakfast to supervise. Guests just came, and quickly left.
The location proved to be awkward for our needs. It was close enough to Syracuse, but a very long drive (11/2 hours) through difficult roads into Ragusa and Noto. I would definitly recommend staying in Syracuse, then moving on to Ragusa instead of trying to find a location inbetween. This is the first property recommended by Karen Brown that we found to be unsatisfactory. We wonder how different their stay was?
At 80Euros a night, of course we didn't expect luxury, but we did expect some hospitality and some sort of introduction/connection to their farm. We stayed at OTHER agritourism properties on this trip and they were OUTSTANDING. So sad.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buddahbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at Limoneto, responded to this review, November 21, 2010
I feel very very sad when people write a review like this about Limoneto, my place. Expecially because it comes from people that I have known by name and surname,whose face I remember, someone I have talked to , someone I have personally invited to dinner , someone I have given suggestion to have a good time while in my land; Just because they chose to come and stay in my house , at Limoneto, and I was proud of it.
My family and I always do our best to make our guests feel at home while they're away from it, to make them stay in a clean , well kept , flowered place , to build a friendly, relaxing , informal atmosphere , to cook food that is personally made in our kitchen , with poducts grown on our grounds, as far as we can, and that we prefer being tasty and genuine more than looking gorgeous at all costs .
And our simple and spontaneous way of welcoming travellers from different parts of the world is supported by the positive reaction of the greatest part of our guests that remain fascinated by the place, by the food , but expecially by the way we treat them , exactly as they were part of our family .
But it happens sometimes that certain people have different expectations, or an attitude that is far away from wanting to get in touch with what's going on around them ; sometimes they are just not happy within themselves! They simply want something different , and then.............They stub you in the back ( as this is the feeling I have , seriously).
It is very sad for me .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

I can't understand how anyone would criticise the restaurant at Limoneto. The food was the best we had in all of Sicily and the owners were incredibly helpful and friendly, if asked. The location is a short drive from Siracuse, and it was an excellent place to relax and acclimatise at the start of a holiday. You can easily visit the historic sites and beaches from Limoneto if you have a car. The rooms were large and very comfortable, with a nice view over the gardens.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luciamandorle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2009

I can understand why Il Limoneto has received mixed reviews. My feeling is that the owners have lost the plot about "agriturismo" - probably as a result of the influence of their children, who now take an interest in the property, they are turning it into more of a hotel resort and moving away from the true agriturismo culture. The swimming pool and the restaurant (open to non-residents) set the scene. We stayed here for two nights on our recent tour of Sicily and had booked dinner for our first night. This was served in the restaurant, and there was not the usual agriturismo feeling of dining as a guest of the family - the only person we spoke to was the waiter. There was also a TV set on all the time, which we always find distracting. So far as the food was concerned, the first two courses (selection of antipasti from the self-service buffet and a pasta dish) were good, but the meat course (beef) was very ordinary. Our room was fine, in a separate building from the main reception and restaurant. However, although there was an air-conditioner in the room, there was no obvious way of switching it on. (I suspect it had been turned off for the winter, though with daytime temperatures hovering around 30 degrees this seemed a bit premature.) It wasn't easy to contact anyone to ask about it, so we put up with it for the two nights we were there. We tried leaving the window open, but the barking of the hotel's two dogs soon stopped that. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceiniog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

We stayed in Il Limoneto one night while visiting Syracusa. The location of the hotel is nice and convenient, the inside yard and orchards are lovely. When we arrived it was raining, the parking space is outside the gates - a long walk to the reception and rooms. The owners were very nice and welcoming, they immediately offer to open the gates and let us drive directly to the building (at this point the rain stopped and there was no need to bring the car in).
The reception area is pleasant. The only internet access is by using owners laptop (with mobile modem) - they offered it for free use in reception area. Connection is very slow but working...
The room is quite and clean but spartan as one would expect on a farm...
We came about 6pm, it was getting dark,rainy and we were tired driving... so we decided to try the dinner. After reading reviews we did not expect anything exciting and so decided to split one dinner (for 2 people). The dinner was something one may get in the students canteen - it is absolutely the worse diner I have ever seen in Italy (or anywhere in Europe for that matter). Antipasti plate was meager: 3 olives, 1 small piece of eggplant, 1 small piece of zucchini. Pasta plate was O.K.. The second plate was only pork that we do not eat - no vegetarian or other option.
Perhaps we were not lucky and they have better choices on some other days/occasions.
Breakfast, as one may expect, was meager and uninspiring ...
It is a nice place to stay for Syracusa and day trip - just do not touch their food...

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leoasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.9 mi away
Agriturismo Case Damma
Agriturismo Case Damma
#5 of 98 in Syracuse
174 reviews
2.4 mi away
Agriturismo La Perciata
Agriturismo La Perciata
#19 of 98 in Syracuse
160 reviews
2.6 mi away
Agriturismo Sant'Elia
Agriturismo Sant'Elia
#2 of 4 in Cassibile
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Villa Sunset Bed & Breakfast
Villa Sunset Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 17 in Fontane Bianche
119 reviews
2.3 mi away
Azienda Agrituristica Soleluna
2.0 mi away
Resort Sant'agostino
Resort Sant'agostino
#7 of 98 in Syracuse
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limoneto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limoneto

Property: Limoneto
Address: Via del Platano 3, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Limoneto 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our nice swimming pool,open from May to end October it is a relaxing , lovely place where to enjoy some time away from the rush of the town and from the "stress" of sightseeing .Our restaurant offers dishes prepared with care and with ample choice for vegans and vegetarians. Our terrace overlooking the lemon trees is an ideal place to sit and talk to friends and other travelers .The family Norcia welcomes guest with friendly smiles , handshakes,being helpful and available to guests' requests , maps and descriptions of the area . We offer free of charge private car park ,normal speed internet connection , tea / coffee set in the rooms , AC in every unit , Italian classes , and sometimes , or on request , some soft music entertainment .And finally , we sell our own farm products : Limoncello , extra virgin olive oil , lemon and orange marmalade . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Limoneto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limoneto Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing