We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Hotel”
Review of Domus Mariae

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Domus Mariae
Ranked #22 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We really enjoyed our sojourn at this hotel. Our room was in the old part and looked straight onto the sea. The room was comfortable and quiet. The breakfast, served in the new part, was very nice. The dining room is very attractive. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Cinzia speaks good English and is very friendly and helpful

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lesley18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domusdirettrice, Direttore at Domus Mariae, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for your lovely words.
We are glad that you enjoyed all things that make Domus Mariae what it is: a little hotel, well located in the historical center, with a wonderful sea view.
We're sorry we don't have an elevator, but it's an ancient building and we can't do nothing nowadays (but we will always try to find a solution).

We hope to welcome you again during your next trip in Sicily.

Kind regards
Sister Rosamaria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 328 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

Wonderful place, building and room corresponding to the aura of location, welcoming and hospitality staff, courteous service. True spirit of Ortigia and Sicilia! MERAVIGLIA! MERAVIGLIOSO! GRAZIE, CINZIA!

Room Tip: Sea view with the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vytis2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domusdirettrice, Direttore at Domus Mariae, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for your review.
We are really happy to read that we satisfied your expectations.
We hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Sister Rosamaria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed in the original "old building" on the 2nd floor (3rd level in Italy) with a room that had a small balcony straight out to the Bay of Siricusa, and coupled with the gorgeous weather, the two mornings we rose and looked out on the water and felt the fresh breeze were reminiscent of a great foreign film! Yes, we had to walk up and down stairs, but frankly, it was no big deal. Anyone who comes to Syracuse and doesn't stay on Ortigia, has no idea what they are missing. The island is beautiful and perfect for walking... everywhere, day and night..... the hotel's location is perfect. The staff was friendly and helpful (though running out of toilet paper was an odd event). This albergo is a real gem worth booking!

Room Tip: If you can get a room in the old building facing the water you won't be sorry for the premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snorkelingfan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Found this albergo after a recommendation from a friend, and checking up on Tripadvisor. The place is divided into two; Domus Mariae Benessere, a newer building across the street (official four star hotel, probably worth more) and ours, along the street facing the water. This is an old building without elevator with approx 6 rooms on each floor (reception on first floor, two floors with rooms and then a solarium/sun terrace). In total I think they claim to have 16 rooms, but we found only 13, one single tucked away behing reception. Swiftly our suitcases were carried upstairs without us having to ask for it, and not expecting this having read previous reviews (THANKS). An energetic lady checked us in and gave us a big, comfortable and nicely decorated room on the third floor, 203. Unfortunately, we couldn't get a room facing the water, but all rooms had balconies, our overlooking the Church and buildings across the small&calm street and two small chairs available if you wanted to sit outside. Rooms were equipped with an extra sofabed, writing desk, flat screen TV (small screen but sufficient), two chairs, an armchair and a fully equipped minibar. A hall with 3 wardrobes, no safe though. Bathroom fairly spacy with shower cabin. The hotel is run by three nuns, and their excellent staff, doing a very, very good job. Had a lot of help from the very nice lady at the reception, as well as by her male colleagues, to book restaurants and get advice, driving instructions, maps etc. Super!! In the morning, breakfast was served across the street, in the Domus Mariae Benessere building (which is also connected to the Church, and to a spa). Most mornings arriving after American groups, buffet was almost cleaned out, but as quickly as possible, the ladies working refilled the plates. A small selection of just what you need, fresh ricotta cheese, bread, butter, Three types of jam, fresh fruit, sometimes a fruit salad, yoghurt made in the house sometimes, cake, croissants, biscuits, ham of excellent quality and a selection of cheeses. Not the spread you get in the US, but ample for Italy. And very fresh&tasty. More could be ordered, at a fee. Coffee, espresso, hot chocolate, tea - green or black available, as well as some fruit juices, and for those who ordered, also freshly squeezed orange juice. Free wifi (a bit slow) available in the lobby and reception areas of both buildings. You could lie and relax in the sun (or shade) on the roof top terrace, or sit in the shade and eat or read, a good tip we picked up from another review on Tripadvisor. The location in Ortigia was perfect, Close to the market, to many restaurants, wine bars, cafés. Parking was actually easy to find. There is a big parking place not far away, but there is a small piazza outside the hotel (where two small buildings probably used to stand) and an elderly man and some younger ones take turn guarding it, helping you find a spot, even parking your car like a valet (feels a bit strange giving your car keys to some of these characters, but it proved safe), giving the car keys to the reception as soon as they found a free spot. We stayed a week and toured the area and would definitely come back to this small hotel again. Remember, it is officially Three star, so don't expect luxury, but the small hotel delivers a standard and service that beats many four- or five star hotels of Italy.

Room Tip: Ask if you could get a room with a seaview, but don't get disappointed if you get a room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanochBarbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights here as part of a Rick Steve's tour, and it was one of the best, if not the best hotel on the tour. The rooms were large and comfortable, and very clean.

I wish I remembered the name of the very energetic woman who dynamically and efficiently organized checking in 30 of us at the same time, but she was a dynamo, and kept her cool throughout.

Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I believe there are only three rooms that offer a sea view from the original building. We were not o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrVTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here for only two nights and would have stayed longer in this converted convent if we could have. It was quiet,peaceful and in a great location. David at reception was especially helpful although to be fair everyone was helpful. Loved the marble stairs and the super heavy drapes as well as the shutters that ensured good sleeping. Also loved seeing the nun/s still involved.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judepettitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at the Domus Mariae in early September 2013. We had a lovely large room overlooking the sea with wonderful views particularly at dawn and dusk. The room and bath were immaculate. Everyone on the staff was extremely friendly and helpful and provided very good advice about restaurants, day trips, parking, etc. We never had any trouble finding a parking place near the hotel and they provided a small sign for the dashboard which permitted us to park in the residents-only spaces. The complementary breakfasts were good. The location of the hotel on the Ortygia provides the perfect Siracusa experience.

Room Tip: When booking ask for the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.0 mi away
Domus Mariae Benessere
Domus Mariae Benessere
#26 of 75 in Syracuse
383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posta
Hotel Posta
#37 of 75 in Syracuse
402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Livingston
Hotel Livingston
#21 of 75 in Syracuse
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Maniace Hotel
Royal Maniace Hotel
#16 of 75 in Syracuse
455 reviews
0.5 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
0.2 mi away
Residence Hotel Alla Giudecca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Mariae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Mariae

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 76, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Syracuse
#13 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#14 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: $74 - $1,142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Domus Mariae 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Domus Mariae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Domus Mariae Hotel Syracuse
Domus Mariae Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing