We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic seafood”
Review of Red Moon

Red Moon
Ranked #297 of 655 Restaurants in Syracuse
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Manhattan
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic seafood”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

First, the location that comes up with the address is incorrect. as one faces the harbor, go to the left and you'll see a "cabana" (tent-like structure). That is Red Moon which is technically called "Pub Red Moon Di Costanzo Cristina"

Don't let the structure put you off. Here you'll find some of the best seafood you'll ever have. Spaghetti con ricci, zuppe vongole, pesce grigliata, polipo...

We were told about the place by an Italian co-worker who asked a friend from Siracusa - when we got there for lunch it was all locals having a great meal as did we.

Looking for Red Moon, we asked a gentleman where it was as the location in Tripadvisor was off. He told us where it was and we asked if it had good seafood. His reply was "Ottima" - heartily agree.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMN-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    112
    51
    22
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modena, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very good!!!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

You must visit this Restaurant.
First of all you need to book with few days in advance because it is always full!

After that just be sure to keep your whole evening free because the service is slow and because after dinner you will not be able to move for all the food eaten!

Here the seafood is marvellous. Try the pasta with sea hurchin, it is their special meal and it is AWESOME!

Also the rest of the food is very nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Attilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great value and excellent lunch!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Walking to this restaurant was quite a trek, but our research and the people at the hotel said it was well worth it. We went for lunch on a Sunday, and it was filled with Italians enjoying great seafood at reasonable prices. It is quite casual and unsophisticated, but the seafood was excellent and it was a great value. We loved it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dina4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Kerry, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Seafood Ever!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Have not eaten better seafood ever, must be because it's so fresh. Be warned, don't be expecting to be waited on hand and foot, service is probably like you're getting it from your mother! I ordered the boiled octopus and that's exactly what I got - a full boiled octopus on a plate!!! But it was delicious. Good value too. We were there in June and we had to book a day in advance.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johdoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fishy”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a very quirky place to eat! think tent in the corner of a car park! And then think some of the freshest sea food going!As other reviews have mentioned it was full of locals which is always a good sign.

Mussel soup, spaghetti with sea urchins- don't be put off by spines, all the hardwork is done for you- and lovely piece of freshly griddled, plainly cooked swordfish. Nearly changed our menu choices when we saw a gent behind eating a whole freshly cooked octopus which looked gorgeous.

Only one waitress on the day we were there, but very switched on and capable.

A little tricky to locat, but well worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolinePoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Moon also viewed

Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Red Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing