We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a good make-over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jolly Aretusa Palace Hotel
Ranked #67 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Starting with the good points: it's clean, the beds are excellent and the front desk staff are friendly and as helpful as they're able to be.
The bad points: it's very shabby, the breakfast is poor (as noted by other reviewers) and the dining room staff are rude and unhelpful. The toilet flush in our bathroom defied attempts by hotel staff to mend it. So the cistern continued to flush non-stop all night.

The evening meal was extremely poor. To begin with, I was refused service in the 'restaurant' because I asked to eat before the rest of my party (a tour group which had been held up due to their flight being late). When they finally grasped that I wanted to eat a la carte, I was served one course but wasn't asked whether I wanted another. I ordered gnocci which were definitely from a packet, served with a sauce which tasted as if its only ingredient was tinned tomatoes. Gnocci and tomato sauce aren't difficult to make!

I recommend looking for an alternative hotel if you have the choice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HuddersfieldNell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 342 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed at Jolly hotel in Siracusa Sicily from April 01 till April 6- the overall review is just OK. Not my idea for 4 stars hotel, more like 3 stars. Advantage: very clean, great location (near the half island "ortigia"), nice breakfast. Disadvantages: Staff is very nice but not all of them knows English and they were not helpfull, very small room, everything looks old.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reut b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Points: easy to park but not guarded or in a garage.
Bar Closes early with no substitue within short walking distance. Breakfast good but not quite value for money. I have stayed at this hotel previously but following a slight renovation the situation in my opinion has deteriorated.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bageeraone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Do not be tricked by the renewed and elegant lobby – our room was a hole, and our bathroom resembled that of an airplane, with the shower and toilet not functioning normally all the time. We had to leave our clothes in the suitcases, as there was no place to put them. As a matter of fact, one of our suitcases had to be in the vertical position, and the other on top of the wardrobe, as there was literally no room.
Breakfast was mediocre with poor selection of fresh fruit, even more so for Sicily, rich with fruits and vegetables. It was certainly not in line with four stars.
Wireless internet cost 5 EUR/3 hours!!! In all others spots we stayed at in Sicily we had it complimentary, for free!!!
Some of our friends were staying in the hotel as well – their air condition didn’t work, so they were offered wi-fi free of charge.
The front-desk staff was kind and ready to help (they showed good will to change our room, but unfortunately it was not available), however those in the breakfast room/restaurant were impolite and bossy.
Location of the hotel: if you want to go around and explore nearby beaches (if you are by car), it is fine, as it is close to the bypass and highway, but if your stay is focused on Siracusa and Ortigia Island, then expect a 20-minute walk from the hotel to the main square at Ortigia Island.
The only advantage of the hotel is the parking free of charge – as in many small Sicilian towns, parking spots are hard to find, and it was a relief to leave the car in a guarded parking in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sagf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

On first sight we were pleasantly surprised by our room, but the place was let down by several annoying, if minor defects. The worst of these was that the tap in the wash basin was installed too near the wall, so that the plunger for the plug could not be fully raised and the plug not fully fitted. This was also the case in at least one other room. Then the shower was positioned relative to the shower screen in such a way that it was impossbile to shower without soaking the floor. Other irritations included one light bulb not working and a lack of tissues in the dispenser.

We were in a party and had fairly basic and unexciting food at dinner, but the breakfasts were fine. Our last dinner was nearly ruined by a waiter straight out of Fawlty Towers, whose antics caused a delay of about half an hour in our being served.

Having said all that, the hotel is well positioned for the archaeological sites and okay for a gentle stroll down to Ortigia. It is clean and the common areas are modern, if rather uninviting.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

good position
friendly reception
standard breakfast

ottima posizione
accettazione amichevole
stanze larghe ma un po datate
ottima qualita prezzo

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toniopride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

This hotel is very recommended especially if you arrive the city by car. It is in the modern part of the city, but within walking distance from the charming old town. Service is friendly and rooms spacious.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juginem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Archimede Ortigia
Hotel Archimede Ortigia
#52 of 75 in Syracuse
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#50 of 75 in Syracuse
210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Siracusa Prometeo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
#4 of 75 in Syracuse
435 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Relax
Hotel Relax
#38 of 75 in Syracuse
177 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#66 of 75 in Syracuse
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolly Aretusa Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Aretusa Palace Hotel

Address: Corso Gelone 45, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: $68 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jolly Aretusa Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Jolly Aretusa Palace Hotel', is a "4 Stars", situated to Syracuse center. The 114 rooms, have been projected and furnish for guaranteeing the comfort of the guests in the respect of an absolute privacy. The elegance of the comforting environments, the courtesy of the service, always impeccable, the safety of a professional assistance, they do the ideal place for business guests, that will find here a favorable environment to the planning and the management of their appointments, or for the families or Touristic and Religious Groups, that for the enviable strategic position exploiting in the center of the city of Syracuse, they can do the point of departure for the most famous destinations, that are a few steps from the hotel: Greel Theatre, Sanctuary of the Madonna of the tears, Ear of Dionysus, Arethusa Fountain, Papyrus Museum, Island of Ortigia etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jolly Aretusa Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly Hotel Syracuse
Jolly Aretusa Palace Hotel Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing