We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Leisurely stay at Syracusa” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sbarcadero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sbarcadero
Ranked #33 of 74 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Leisurely stay at Syracusa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel is on marine port; the location was a little isolated in the evening. The property apparently used to be an old fishermen's quarter. However, rooms were large and clean. As it was the Christmas eve, the restaurant was closed, and hence we walked to the centre. The breakfast was simple, but the hostess kindly made fresh juice and cappucino for us. An excellent value for money.

Room Tip: It may be better to have lower floor rooms, as the upper floor is at the road level from the other s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SureshSharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    85
    38
    16
    6
See reviews for
43
91
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Sbarcadero hotel is just awesome! Located in a perfect position just few minutes walk from the city center of "Ortigia". Prices are convenient and affortable.
The staff is incredibly friendly and always willing to help giving tips about the city. They also give extra services like laundry and boat trips providing extremely good prices which cannot be find anywhere!
Hotel Sbarcadero is the best place to go in winter or summer whatever your trip will be focused: cultural, relax or for work.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Attilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed as a family (3 teen-aged boys) at the beginning of October 2012.
The hotel is modern, with very big rooms, the kids had a "loft" with the 3rd bed and a roof balcony with view to the harbor. Our room (parents) did not have a view (only to the inner courtyard), but this did not bother us. each room had a small refrigerator with complimentary bottles of cold water that was very refreshing and a nice welcome! The rooms are very large and spacious, without frills, but all we needed was there - a very comfortable bed, bedside tables, a desk & 1 chair ( another chair would be welcome,,,) great air conditioner, and large window. The bathroom had also a bide, and my only complaint would be that the shower stall was quite small and lacking good drainage. I would also welcome a shelf in the bathroom for toiletries.
The staff was very nice and helpful! we felt very comfortable to ask for advice, and even managed to communicate with the night desk man )that did not speak English, but managed to understand us fine).
The hotel is right in the harbor, which is really great. Going out and seeing the piers and fishing boats with the beautiful island of Ortigia in the background was lovely!
Breakfast was a small buffet of pastries, mostly sweet, a few salty, a bit of sliced cheese (& some sliced meat that we didn't eat), a few yogurts, packaged toast, butter & jam. Good coffee & juice, and the kids requested chocolate milk and there was no problem getting that for them. all in all breakfast was different from what we are used to, but sufficient and good (especially the fresh pastries!)
Next door is a very good Bar-restaurant (Mividia) that has great pizzas & pastas. their foccacia is not to be missed! nothing fancy, just good local food at a good price.
The only bad experience we had at the hotel was brushing against the cacti at the entrance to the hotel! After spending some time with our tweezers (lucky we had one!) we tried to remember to stay clear of them!
There is a lot of free parking right in front of the hotel-great.
All in all, very recommended hotel. We would come again! (just please move the cactus:-) )

Room Tip: Room 202 is a triple with a roof balcony that gives a view of the harbor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisheva77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed for one night the staff were really friendly and helpful. The location is great and made even better by the free shuttle boat onto the island of Ortiga. The hotel is only 1 year old so all of the room are new and were very clean. Our room backed onto a road so it was a little bit noisey but considering the price I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Get a room closer to the front of the hotel near the water and away from the busy road behind the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyH101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olancha, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed for a week in August with my husband and two children at this particular hotel is so close to the historical center of Ortigia so that you can reach on foot in a short time or by shuttle service by boat (really original and free).
The first thing we loved just arrived was able to park right in front of it, at no additional cost (like the wi-fi network in the room and in the common areas) and in the fridge bottles of water were free…not a small thing.
The room was large, bright, colorful and with all the comforts (bathroom was also in the room) but above all it was very clean. Hotel staff and bar courteous and attentive to our requests (we wanted to visit the area around Syracuse and we asked a lot of information); strategic position to visit this area of Sicily.
The breakfast was good. The last two nights we had dinner by choosing a fish menu (excellent.. what a pity we ‘ve tried only the last two days!)

Dear customers also bar which mostly are local fishermen who provided us with useful information to understand local customs ... all very quaint!

What can I say ... if we will stop again to Syracuse we will return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valery r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarteano, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Hotel Sbarcadero is situated very conveniently right on the harbour front and minutes away from not only a small, private beach but more importantly from the many famous sight seeing venues on the island of Ortygia as well as Siracusa city itself. There is ample and safe parking directly outside the hotel and the situation of the hotel enables the guests to have a quiet and comfortable sleep away from the busy, bustling city of Siracusa and within easy reach of the beautiful, and fascinating island of Ortygia, full of Baroque architecture, artworks and the best daily (except for Sundays) street market we have ever visited! Ortygia is linked to Siracusa by 3 bridges. It is also possible from the hotel to have a free boat ferry service back and forth from the island as well as being able to quickly reach it by foot in 20 minutes. Parking of ones own vehicles is also easy on the island and once again within easy reach of parking spots on the island from the hotel.
The rooms of the hotel are large and very airy and are decorated in a colourful but minimalist manner. There is air conditioning in each room. The bathrooms are coloured to match eachindividual room and they too are all spacious. The young and dynamic owner, Simone, is professional in his approach and so accommodating to each individual guest’s needs and requirements. Nothing is too much trouble for him or his staff in order to provide a comfortable, memorable and relaxing stay for the guests. He also provides useful information on sights to see and opening times of museums etc. What I like about the hotel is that it is also frequented by the local fishermen and boatmen who come especially in the mornings with their local catch of the day for the hotel's restaurant and stop at the bar for a chat with each other as well as guests. A local coach driver, at the request of the hotel owner, spent time talking to me about the best method of reaching certain places I wanted to see and even checked back with me the following day to see if he could provide further information.
Tourist attractions in Siracusa include the Greek Theatre and the Ear of Dionysius…both spectacular, especially for me, the latter. I have never seen anything quite like this before.
A boat ride around the island, arranged by the owner of the hotel for us, also provided a good and informative overview of Ortygia and what to expect upon visiting it by foot. The narrow alleyways were full of quirky and unusual artefacts and many superb small restaurants…so much so, that one was spoilt for choice as to where to eat! Of course there was also an excellent restaurant attached to the Hotel that also served delicious seafood dishes and where we also ate very well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TuscanJDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

I made a booking for Hotel Sbarcadero via booking.com. We left our card details as prepayment of the booking.
The day after we received an email saying that my card details were invalid.
I called the hotel directly, and the receptionist Claudia said that our card details were invalid, even though I have been using my card for years and recently.
While on the phone she proceeded to interact /assist other clients which I found extremely rude, considering I was calling from abroad.


She then suggested cancellation of our booking, rather than finding it out why the card shows as invalid.
we were very happy to accept cancellation, since we did not like the terrible customer service received before arriving.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinzia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonesbarcadero, Direttore at Hotel Sbarcadero, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Hi, I want to clarify a few points…Madam, you have reserved on Booking.com a non-refundable rate but at the time of transaction your credit card numbers were not valid; we do not know why and we do not care, but as procedure Booking.com requires, we gave you a second time the possibility to provide credit card numbers to repeat the procedure. On the contrary, you preferred to call the hotel declining the normal procedure Booking.com.
During the call, our polite Claudia has also given you the opportunity to send a deposit via bank transfer to avoid your cancellation.
You said in your review that you were abroad but you did not tell it, (you spoke perfectly in Italian). However, Claudia told you kindly that she would call back in 2 minutes (and so it was) because she was busy with customers at the reception (for your privacy was not the moment to dictate your credit card numbers) and you raised angry voice...
Kindness and courtesy characterize our hotel and TripAdvisor reviews written by our guests can confirm it.
The freedom of each one ends where that of other, you are free to express your happiness for not spending the night in our hotel, we are free to tell you that at this point, the pleasure is all ours!
The hotel manager Simone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.4 mi away
Residence Arco Antico
Residence Arco Antico
#32 of 74 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Teocrito
Hotel Teocrito
#14 of 74 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posta
Hotel Posta
#40 of 74 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Musciara Siracusa Resort
Musciara Siracusa Resort
#30 of 74 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Maniace Hotel
Royal Maniace Hotel
#13 of 74 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Muse
Hotel Le Muse
#53 of 74 in Syracuse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sbarcadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sbarcadero

Property: Hotel Sbarcadero
Address: Riva Porto Lachio 25, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Syracuse
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sbarcadero 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the seafront in the historic center of Siracusa, the hotel is situated in a restored original fishing village. All rooms have air conditioning, Wi-Fi and satellite TV, and are characterized by a traditional Sicilian sea. Transport by boat is offered for free during the summer and take you from Sbarcadero Ortigia. The private beach is just 50 meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Sbarcadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sbarcadero Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing