We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best in ortigia”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dioniso

Dioniso
Reserve with
Dioniso is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 631 Restaurants in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Nestled in one of the alleys of Ortigia, a small charming restaurant, with attention to every detail: From the choice of the raw ingredients to the warm welcome. From a polite, attentive service to the lights and background music. The kitchen offers local dishes with some culinary provocation that reinterprets the tradition. We have chosen to propose a short menu in order to ensure quality and freshness of the product and it varies continuously according to the offer of the market and the seasons. Raw material of excellence, fish exclusively from the Mediterranean and in a series of sought and exclusively seasonal dishes. The wine cellar offers mainly autochthonous wines and vines, giving preference to organic wines of Sicilian wineries of excellence. Finally, delicate desserts all home made: The ricotta mousse with orange and cinnamon fragrances, the pistachio flan and other delights of the house. Dine with us and treat yourself with the pleasure of discovering a contemporary, classic Sicilian cuisine.
Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“the best in ortigia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We ate here twice in the week we were visiting the beautiful isle of Ortigia. Alfeo, the owner/host, was one of the friendliest and most gracious people we met in our month in Sicilia. The food both evenings was exceptional, and even though it wasn't on the menu, the octopus appetizer we requested was absolutely wonderful. From the complimentary glass of Prosecco to the service and atmosphere, the best experiences in Syracusa. Thanks again, Alfeo

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mecoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    690
    238
    77
    51
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We visited this restaurant having read the great reviews and were not disappointed! The owner was very friendly and served us with a complementary aperitif before talking us through the menu. The recommended freshly caught grouper was excellent and was the rest of our food. The owner explained the menu in great detail showing his passion for the local cuisine. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tomcarnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Popped in for a drink...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Popped in for a glass of wine and ended up having a light dinner. Owners(?), Father & Son very hospitable and very keen to share their enthusiasm for all things culinary Sicily!
Had a great Pasta alla Norma and fantastic fried desert (a sort of breadcrumbed custard dusted with cinnamon sugar - doesn't sound much, but try it!).
Not cheap, but you get what you pay for.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

This restaurant was recommended to us by our B&B, Palazzo del Sale, and it turned out to be a wonderful, fun meal. The decor was lovely, and the owner greeted us and welcomed us with excellent English. We received a special apertivo, (Campari and ginger), and the owner humorously and knowledgeably guided us through the menu. For antipasti we shared an artichoke flan...something I had never dreamed of but was delicious. I then had several fish specials and my partner had chick pea pasta, and a braised beef. The wine was good, and after the meal, we had a liqueur, hand-made by the owner, which was marvelous. The chocolate dessert is also highly recommended. Really a lovely dinner.
You won't wander by this place because it is down a narrow street, but please seek it out. it is on a little street off of Via Cavour, which is the street running north out of the Piazza Duomo.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Level Contributor
478 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Siracusa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

On our last evening in Siracusa we dined at Ristorante Dionisio. This is a beautiful restaurant and with a very good service and delicious food. The wine was superb as well. Before we went, the chef came out from the kitchen and chatted with us. What a lovely finale for our 3 days in Siracusa. We will come back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Looking_for_charme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dioniso also viewed

Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Dioniso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing