We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Italian shame” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greek Theater

Greek Theater
Book In Advance
More Info
$51.59*
and up
Syracuse and Noto Day Tour from Taormina
Ranked #5 of 113 things to do in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This well-preserved Greek theater (5th-centry B.C.) is still used for performances of classical works.
Viareggio, Italy
Level Contributor
295 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Italian shame”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

As an Italian citizen I found the site management shamefull. No need to say that the relics themselves are beautiful and unique and the Theatre is one of the best preserved of Italy. But... No panels, not a defined path, nothing.. My gf said she felt like a sheep at pasture and she was right! We asked for a map and people of the staff gave us a piece of paper that turned out to be an adv of a local restaurant.
The pity was that despite this misbehaviour the site was full of payer meaning that the administration should have money for a decent management!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Naturalchoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,321
    595
    281
    144
    134
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A nice couple of hours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed on Ortigia for a week; there was too much to do! The greek theatre was on the way out and we popped by and a very interesting couple of hours spent. The Theatre was quite impressive as was the ear of Dionysius, a cave with amazing acoustics. The amphitheatre a bit less interesting, slightly overgrown. Perhaps a bit more information?

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank tikitaka_pfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A Massive Site”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Together with the adjacent hollow and quarries, the Greek Theatre is most impressive. Couple that with the nearby Roman amphitheater, more compact but also impressive in size, and you can spend the better part of a morning walking around a nice part of the archaeological zone. It is amazing that these two very large works, built in different eras by different peoples, were so close together. There is an admission fee to view the Greek Theatre, but worth the cost. Also, be sure to walk through the quarries from which the stone was cut (and into the caves).

Because of time limitations, we did not hire a guide here, but we heard guides at both sites, and I think it would be worth the cost to learn about these historic places.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Leave it to my daughter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

My daughter took me to a Greek tragedy, performed in Italian (neither of which either of us speak). It was incredible sitting in this ancient theatre watching the performance with the sun setting over the theater. It was magical.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jbromfield787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix en Provence
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Has to be seen to be believed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

This is an extremely large Greek theatre, in very good condition. It has a summer program of operas which must be very interesting to attend.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Meg44AixenProvence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greek Theater also viewed

Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Greek Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing