We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pasta in Italy!”

La Tavernetta da Piero
Reserve with
La Tavernetta da Piero is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 648 Restaurants in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $36
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Pasta in Italy!”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We saw this little restaurant while walking through the streets of Siracusa and noticed the Trip Advisor decal so we decided to try it. Well, we were extremely lucky. We did not have a reservation but got in as they were opening. Within 30 minutes they were turning people away. You definitely should make reservations because you definitely should eat here. This is a small, family run restaurant that serves home-style food in an atmosphere that reminded me of dinner at my mother's house. Simple food, expertly prepared, served in charming ambiance - what could be better? Don't miss it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mangobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,005
    779
    210
    81
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We just happened to pop in to this restaurant by chance, and what. Pleasant surprise it was,the waitress was very helpful, the food was delicious and the prices were reasonable. Best to make a booking as it gets very busy.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant place!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Brilliant - miles ahead of the other 6 restaurants we visited in Ortigia (though Le Vin De L'Assassin was also good) and excellent value
Do book ahead though and dine early - they must have turned away40 - 50 covers while we were dining and those who had booked for 9pm plus had a slight wait for tables.
Try the "bavette" of seafood pasta - sensational!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank IAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best meal of the holiday”
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Having been disappointed by the food experience during our week in Sicily we booked La Tavernetta for our last night, not expecting an awful lot. However we left delighted at the quality of the food, staff, wine and value for money.

The mixed fish soup was the highlight, simply stunning, although equally the mozzarella, tomato & salad and the fish antipasti were both excellent.

Mains of veal fillet, pasta, sea bass and risotto were all superb.

We booked online, easy but essential. We got in at 7pm and at least a dozen people had to be turned away before we left at 8.45.

The young lady serving us was exceptional, pleasant, helpful, spoke perfect English which helped our ham fisted attempts at Italian, and very hard working. Despite the restaurant being full she stayed on top throughout and earned every cent of the 20% tip we felt compelled to leave.

Her wine recommendation was excellent, and at only €14 a bottle was stupidly cheap.

4 adults, 2 courses each plus coffee and 2 bottles of wine, water and a coke all for €110. And that included the €6 cover charge.

Great quality, great service, great value.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Raknowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unfortunately a big dissapointment!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

We decided to try this restaurant encouraged by all the good reviews on tripadvisor. Booked a table for 21:30, waited outside until 21:50, which we didn't mind as we were expecting a meal worth the wait. However, once you do get to your table, that's when the REAL wait really starts. We waited half an hour for just antipasti and then over an hour for the two pasta dishes. Both plates were WAY too salty, leaving us ordering extra bottles of water and cancelling our order of the main dishes which would take another hour to come. Overall, we left the restaurant at 23:40 so two hours later, having only eaten a starter and about half the portion of salty pasta dishes. The waiter never came to ask if we liked our food or need anything else, even bringing the bill took so long we ended up just going and paying at the bar. The owner was fairly apologetic and pointed out they were very busy.. which they seem to be every single night, so I wouldn't expect anything better on any other night at this restaurant. Unfortunately, this was by far our worst dinning experience in Sicily, I wouldn't recommend this place or ever go there again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jalapeno85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giampiero F, Proprietario at La Tavernetta da Piero, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Sorry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tavernetta da Piero also viewed

Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to La Tavernetta da Piero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing