We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Regina Lucia

Regina Lucia
Ranked #14 of 629 Restaurants in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $81
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fine dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Regina Lucia presents an entire dining experience. We are here for lunch and were sorry we didn't have time to eat here for dinner instead. Nevertheless we sat outside and looked out over Piazza di Duomo and totally enjoyed the experience.
We were given a beautiful glass of prosecco as an aperitif. After ordering the waiter came out with a cured swordfish, creamed mozzarella and Nero D'Avola reduction and an unordered entree. This set the scence for the meal.
I had a sea bass,potatoes and creamed chard which was so artistically presented that it was a shame to touch it. My wife had a red shapper and cous cous which was again presented beautiful and quiet tasty.
There was little atmosphere there at that time but I'm sure that this changes in the evening.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    634
    165
    68
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very smart”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Excellent restaurant, very smart surroundings, helpful professional waiters. My gnocchetti with smoked swordfish was very good, though rather filled me up for the fish millefoglio and caponata.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Camdenuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great location and a refined cuisine. A Prosecco and appetizer welcomes the guests, on the romantic Piazza Duomo open air restaurant. Have a look at the internal part of the restaurant as well!
To start we had ravioli stuffed with seafood and pasta with delicate pesto, then lasagne di pesce spada, thin sliced sword fish presented as a lasagna. It was all delicious. To finish with a semifreddo (half frozen) with peach flavour, which was the weak part of the dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travellingmalet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Art on a plate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

The most memorable cannoli I have ever seen or eaten....topped off a great meal in a lovely setting. This very contemporary styled restaurant off a thousands-year-old piazza offered us a glass of Prosecco to begin the meal. Great seafood, service, the total package. But what I will always remember is the cannoli which resembled an upside down ice cream cone with dipping sauces for the ricotta filling that were divine! A definite must return for Siracusa!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
178 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“For Tourists Only”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

For all the great, authentic restaurants in Sicily, why go here. If you want attitude, high prices and food that never hits its mark, this is your spot. We arrived late becuase of the insane traffic on Ortigia however we did have our hotel call and let them know. I was standing in the room when they did this (I am fluent in Italian). When we arrived at the restaurant they said the reservation had been cancelled. We asked if perhaps they had a table anyway and after making all kinds of excuses and attitude they said they could seat us in 20 minutes after they move some things around. Then in no time they brought us to the lovely downstairs dining room where there were at least 4 tables empty and which never filled that night.
The dishes try to push the envelope of Sicilian cooking but never reach their target, except in their high price. The wines list was dull, filled with just a limited number of commercial producers who clearly had some connection to the restaurant.
And to add the final touch, they charged me for dessert which we never ordered.
It just felt like a high-end touristic clip joint.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GrillMeisterNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Regina Lucia also viewed

Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Regina Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing