We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AS Bad As It Gets”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eureka Palace Hotel Spa Resort
Ranked #34 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Tabuk, Saudi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AS Bad As It Gets”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Was booked it to this hotel at the local horse racecourse they must have self given the 5 star rating I would only give it "2" it relies on the racecourse to stay open, arrived only 1 staff to book 9 people in, noone for the bags which we had to do ourselves even though they knew we were coming, reasonable food for the 1st evening mean, buffet breakfast, so far so good, arrived bak from the next day tour, no reastaurant open just a small pokky building and the menu, pizza only & even our tour guide said they weren't very good. the rooms spacious but the beds had a rough wooden surround that atacked ankles & drew blood on a few of us and one even seemed to have an extension made of rough wood that was even worse, rubbish in the toilet rubbish bin from previous guest or cleaning staff which they tryed to bill me for, no way, would I go here again, only in a coffin

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lamjam101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EurekaPalaceHotel, Direttore generale at Eureka Palace Hotel Spa Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear customer ,
Thank you first of all for taking your time to review our beautiful facility and compliments for the judgment given at our beautiful Resort.
You have to know that the stars has given for the services that you have and not for the personal idea or taste.
When we accept little group, we always ask at the travel agency if they want a porter and a choice of menù.
We have 3 restaurant in hotel (one near the external pool for lunch and 2 for dinner)and we give at our guests many choices, in the small pokky building we can serve more than 100 people at the same time in the same room.
I remain at your disposal.
Kind regards
Enrico de' Reguardati
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    161
    99
    41
    38
See reviews for
128
231
11
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
the Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were planning to stay in this hotel for three nights in Oct. and the first impression is clean, tidy and quiet. Thus positive.

However when we checked in the room, we noticed right away that the central air-conditon did not work and called the reception, changed to another room. However the problem remained. There is just no cold air coming out in spit of that temperature outside is nearly 30 degree.

Considering long journey we decided to give another try for one night and at the same time the girl at the reception replied that their technician may look into it next day(when it is Monday).

The first evening was terrible and could not get any proper sleep. The air-co only functions as ventilation and some wind but certainly not cooling.

On the second day when we returned to the hotel we found that the problem was not solved at all although the reception lady insisted that their technician did not find any problem. However the simple fact here is that their Central Air Condition System is just NOT on.

The second evening we decided to keep the door open as it is cooler in the evening. However it became also another nightmare as I got many mosquito bites and the noisy outside in the earlier morning waked me up too.

We complained again this problem with the lady at the reception who admitted that the central AirCo System is not on at this period of the year and what is more, the temperature is just hotter than normal. She promised to report this to their manager for solution. After one hour the manager did not show up. We had to go to the front desk looking for him. The manager turned up and took us for another two suites which is certainly much bigger however the no cooling air from the central system neither. The manager said in the end that he may do something in the system but it will take long time and what is more, only the difference in temperature will be 1 or 2 degree lower.

The response is extremely disappointing for us since it means that we had to suffer for another night. It leads us with no other choices but check this out earlier and moved to another hotel. Thanks God the central air condition system there works just as it is supposed to.

The problem for this so-called five star resort is that they did not put their custom interests in the first place but only try to save their energy cost.

We noticed during our two day stay that there were very few guests in the hotel. In the first morning that we were totally alone in the breakfast. The second morning another four peoples were with us. Certainly it is not economical to turn on whole airco system for such few guests.

Another negative point is that the restaurant in the hotel is very poor quality in term of their price. We were there once and dined totally alone in whole evening. For even a small plate of French fries(about 9 or 10 small potato pieces) they charged you for 5 EURO.

I understand that some other guests may have pleasant stay here but for us it was a disaster.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ForrestNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EurekaPalaceHotel, Direttore generale at Eureka Palace Hotel Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear customer ,
Thank you first of all for taking your time to review our beautiful facility and compliments for the judgment given at our beautiful Resort.
I must say I was expecting his review without any anxiety and fear , I just want to clarify some points that he emphasized in a very personal way .
As I explained and showed in your presence, the thermostat of the rooms show a distorted temperature of about 2 or 3 degrees above the real one because the manufacturer has placed a plaque inside the sensor which heats up , so his room was about 23 °C while outside there were over 30 ° C , like you say, when I told you that I could lower the temperature further one or two degree , would come to 21/22 ° C , but since the structure is very large, it would take a while of time.
Before I finished the sentence you said that was wrong, in fact you wanted to leave and did not want to pay anything , neither the restaurant nor the overnights , nothing.
Your partner , someone who I thought was very sane , intervened and said that it would be appropriate to pay for the services use and anyway had to change hotel . At this moment, I put myself at your disposal to help in the search and you has declined sharply.
As for the expenses incurred in restaurants to clarify the summary record : 27,50 € in pizzeria with a pizza and a pasta dish with a drink and 1 side dish , otherwise at the restaurant, 62,00€ total with 32,00€ dedicated only to the second dish ( one was a grilled fish ) and € 12.00 for the wine and then a second entrée and side dishes.
How can read from other reviews I am always very present in the structure and consider important customers as they are the basis of our work and for this reason , I believe that I have to answer at this review.
I remain at your disposal.
Kind regards
Enrico de' Reguardati
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

A nice hotel, out of Siracusa , but not very far.
Nice big room, very clean , nice bathrom big and comfutable.
Brakfast is a little poor almost no vagetables and only hard cheese and muzarela.
Very nice view of the Hipodrom from the dining room.

Lunch and dinner in another location OK. expensive.

Room Tip: The room was very nice, big and clean. but no coffee corner and the refrigerator was full with bottl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maddyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EurekaPalaceHotel, Direttore generale at Eureka Palace Hotel Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Good morning from the Palace Eureka.

Thank you for the compliments to our beautiful hotel.

Waiting to receive you again, we send our

Kind regards

Enrico de' Reguardati
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yehud, Israel
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

It was written that it is 5 Stars hotel but actually it is far to be 5 stars ...no more than 3 stars....bad location isolated from main attractions far from the center and restaurants. the breakfast is very poor definitely not suitable for a hotel should be 5 stars , spa very disappointing
staff are friendly and helpful

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juji40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EurekaPalaceHotel, Direttore generale at Eureka Palace Hotel Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear customer,
his review is the result of bad information received at home, we never hidden to anyone that we are not in Syracuse.
It is correct that if you had wrong information, you'll be disappointed, but for this, you can not blame the hotel.
However I see that gave high marks for cleaning and services which is exactly the opposite of what you write in your review. From this we understand that you write with anger.
I suggest you to ask for an explanation to your travel agent and the next time you look also the site of the hotel booked to avoid future surprises.
The location of our hotel is ideal if you want to visit Noto, Avola, Marzamemi, Ragusa, Modica, Augusta, Catania, Vendicari, Fontane Bianche, Pozzallo, Pachino, Capo Passero, Cala Mosche, Scicli, etc ... all these places are within a few minutes by car because we are near the hig-way.
Immagine to get out of town, may be take 40 minutes just to get out, in addition think about the parking problem (we have 2,000 parking spaces).
But if you want to leave the hotel and walk into a town, Eureka Palace is certainly not the right structure to choose.
Thank you anyway for taking your time to review our beautiful facility and have given excellent ratings for cleanliness, sleep quality, services and compliments for the staff.
Kind regards
Enrico de' Reguardati
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We spent a week at the Eureka Palace during the second part of August.
We enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel is new, the rooms are large and spacious and the staff extremely friendly and willing to assist.
The hotel is pleasantly located in the country side, not far from Saracusa. It was built on the race tracks which are active (ask for a room with a view to the tracks and you will have a very pleasant morning and evening views + you will be able to watch live racing.
Breakfast is decent and is served in a very pleasant restaurant with wonderful views to the racks.

The pool is very pleasant and not busy and we and our toddlers enjoyed it a lot.
The only down side of the hotel is the lack of decent Internet connection and the fact that we couldn't get a WiFi signal in our room. It is time hotels will realize that it is a basic service that travelers expect in a 5 stars hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that face the tracks and don't expect WiFi to be stable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iziv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EurekaPalaceHotel, Direttore generale at Eureka Palace Hotel Spa Resort, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Good morning from the Palace Eureka.

Thank you for the compliments to our beautiful hotel.
For the WIFI, sometimes it happens that with the surges the router will block, we kindly ask for the next time to warn the reception that will solve you the problem.

Waiting to receive it again, we send our best regards

Enrico de' Reguardati
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed 30.8-2.9. The hotel is not a 5* but in European standards it's very good and worth its cost. Rooms are very good: clean, nice view from the balcony. all was great except Internet was always between weak to no connection and the water wasn't very hot (my wife likes the water hotter, I'm guessing more people mind that. For me it was fine).

Breakfast was decent, not more. Not enough vegetables and kinda weird that you need to squeeze your own juice (and to ask for an omelette, no one informs you that you can). The view from the breakfast restaurant is marvelous and the hotel staff is very nice and helpful.

Don't think of skipping renting a car if staying there as public transportation would cost you a fortune and your valuable time (the hotel is not in Syracuse city, but ~20 minutes drive from there, not within walking distance from anywhere).
I would recommend a car for sicily regardless of the hotel.

The overall experience was very good, I'm just letting you know which points to notice, that other than the Internet were negligible by me.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Checkpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EurekaPalaceHotel, Direttore generale at Eureka Palace Hotel Spa Resort, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Kind Guest,
Good morning from the Eureka Palace.

I thank you for the compliments and waiting to receive you again,
we send our kindest regards

Enrico de' Reguardati
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
256 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

we booked a luxury double room on s Saturday night and got a huge surprise when wr stepped out onto the terrace. we had full view of tge racecourse and races were on that Saturday night!!!

the room was large with a big bathroom. the terrace was also big. the hotel has a lovely outdoor swimming pool and there is a spa.

breakfast was very nice with a good selection of pastries, bread and fruit.


the location of this hotel means you have to get in the car if you want to go somewhere else. we went to fontane bianche which was less than 10 min drive and there was a big nightclub there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveMay09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EurekaPalaceHotel, Direttore generale at Eureka Palace Hotel Spa Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Kind Guest,
Good morning from the Eureka Palace.

I thank you for the compliments at our unique Hotel with the horse track "inside".

Waiting to receive you again, we send our kindest regards

Enrico de' Reguardati
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
5.5 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPa
7.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Siracusa Prometeo
6.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#8 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel Caiammari
Hotel Caiammari
#11 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
8.1 mi away
UNA Hotel One
UNA Hotel One
#12 of 75 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
6.9 mi away
Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eureka Palace Hotel Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eureka Palace Hotel Spa Resort

Property: Eureka Palace Hotel Spa Resort
Address: Strada Spinagallo 50, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Syracuse
#15 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#24 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eureka Palace Hotel Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eureka Palace has 95 rooms and 8 Suites, 3 Suites Duplex furnished with comfortable and modern design and equipped with private bathroom, LCD with satellite and, wi-fi internet, minibar, safe, air conditioning and direct phone. Suites have also a living room and a Jacuzzi.Within the Hotel there is a luxurious SPA with sauna, Turkish Bath, Mediterranean Bath, Kneipp Wasser Paradise path, ice waterfall, cold showers, multi-sensorial room, a wide relax area with tea bar.The Wellness Spa Centre has also a wide indoor and heated swimming pool with Jacuzzi, a spacious and panoramic gym equipped with the most modern equipments and an outdoor pool with solarium and comfortable changing rooms The Hotel has a panoramic restaurant, an American Bar, the Vitaminic Bar, several suitable for prestigious and elegant banquets, a comfortable meeting room that can accommodate over 300 people, and 2 small meeting room..Also outdoor patios that surround Eureka Palace Hotel, are ideal places to host trade fairs, cultural events.There is an enourmous parking area for Auto and Bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eureka Palace Hotel Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eureka Palace Hotel Spa Resort Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing