We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel overall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eureka Palace Hotel Spa Resort
Ranked #35 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed 30.8-2.9. The hotel is not a 5* but in European standards it's very good and worth its cost. Rooms are very good: clean, nice view from the balcony. all was great except Internet was always between weak to no connection and the water wasn't very hot (my wife likes the water hotter, I'm guessing more people mind that. For me it was fine).

Breakfast was decent, not more. Not enough vegetables and kinda weird that you need to squeeze your own juice (and to ask for an omelette, no one informs you that you can). The view from the breakfast restaurant is marvelous and the hotel staff is very nice and helpful.

Don't think of skipping renting a car if staying there as public transportation would cost you a fortune and your valuable time (the hotel is not in Syracuse city, but ~20 minutes drive from there, not within walking distance from anywhere).
I would recommend a car for sicily regardless of the hotel.

The overall experience was very good, I'm just letting you know which points to notice, that other than the Internet were negligible by me.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Checkpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EurekaPalaceHotel, Direttore generale at Eureka Palace Hotel Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Kind Guest,
Good morning from the Eureka Palace.

I thank you for the compliments and waiting to receive you again,
we send our kindest regards

Enrico de' Reguardati
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (611)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 611 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

we booked a luxury double room on s Saturday night and got a huge surprise when wr stepped out onto the terrace. we had full view of tge racecourse and races were on that Saturday night!!!

the room was large with a big bathroom. the terrace was also big. the hotel has a lovely outdoor swimming pool and there is a spa.

breakfast was very nice with a good selection of pastries, bread and fruit.


the location of this hotel means you have to get in the car if you want to go somewhere else. we went to fontane bianche which was less than 10 min drive and there was a big nightclub there.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveMay09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EurekaPalaceHotel, Direttore generale at Eureka Palace Hotel Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Kind Guest,
Good morning from the Eureka Palace.

I thank you for the compliments at our unique Hotel with the horse track "inside".

Waiting to receive you again, we send our kindest regards

Enrico de' Reguardati
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in July. The hotel is located in the country side, adjacent to a horse racing track. The surrounding is peaceful and relaxing and the hotel itself is simply gorgeous and perfectly built. If you have an eye for architecture, you'll love this place. The room we got was excellent - bed, decor, a/c, etc. were all perfect. The manager and the front desk personal are very friendly and helpful, and will land a hand for just about anything. Claudia was especially helpful (thank you Claudia!). Breakfast was rich and tasty. In the last day of our stay, we had lunch at the pool and that too was very good. All in all, a good hotel.

Few other notes:
- The location is a bit remote and you'll need a car. We rented ours from Avis, at the hotel.
- Dinner is available at the near by pizza restaurent (walking distance). We ate there the first night and loved it. Many other excellent restaurants can be found in the Siracusa (20 min. drive).
- WiFi works well, though the signal is weak in some of the rooms. Check the signal when you get the room.

One bad comment:
- The water in the shower were warm but not hot. We talked with the manager about it, and things did get better, but still there's room for improvement, water-temperature wise.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the racing track have better view. Check the WiFi signal at the room - some rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j4zzcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EurekaPalaceHotel, Direttore generale at Eureka Palace Hotel Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Kind Guest,
Good morning from the Eureka Palace.
I thank you for the compliments at our unique Eureka Palace.
I thank you for all the staff and especially for Claudia, our strength are the smiles of guests.
Sometimes the wifi have problems due to the fluctuations of electricity, the next times advertise the staff and we may solve quickly your problem.
For the water you are right, the structure is awesome and sometimes the pumps take some rest, sorry.
Waiting to receive you again, we send our kindest regards
Enrico de' Reguardati
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Although the place was far from the city center, we enjoyed arrive at the end of a trip day. Hotel is modern and clean, the rooms are beautiful, observers horse racing track. It's nice to see the horses travelers track, even when not riding - the place is very relaxing and pleasant. Hotel service was excellent, especially the receptionist Roberta - smiling, gracious and full of helpful tips.
Comments for improvement: no hot water, no internet in rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Efrat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EurekaPalaceHotel, Direttore generale at Eureka Palace Hotel Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Kind Guest,
Good morning from the Eureka Palace.
I thank you for the compliments at our unique structure but still more, according to me, for those turned to our staff that is our base of excellence in services.
The whole staff of the Eureka Palace greet you.
Waiting to still receive you again as ours kind and pleasant guests,
we send our more kindest regards
Enrico de' Reguardati
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

All in all this is a good hotel. rooms are adequate in size and have a good view, especially if you stay in a room directly overlooking the race track. There are,however, a number of issues which need to be addressed before claiming to offer a five star service!
- Service during breakfast is appalling. Staff is practically non existent and when someone does show up, they make no effort whatsoever to try and do a good job. Food is not replenished, with the obvious result that most items are unavailable if you happen to go on a busy day. Cutlery, plates etc. are also not replaced. We have seen people having cereal out of coffee cups as there were no bowls available. Hygiene doesnt seem to concern to waiter in question either as he goes around 'cleaning' tables by giving them a quick wipe with the same cloth which is at no time rinsed.
- Toiletries provided were a joke. We had two paper sachets of 'shower gel'! Seriously??? Sachets?! In a five star?!
- As we were travelling with two infants, we asked for a kettle to warm water during the night. We were told that this was not available and after several pointless questions as to why we needed to warm water ( apart from the reason being obvious, We felt this was quite rude), were told we would be given a bottle warmer. Unfortunately, this did not work properly, which meant that we could only give our babies tepid milk to drink.
- Spa area was nice and relaxing.
- Reception staff very polite and helpful. Allowed a free early check in.
- playground area for the kids
- hotel accessible and just a few minutes from autostrada

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Jo Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EurekaPalaceHotel, Direttore generale at Eureka Palace Hotel Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for pointing out the uniqueness and beauty of our structure.
I'm sorry for what happened at breakfast, after your warning I proceeded to do more stringent checks. The Toiletries you have used are the Prija's line, a courtesy toiletrie product which is defined as "cosmetic" and respect very high standards, I invite you to visit their website.
For the kettle, I personally given as you asked me for a way to warm up the milk, but if you would a larger one i would provide immediatly. Waiting to have you again as our friendly host I send my best Regards
Enrico de' Reguardati
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

The service was good, very clean rooms,it locataed in the middle of medetrian bat when between 14-19 october 2012 ther was not hot water no internet, the brekfest was very poor, i woudn' t come back to this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Inbalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EurekaPalaceHotel, Direttore generale at Eureka Palace Hotel Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Sir,

Good morning from Eureka Palace.

The Eureka’s staff want to send a big thank you for your suggestive words.

We are glad that you underscore our particularity location, the large and clean rooms.

For the hot water, I show you personaly that the hot water was at 42/44 °C (107/111 °F) in our reserve and like I explain you, we have to respect the Italian law (Republic’s Italian President n. 412 of 6 August 1993 art. 5 that provide the maximum temperature have to be 48 °C at the production in steamer).
For Internet we give at our guests a FREE WIFI in all the Hotel, unfortunately Telecom (Italian telephon company) had a problem, someone had stolen 500 meters of telephon’s wire (0,32 miles) ,and I explain you this problem, we give you the availability of our emergency Usb that you refused.
For the Breakfast, The guest have a large choice of sweet and salted foods like fresh cooked brioches, fresh made cakes, scrambled eggs, bacon, yogurt, muesli, fresh fruits like kiwi, ananas, grapes and fresh oranges to make by your own a very fresh orange juice.

We send our best regards.

Enrico de'Reguardati

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Just spent the one night there arriving after dark. Had dinner which was OK but the best bit was to wake up in the morning and find a horse race track outside your bedroom window and horses going through their paces -how cool is that!!! Large choice of dishes for breakfast. Not very busy while I was there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EurekaPalaceHotel, Direttore generale at Eureka Palace Hotel Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Dear Sir,

Good morning from Eureka Palace.

The Eureka’s staff want to send a warm thank you, and we hope that if you decide to come back in Sicily, visit again our Resort but for more than only one day.

We are glad that you underscore our particularity, we are the only hotel in Europe inside a horse race course that you can see by your room or in our panoramic restaurant.

Waiting to receive you again and give you our welcome, we send

Our best regards.

Enrico de'Reguardati

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
5.5 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPA
8.1 mi away
UNA Hotel One
UNA Hotel One
#13 of 75 in Syracuse
1,061 reviews
7 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#17 of 75 in Syracuse
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Siracusa Prometeo
5.3 mi away
Hotel Caiammari
Hotel Caiammari
#7 of 75 in Syracuse
409 reviews
3 mi away
Valle di Mare Country Resort
Valle di Mare Country Resort
#3 of 7 in Fontane Bianche
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eureka Palace Hotel Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eureka Palace Hotel Spa Resort

Address: Strada Spinagallo 50, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Syracuse
#24 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: $108 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Eureka Palace Hotel Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eureka Palace has 95 rooms and 8 Suites, 3 Suites Duplex furnished with comfortable and modern design and equipped with private bathroom, LCD with satellite and, wi-fi internet, minibar, safe, air conditioning and direct phone. Suites have also a living room and a Jacuzzi.Within the Hotel there is a luxurious SPA with sauna, Turkish Bath, Mediterranean Bath, Kneipp Wasser Paradise path, ice waterfall, cold showers, multi-sensorial room, a wide relax area with tea bar.The Wellness Spa Centre has also a wide indoor and heated swimming pool with Jacuzzi, a spacious and panoramic gym equipped with the most modern equipments and an outdoor pool with solarium and comfortable changing rooms The Hotel has a panoramic restaurant, an American Bar, the Vitaminic Bar, several suitable for prestigious and elegant banquets, a comfortable meeting room that can accommodate over 300 people, and 2 small meeting room..Also outdoor patios that surround Eureka Palace Hotel, are ideal places to host trade fairs, cultural events.There is an enourmous parking area for Auto and Bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Eureka Palace Hotel Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eureka Palace Hotel Spa Resort Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing