We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deluxe seafood, moderate price”

Apollonion Osteria da Carlo
Ranked #11 of 629 Restaurants in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $54
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Oakland, California, Usa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Deluxe seafood, moderate price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We were encouraged to try Apollonion by the lady at the front desk at our hotel in Ortygia, who said that it was the place she would go to for seafood, not a tourist restaurant. We tried at lunch, but they were fully booked, so we made a reservation for dinner. We were not disappointed. Each course (we had the six course tasting menu) was a delight, with super fresh seafood and incredible variety. It was as if we got to sample everything good from the fishmarket in one meal, and at an unbeatable price. You should book ahead, as it is a small place. Caution: when the pasta arrives, go easy, because there is yet more to come!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cbx295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    959
    342
    90
    26
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good but not as amazing as Tripadvisor reviews”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

It was a good experience with very good food but somehow for me just not as good as I expected from the reviews. Good value and good ambience but a little something missing.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is a restaurant for seafood lovers! The set menu of six courses presents you with a diverse menu of shellfish, crustaceans, fish, etc., all prepared extremely well.
You can trust the owner and his chef to present you with only the freshest seafood from the local market.
For us, one advantage was that you would seldom find all of these dishes in a single restaurant, no less on a great degustation menu. The EUR35pp price is a real bargain, as it includes a quite decent boittle of wine as well.
If you are not familiar with Sicilian wines, do not miss the Nero D'Avolas from Don Antonio and Maria Costanza!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kitwalker38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A completely amazing dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

One of the best dining experiences ever!! Seafood only. Fixed menu for 35 Euros PP - No Menu - Just the freshest fish items of the day simply prepared. Included wine, water, dinner, dessert and an after dinner drink and coffee. We were a table of 4. Our waiter only understood a little English but that was ok with us. Service was swift and attentive. On the day we visited the first course was raw shrimps, oysters, and a small white fish all most likely marinated. Next was a plate of octopus salad. Next we were served fried white fish cakes and sardines. Lightly breaded and nicely done. Next came the warm prawns with couscous. The owner/chef did come out to see if we liked the meal so far and we acknowledged that we did. Next course was pasta with clams and pieces of tuna. Then came the fish - That night it was sea bream. Dessert was a choice of lemon sorbet (more like a lemon ice), crème brulee or crushed cannoli. Only thing I wished was that they waited a little longer between courses so we could take a little breather. I would highly recommend reservations as they did turn away a lot of people who came later. Quaint little place. If you like seafood then this is a restaurant experience not to be missed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An amazing dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We arrived around 9:00 PM after picking up a couple of friends at the Catania airport. This restaurant was a little difficult to find because it was tucked away on a small side street. After arriving, we were seated at a quaint table for 4 and advised by our waiter that no menus or wine lists were available. After delivering a fine bottle of white wine to our table, he brought our first course, an incredibly tastey octopus salad. Each subsequent course was equally as delicious, all fresh, local seafood prepared in the traditional Sicilian way. We will always fondly remember this dining experience. I highly recommend that anyone visiting within 100 km of Syracusa make this restaurant a priority visit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JGKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apollonion Osteria da Carlo also viewed

Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Apollonion Osteria da Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing