We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite place in Syracuse!”
Review of FM Bar

FM Bar
Ranked #357 of 845 Restaurants in Syracuse
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We started off by happening by for a coffee and really liked that the waiter was really friendly and happy to explain the differences between the different Italian coffees which I find really confusing....espresso, macciato, doppia, etc. We had a bit of a laugh with him. So we went back for drinks that evening....wine before going to the restaurant we planned to eat at and overheard another couple eating there that they really enjoyed their meal. So we again had coffee this morning but went back this evening for dinner. The waiter, Franco, is very friendly and very hard working, he is the same guy who serves the coffee at 10am and the dinner at 8pm, still with a smile and ready to chat. To be honest it is Franco who makes this place he is a wee gem. We had nice wine, local wine, I preferred the red, and the caponata was delicious, and we then had melanzane parmigiano which was also nice, then ice cream and he got us to try Unicum, a digestif which was a bit weird but fun to try. Do go to FM Bar, not just for coffee or a drink but for a meal...there are so many places to eat in Ortigia but honestly this was my favourite because I felt we enjoyed ourselves most here and the experience of eating out isn't just all about what comes on the plate.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank jilla858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (11)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 11 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2019

We found this great cafe bar just behind the cathedral on the main square. A shady spot if you need one as it has space on both sides of the road. The couple that run it are so entertaining that we went back again and again. The food is home made and sometimes even homemade in-front of you. The bruschetta and the arancini were our favourites.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2019 via mobile

Definitely best Cappuccino in Ortygia, for only 1,5 euro. This is maybe one of the places in Ortigia where you get quality and you don’t have to pay to much for it.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank 835branislavb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2019

We went to this little bar on Via Roma with seating by a church several times. All the staff were friendly, made a real fuss over our daughter and the food and drinks were very good. Throughly recommended for evening drinks and the lasagne and the parmigiana di melanzane were excellent.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Italiatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2019

Found this place late one afternoon after walking a LOT! Chairs and tables in a piazza looked inviting. An energetic and friendly young man took our wine and beer order and we sat back, enjoyed watching people, and had our drinks. Our server, who was limited in his English, took us inside the bar to meet his wife who spoke English well. The couple's bar is relatively new. They pride themselves on posting actual prices for drinks (no "hidden" charges"). Honest prices, great service. And the owner poured us grappa on the house! Recommend wholeheartedly!

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
Thank mb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FM Bar also viewed

Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to FM Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing