We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“fantastic hotel”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

From the moment we pulled up at the gates of this hotel we had the most amazing experience.
Our room was very funky and spacious. The pool area so beautiful with gorgeous loungers and seating to pick from- and never a problem to get one- what ever time of the day you turned up.
Also a small pool- side bar and lovely tented gazebo to sit under/by and have a light lunch.
All of the staff are helpful/prof/friendly. The grounds are immaculate, planted well and there are even hammocks/four poster sun beds!
Breakfast and dinner really good and not expensive at the hotel, you can sit out on the wonderful roof top terrace which we did each of the 4 days we were there or inside if you prefer.
The breakfast selection fruit,pastries,cheeses, meats,eggs,juices,etc etc Dinner was waitress service very good and varied, something for everyone & many fish dishes of course.
Wish we had stayed longer as our next hotel in Gardia Naxos was a huge disappointment.
Cant wait to go again, Siracusa is 10mins away and a must. You do need a car to get to this hotel and enjoy the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank hannah076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    992
    130
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
319
618
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel is relaxed, stylish, friendly & organized. The management and staff are friendly, professional and discrete. The rooms, large gardens and pool are beautifully designed to make your stay comfortable with lovely extra touches that are contemporary, luxurious, convenient or simply make you feel relaxed and at home very quickly. This is a wonderful place to stay in a lovely part of Sicily.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneR453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2013

It's a beautiful hotel! We stayed there for our honeymoon. We wanted a relaxing experience, and that's exactly what it was! The staff are very friendly,helpful and speak very good English, which was helpful as we speak no Italian , they also spoke a number of other languages as well. The pool was lovely, we spent a lot of days relaxing by it and swimming in it. We loved our room, the cleaners came every day and did a great job, it was always clean and tidy! However the highlight was the yummy food! The breakfast was fantastic we only wish that we had big enough appetites to try it all, lunch by the pool was lovely and the restaurant for dinner was superb!!!.

The hotel provides lots of information of places to go and things to do. Outside of the hotel people speak English as well, but not as fluent as the hotel staff, however its enough to get by. We parked in Syracuse on most nights and took a five minute walk to 'Isola ortigia', its a lovely place with historic buildings and so many yummy cafes, ice cream stores and restaurants, our favourite place and actually the cheapest of all the paces we ate was 'pizza duomo', I think that's what its called it has a picture of a fox on its menu. A visit to Mount Etna and to the valley of the temples is certainly needed!.

The only warnings I would give are that the roads in Sicily are covered in litter, we travelled around the island a fair bit and its the same ever where you travel. With regards to the hotel my only warnings would be that there are a lot of families which we didn't expect but were fine with, however some may not like sharing a pool with children and teenagers . And lastly coming from England I found it a shock how much the Sicilians smoke, and also when we were at the hotel it was a shock to be surrounded by smokers when we were trying to relax by the pool and especially at dinner time(although there was indoor dinning which I assume is a no-smoke zone).

Overall I would recommend this hotel, it was beautiful!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in the unique suit, with I think was room 135. It was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McManus13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Although I’ve stayed in more expensive, five star graded hotels before, I have to say that this is my favourite hotel in the world.

From half an hour prior to arrival (with the voluminous number of street signs directing you to the otherwise difficult to find place, to the moment you depart every care is taken to ensure that you are as happy and comfortable as possible.

The hotel is exquisitely designed with restful white themes, and this coupled with the amazing swimming pool with an extraordinary range of canopes, and leather recliners almost fools you into believing that there’s anyone else there.

Don’t miss out on the breakfasts. So much care was taken to present us with an extraordinary range of Sicilian delights. And while the food was wonderful the hospitality of the ladies who welcomed us there was beyond compare. There are welcomes and there are welcomes. This one was truly heartfelt. Not the typical “I’m paid to welcome you” that you get (and expect) in a five star hotel, but one deep from the heart.

Finally, the rooms also have to be seen to be believed. Not sumptuous, but original, individual, restful and a joy to be in with character and flair.

Borgo Pantano, you’ve raised the bar for every other establishment. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgopantano, Responsabile reception at Hotel Borgo Pantano, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear family from Australia,

Oh, what nice to hear from you! Thank you so much for this beautiful review about our hotel and all of us. We were all overwhelmed by your compliments. To be compaired to a 5 stars hotel is only a huge compliment! You make us blush! :-) ... every single member of our staff thanks you personally for the beautiful words... we are all happy you had a nice stay with us ... Giusi, thanks you so much for the dedicated words to our breakfast, she is really happy to read all these nice comments, also because she takes care in first person of the breakfast... Zia Lucia and all of the other breakfast staff is even more motivated to keep up their good job... the reception staff, pool staff, maitenance staff, direction, restaurant staff also thanks you and send you all a huge hug and a lot of sunny greetings from Borgo Pantano. Giusi, sends you a big kiss and wish you all the best....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Having read several positive reviews we were not disappointed! The warm welcome on arrival was notable.We were offered a most welcome cold drink and cake. What a lovely gesture! The emphasis is on style and high standards throughout. The owner takes pride in ensuring that her guests are treated well - nothing is too much trouble. The grounds of the hotel are stunning creating a relaxed atmosphere for your stay. Despite travelling without my family this time this hotel caters exceptionally well for families with young children. The breakfast was amazing and standards were again high! The evening meal was excellent and the staff were again attentive. My friend's gluten free dietry requirements were met fully. She says the bread rolls were the best gluten free ones she has tasted!! The visit was a special birthday treat......can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Menai63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgopantano, Proprietario at Hotel Borgo Pantano, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear guests,
I remember you and our chit chat really good! Thank you for writing this review that makes my staff and I really proud and happy. My father (dinner) and I (breakfast) take personally a lot of care of our cuisine so that our guests will not be disappointed.
We hope to welcome you again in Sicily especially in Borgo Pantano!
Warm regards from Guis and all of the team of Borgo Pantano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We just arrived back after spending five days in this hotel. We have been to many hotels over the years but what makes Borgo Pantana special is the friendliness of the staff. From the people at the reception to the cleaning ladies and the staff at breakfast. Always with a smile they try to accommodate any special request. Breakfast was fantastic with a lot of choice on the breakfast buffet with home made cakes and croissants every morning. The kids loved the pool that was fantastically layed out surrounded by a huge area of grass with lots of various chairs and tables. There was never a problem to find your own space with shade. The owner was very personal and greated us every morning, and you can definitely feel that her personal touch is rflected i all the small details across the board. The rooms were nicely modern decorated. The location is great about 15 min drive to Siracusa which itself is a wonderful city with lots of restaurants, bars and ice-cream places. Also very beautiful at night to stroll around and good shopping for those who want. Overall a fantastic place for family/couples and group of friends as this hotel truly caters for all different needs. We will definitely be back here!!!! Thanks for a fantastic time at your hotel.

Room Tip: Better to call and speak directly to the hotel reservation when booking as there seem to be a glitch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaelbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgopantano, Direttore at Hotel Borgo Pantano, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Yael,

Thank you so much from the bottom of our hearts! We are so overwhelmed by reading that we are one of the best hotels. Receiving these kind of comments it's only a way of rewarding our daily job. We are only happy to continue to provide good services to our guests.
we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again.
We all send you a lot of greetings and a special hug from Giusi.

Luigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I trusted tripadvisor ratings and booked Borgo Pantano for 3 nights. Unfortunately my first booking through "dertour" was confirmed first, but then cancelled by the hotel 2 weeks later due to overbooking. I then tried again through expedia/Hotels.com and was able to book a suite for a very high price. That again was confirmed an again cancelled a few days later. I was furious and talked directly to the hotel. They apologized in a very friendly manner, arranged for us a room for two nights and helped to organize one night al "il Podere". (That was awful). So, a lot of reasons to fee l bad about the place. However, once we arrived there we were totally charmed by the friendliness and personal service, about the nice hotel, the marvellous pool area, the lunch restaurant and- in the evening - the superbe restaurant on the roof terrace. Great place. Highly recommended. Kids will love the pool!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turtle-diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Syracuse
3.6 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPa
4.3 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
4.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#9 of 73 in Syracuse
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#4 of 73 in Syracuse
570 reviews
4.0 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
56.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borgo Pantano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borgo Pantano

Property: Hotel Borgo Pantano
Address: Traversa Fontana Mortella, 13 int. 4, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Syracuse
#1 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
#1 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#2 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Borgo Pantano 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hotel Borgo Pantano, a 4 star hotel is just 7 miles from the center and the beaches of Syracuse, Italy. An ideal compromise between the countryside, sea and city of art, surrounded by nature, within the nature reserve “Cyane and Saline.” The Hotel Borgo Pantano is located on the site of an ancient farmhouse dating back to 1861, originally a farm property, full of orange trees, lemons, olives, has been completely refurbished in 2009. The challenging architectural recovery was personally supervised by the owners , who are committed to ensure that the charm of the structure remained intact, in full respect of its authenticity. The Hotel is spread over an area of 30,000 square meters, with the outstanding scenic pool, the charming Sicilian citrus grove and the large park with relaxation areas and reading, which guarantee every guest a pleasant privacy. Hotel Borgo Pantano offers many services A modern wellness center with sauna, whirlpool, emotional shower with aroma therapy and color therapy, plus a lovely sitting area to enjoy excellent teas. The hotel is also equipped with a bar, a splendid panoramic pool designed with a special entrance to “beach effect”; elegant restaurant with typical Sicilian cuisine, elegantly furnished rooms with different styles, rooms and suites with bath iacuzzi inotre all rooms are equipped with safe, minibar, LCD TV and free wi-if free. And even outside the hotel is surrounded by a spacious and beautifully landscaped garden planted with playground for the little ones, a multilingual reception, a multilingual library, an indoor games room with table tennis – table football – Nintendo Wii , discover more » ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Borgo Pantano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Borgo Pantano Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing