We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Borgo Pantano is an oasis of peace. From the moment we arrived until our departure we enjoyed every minute. The staff is most friendly and helpful. The room beautifully designed. Food is delicious and the breakfast buffet offers whatever you can think of. The pool with the large garden with Orange trees is heaven. One of the places you wish to come back to. Irene with sister Brigitta

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zwald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

283 - 289 of 1,215 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

we had a wonderful stay for 4 days
a great spacious and brand new room
great and more then enough choice for breakfast
the staff was very welcoming and helpfull
the best part was the garden and pool area which was so big and full off comfortable seating options so that nobody was in your way and it felt very private.
special thanks to the owner who was very helpfull and creative when had some small comments about our bathroom

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is one of the most peaceful and relaxing hotels we have ever visited. The staff were outstanding, the rooms are modern and well equipped. We stayed in a junior suite which has steep stairs up to the bedroom, so that might not suit some people.

The extensive breakfast buffet has an incredible range of home made pastries, breads etc. The evening meals on the terrace feature an ever changing fish menu as well as some good meat alternatives. Lunch at the pool is a lighter selection of pastas, salads and sandwiches.

The gardens with the very large pool are the most outstanding feature. You walk into the pool as if you are going down the beach into the sea. Due to the garden and pool size and the small number of rooms [about 30], it was more like visiting a private home.

The hotel is about 6 miles from the town in a remote location, so it is not easy to find alternative places to eat. However, it only takes 10 minutes to drive to the motorway, giving easy access to the coast and towns such as Noto, Modica and Ragusa.

On our last day, when we had an evening flight, the staff allowed us to use the spa area to shower and change before leaving for the airport, so we could use the pool and gardens to the last minute.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HexhamDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Everything was excellent. Rooms picco bello, gentleness and help of all staff was wonderful. Open minded, helpfulness, cleanliness and hygiene very good, and above all a great kitchen where we have dined very good the two evenings we were over there. Also, the breakfast was fine!! Really a nice garden and a great pool with all accommodation around it !!! We will certainly come back, for a longer stay!! It was even the first and only place in Sicily where we got information on reception in our own (Dutch) language, by a girl who was originated from Belgium.
Really nothing disappointing!! However, you have to have in mind that in order to go to Ortiga or downtown Syracuse you have to drive up to 7 km ( 10 minutes) which could be a problem if you do not have a car available. But .. even than, you will receive some help on the reception desk.
And... it's worth to be some mileage away from a town to 'hear' the tranquility

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaak C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgopantano, Direttore at Hotel Borgo Pantano, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear Family Coenen from Belgium,
What to say... that Giusi, myself and all of our Staff is only flattered by your gentle and kind words... The cleaning ladies thanks you a lot for the picco bello rooms remark, all of the staff in general thanks you for the huge compliment about being helpful and open minded, the kitchen staff almost blushed about the nice compliments, also the gardeners where happy to read something about their every day job... our reception staff, Silvia, Alice, Alessandro and especially our Belgian receptionist Noemi thank you also a lot and sends you a big hello back and finally but not least zia Lucia and the breakfast crew thanks from the bottom of their hearts...
... we send you a lot of love and hugs...
from all of us at Borgo Pantano...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

of all 4 hotels we visited in sicily this was our favourite.
An overwhelming breakfast everyday, a lovely garden and swimming pool and the first hotel where we were informed in our own language (flemish). The service is also very good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annemie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The hotel is in a good position as it is only a ten minute drive to Syracuse. The motorway is close but you don't notice it so it is not an issue. The grounds are lovely with beautifully manicured lawns and gardens and the pool area is fantastic. There are lots of places to sit or lounge around the pool or just enjoy the garden.
We found the staff to be very friendly, helpful and efficient.
The breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of cheeses, pastries, fresh fruits, breads, eggs and bacon. We only had dinner in the restaurant once and it was satisfactory. Due to the weather we had to eat in the same room we had breakfast but as a restaurant we found it lacking character and too large plus the breakfast things stored in the corners for the following morning were a little off putting.
We stayed in a junior suite. It was clean and light and the bed was very comfortable although if people in the next room talk loudly you can hear them. The bathroom was excellent with a large shower. The room itself is set up very well with different areas. The downstairs area has a sofa, desk and a large wardrobe making it a great place to leave the cases etc. The bedroom is upstairs and has a door leading to the terrace.
Overall we thought it was an ideal place to explore Syracuse from.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabrizio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Having travelled to Italy on many occasions I am simply basing my review on other four star hotels and in comparison this hotel should be awarded with five stars. Which I believe it would have, if balcony rooms and evening entertainment was available.

Upon arrival we were offered a choice of freshly baked cakes and a drink. The receptionist wasn’t just helpful, she was exceptional! We were given what looks like a book of info about where to park in the centre, what to see and handy tips galore.

The hotel is modern and every detail seems to have been thought about. The pool area is set in peaceful lush gardens and looks like a tropical retreat with ample double beds, beanbags, sun loungers with visors, mattress sun loungers, hammocks and umbrellas. The pool was slightly colder than average but there wasn’t a day that went past that the staff didn’t clean it for hours. It was spotless. We did plan to do more in Syracuse but the pool area was so amazing and peaceful that we spent most of our time here.

It’s not just the reception staff that are lovely it’s all staff! Think service with a smile everywhere you go in this hotel.

The room was an upgrade and had absolutely loads of space. The bed was massive and made of memory foam so it was mega comfortable. There were two televisions in the room. One in the lounge area and another in the bedroom. The bedroom television had a DVD player and to our amazement had a movie already in it that could be viewed in either German or English. So we enjoyed that after a night out.

There isn’t a bath tub in the bathroom nor is there something to hold onto in the shower, should any ladies need to shave etc which is my only gripe. Nevertheless the bathroom is more than well equipped, very modern and once again clean.

Each room has a massive window and I am sure that there are rooms with terraces but I couldn’t see them during our short stay and we didn’t have one. That made me a little disappointed because it’s always nice to sit outside on a balcony of an evening. However, there are so many little quirks and seating areas all around this hotel that it’s hard to stay disappointed for long. They even have washing lines with pegs scattered all over the grounds so you can dry your clothes overnight on them.

The breakfast surpassed all expectations and it was an amazing buffet breakfast. Freshly squeezed orange juice is put on your table whilst you help yourself to an array of food on offer. Fruits such as coconut, melon, cherries and strawberries are just some of the fruit available here. Pastries and cakes to die for as well as a hot breakfast if you prefer. Seriously, you will be blown away with the choice! You also get to sit on a beautiful terrace to enjoy all of this yummy food.

The hotel also has a spa which they were kind enough to let us use to shower in after we checked out and left for our flight. In addition there is a quirky little games room with a Wii and various other things to occupy you. There’s even a massage chair in reception with an abundance of sweets too.

On departure we were handed a small bag of almonds. Absolutely everything is thought about to make your stay amazing here. You won’t want to leave, trust me.

This hotel is more than worthy of five stars especially in comparison to other Italian four star hotels. If you want a restful, stunning break then this is the hotel for you. It really blew us away, so much so that we are looking to go back again for a weekend.

Make sure you get a car so you can get out and about (if you want to leave the hotel that is).

It’s definitely got the wow factor! If you go, have an amazing time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The-Boils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Syracuse
4.3 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
56.9 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
3.6 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#3 of 75 in Syracuse
619 reviews
56.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,102 reviews
4.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#9 of 75 in Syracuse
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borgo Pantano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borgo Pantano

Address: Traversa Fontana Mortella, 13 int. 4, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
#1 Spa Hotel in Syracuse
#1 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#2 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: $163 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Borgo Pantano 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hotel Borgo Pantano, a 4 star hotel is just 7 miles from the center and the beaches of Syracuse, Italy. An ideal compromise between the countryside, sea and city of art, surrounded by nature, within the nature reserve “Cyane and Saline.” The Hotel Borgo Pantano is located on the site of an ancient farmhouse dating back to 1861, originally a farm property, full of orange trees, lemons, olives, has been completely refurbished in 2009. The challenging architectural recovery was personally supervised by the owners , who are committed to ensure that the charm of the structure remained intact, in full respect of its authenticity. The Hotel is spread over an area of 30,000 square meters, with the outstanding scenic pool, the charming Sicilian citrus grove and the large park with relaxation areas and reading, which guarantee every guest a pleasant privacy. Hotel Borgo Pantano offers many services A modern wellness center with sauna, whirlpool, emotional shower with aroma therapy and color therapy, plus a lovely sitting area to enjoy excellent teas. The hotel is also equipped with a bar, a splendid panoramic pool designed with a special entrance to “beach effect”; elegant restaurant with typical Sicilian cuisine, elegantly furnished rooms with different styles, rooms and suites with bath iacuzzi inotre all rooms are equipped with safe, minibar, LCD TV and free wi-if free. And even outside the hotel is surrounded by a spacious and beautifully landscaped garden planted with playground for the little ones, a multilingual reception, a multilingual library, an indoor games room with table tennis – table football – Nintendo Wii , discover more » ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Borgo Pantano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Borgo Pantano Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing