We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Excellent hotel - a place that respects its guests.
The motto of the hotel to give guests a feeling of constant smile - and the hotel staff did succeed.
Excellent hotel - a place that respects its guests.
The motto of the hotel to give guests a feeling of constant smile - and the hotel staff did succeed.
The hotel's guidance regarding how to get it accurate.
It provides suggestions trip to nearby sites.
Every problem we encountered was treated immediately by a team place. The shower was not hot enough and sent a technician who got it immediately.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iritk_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgopantano, Direttore at Hotel Borgo Pantano, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear guest,
Yes, indeed our motto is YOUR SMILE IS OUR ENERGY. We are eally happy you think we succeeded in being faithful to our motto.
The truth is that it is really your happiness that gives us every day even more energy to continue to do a good job. It is also such a pleasure to know you appreciated our mini-guide on what Syracuse and its surroundings has to offer. In a few words, Giusi and all of us at Borgo Pantano thank you for your kind words and sends you a lot of smiley greetings from Sicily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    973
    128
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
311
608
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Borgo Pantano. The staff and manager could not have been friendlier. The suite we had was very swanky! We were a little disappointed our luggage didn't match the red, white and black decor, because once we'd moved in we ruined the look! Couldn't open the fridge but the receptionist rushed down to help me. The place is very serene with a beautiful pool and lots of comfortable sitting out areas around the courtyards. Restaurant was good. Very pleasant out of town setting and a short drive to Syracusa. We got a taxi which the hotel organised too so we could really relax. Didn't make use of the treatments and the pool was shut so can't comment on those, but felt relaxed just by staying here. Exercise room was fun. Thoroughly recommended. And thank you for the delicious almonds! We ate them on our journey and thought fondly Borgo Pantano.

Room Tip: Take white, red or black luggage to match your room!! I'm a designer - this stuff matters to me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CornishTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgopantano, Direttore at Hotel Borgo Pantano, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear guest,
We really enjoyed reading your review it was really pleasant to read and funny. We are sorry your luggage didn't match the design of the room :-). We promise you to find the right room that will match your luggage next time. We are also happy that you called immediately the receptionist when you had difficulties in opening your frigobar, we want our guests to feel comfortable and if there is something wrong it has to be solved immeddiately.
We thank you again and send you a lot of smiley greetings from Hotel Borgo Pantano!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

A great welcome to this rural hotel, being given luscious home-made cake to nibble while the receptionist explained how to drive into Siracuse/Ortigia, handing us useful maps and recommendations of the best tourist sights, as well as advice on where to park. If you don't fancy driving yourself into town, I noticed that they do offer transport for a small charge, which could be useful in the high season.
Our comfortable room was across the attractive courtyard, with an outlook towards the elegantly-shaped swimming pool fringed with orange trees.
The staff were absolutely delightful, and adept at remembering from one day to the next our preferences for fizzy water with dinner, or special coffee at breakfast. Meals were taken in the first-floor restaurant, across a courtyard (stairlift provided for the less mobile). Good quality dinner, with sensibly limited number of choices; breakfast included freshly squeezed orange juice, delicious coffee, and cooked dishes, as well as the usual huge range of Sicilian sweet pastries.
Games room with football table, ping-pong etc, and extensive grounds around the cloverleaf-inspired swimming pool.
Lovely place; wish we could have stayed longer.

Be sure to print out the driving directions from the hotel website before you leave home; you'll never find it without them!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loiseau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgopantano, Direttore at Hotel Borgo Pantano, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Angela and Alan,
We thank you, for being such wonderful guests! Being a small hotel we get the chance to know our guests, we love to papmper them and threat them as a guest in our own home. It's nice to hear you liked our play-room, yard, breakfast and dinner. At breakfast we want everybody to start the day well and with a lot of energy, so we are really happy you enjoyed it. At dinner our goal is to creat a relaxing atmosphere and eat tasty food to end the day in a peaceful way, it's so nice to hear you got that feeling from our restaurant and our staff.
We send you a lot of warm greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Good signage leads you to this lovely hotel in the countryside near Siracusa. We booked a junior suite and found it incredibly spacious and comfortable with a great bed (best in Sicily). The decor was ultra-modern Italian - all black, white and red. Staff were very kind and helpful to us here and we appreciated their kindness. Breakfast was excellent - varied and plentiful - and delicious. Dinner at the hotel was excellent too and the chef varied the menu daily. This was appreciated because we could come back at the end of the sight seeing day and know that we would have a great meal at a good price without having to drive anywhere. One night, someone from the front desk came up to the restaurant with umbrellas for the diners who would have had to walk back to their rooms in the rain otherwise - to me this consideration was typical of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OttawaCatLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgopantano, Direttore at Hotel Borgo Pantano, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear guests,
First of all we want to thank you to have written this lovely review!
We want to dedicate a special word to the umbrellas... For us it's only a pleasure and a normality doing these kind of things. We put ourselves in the position of our guests and want them to feel good and threathed in the same way we wish to be cuddled during our holidays. We are really happy you appreciated this spontanious and simple gesture, it means a lot to us.
We wish you all the best and hope to see you again.
Greetings from Hotel Borgo Pantano!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

A real delight. The room was spacious, bright, and lovely. Without exception, the staff were warm, friendly, and helpful (and spoke excellent English). The entire hotel is spotlessly clean. The restaurant is relaxing and handsome with good food at a modest price (and, if you come back to the hotel after a day of touring Siracusa, you may prefer to dine in rather than drive back to town). There is a wonderful breakfast buffet, and Zia Lucia, the baker, came out to talk with us about her home-made cakes and pastries which were indeed scrumptious. The hotel is in a nature preserve outside town, and - warning! - if you navigate with a GPS it may send you through a very circuitous set of lanes that happen to share the name of the street the hotel is on - and don't get you there. The best way to navigate is to phone the hotel, who will tell you what to program into your GPS (which turns out to be the name of the next street over). The staff gives good, clear directions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonDavid_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgopantano, Direttore at Hotel Borgo Pantano, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Judith and David,
It was such a pleasure reading your review. Thank you so much for having dedicating a little bit of your spare time on writing these beautiful words. All of our staff thanks you a lot. These kind of reviews give us the strength to do always more and work always better. We hope to see you again sometime and wish you all the best!
Warm greetings from Sicily!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

What a great place to stay! Beautiful design. Loved the swimming pool and pool beds. Also great restaurant that serves nice dishes in the evening and breakfast with lots of choices. This was the first hotel that we stayed in a whole day to relax. Usually we leave for day trips. Borgo Pantano is also a very central place for many excursions like Syracuse. Unfortunately it was fully booked, so we had to leave after 3 nights, we would have preferred to stay here longer!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Ilse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgopantano, Proprietario at Hotel Borgo Pantano, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear guest from netherland, thank you so much for this review.
For us is very important,it makes us very happy,your smile is our energy.

Hope to see you again,
Giusi and all our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saignon, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Don't be put off by the surrounding road system which is in dire need of municipal investment. However once you go through the pearly gates everything will meet or beat your expectations. The hotel and grounds were designed by the owner who is warm & charming and has put her heart and soul into this project. The staff were friendly and helpful as well, particularly the breakfast team.The interior and exterior design is tasteful and authentic, the pool area beautiful and huge. The breakfast buffet was at a high level, the restaurant is a good option if you don't feel like going into Syracuse/Ortigia for dinner. Rooms were decorated very attractively, we stayed in 2 different room types and would say the ground floor suite is actually more for families than for couples so next time we would not pay the extra money for the suite. The WIFI signal was a little weak as we found throughout our travels to hotels in Sicily.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Provencals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgopantano, Proprietario at Hotel Borgo Pantano, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dearest guest,
We thank you for having dedicated a little bit of your time to write us these nice compliments.
We are really happy to inform you that just today the municipal started to do some works on the
improvement of the road conditions.
It’s such a pleasure for us to hear you had a nice stay with us. We all appreciated your kind words regarding our
restaurant because it’s really important for us that our guests enjoy their meal.
Now if you will come back to visit us you’ll see our pool area is even more beautiful, we’ve done some works to have an even more wonderful pool,
we like to make things even beter.
We really hope to see you a next time and wish you all the best.

Giusi and the staff of Borgo Pantano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Syracuse
4.3 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
3.6 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPa
4.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#8 of 75 in Syracuse
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
56.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
1,989 reviews
4.2 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#4 of 75 in Syracuse
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borgo Pantano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borgo Pantano

Property: Hotel Borgo Pantano
Address: Traversa Fontana Mortella, 13 int. 4, 96100 , Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#1 Spa Hotel in Syracuse
#1 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
#2 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Borgo Pantano 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hotel Borgo Pantano, a 4 star hotel is just 7 miles from the center and the beaches of Syracuse, Italy. An ideal compromise between the countryside, sea and city of art, surrounded by nature, within the nature reserve “Cyane and Saline.” The Hotel Borgo Pantano is located on the site of an ancient farmhouse dating back to 1861, originally a farm property, full of orange trees, lemons, olives, has been completely refurbished in 2009. The challenging architectural recovery was personally supervised by the owners , who are committed to ensure that the charm of the structure remained intact, in full respect of its authenticity. The Hotel is spread over an area of 30,000 square meters, with the outstanding scenic pool, the charming Sicilian citrus grove and the large park with relaxation areas and reading, which guarantee every guest a pleasant privacy. Hotel Borgo Pantano offers many services A modern wellness center with sauna, whirlpool, emotional shower with aroma therapy and color therapy, plus a lovely sitting area to enjoy excellent teas. The hotel is also equipped with a bar, a splendid panoramic pool designed with a special entrance to “beach effect”; elegant restaurant with typical Sicilian cuisine, elegantly furnished rooms with different styles, rooms and suites with bath iacuzzi inotre all rooms are equipped with safe, minibar, LCD TV and free wi-if free. And even outside the hotel is surrounded by a spacious and beautifully landscaped garden planted with playground for the little ones, a multilingual reception, a multilingual library, an indoor games room with table tennis – table football – Nintendo Wii , discover more » ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Borgo Pantano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Borgo Pantano Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing