We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cut above”
Review of Locanda Mastrarua

Locanda Mastrarua
Ranked #92 of 655 Restaurants in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A cut above”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Although we came close on a few occasions, I didn't expect to equal the standard that was set onour first meal in Sicily (home fare at an organic agricola farmhouse). But we did here. Lovely selection of tastes unavailable in most of tourist-oriented places. And the half litre of house red (nero d'avalo) tasted like a fine wine ... for 5 euros. Recommended without hesitation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mediocre-Golfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    122
    34
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The real deal”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

When traveling in a well-trod locale it is such an extra pleasure to be welcomed with such warmth and friendliness. Where you get the sense of being taken care of. The woman who owns Mastrarua and her staff exude this friendliness. We ate perfectly and we ate well. I had the freshest mussels in my life. This is a lovely trattoria where you will dine well. The wine list oculd have been better but this is a small point.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank GrillMeisterNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An absolute must!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had a disastrous arrival when the hotel we thought we had booked had no record of our booking. After calling around for over an hour, we found a delightful B and B, right next to this amazing restaurant. The B and B was run by the chef/owner's mother, so we got a 20% discount off the already very reasonable price of the meal, which was by any standards outstanding. After the stress of our arrival, we were absolutely delighted with both the B and B and the restaurant.
They were one of the only places we ate in Italy which offered a gluten free pasta, which was delicious and perfectly prepared. I had the home made ricotta ravioli, and the best meal was my mother's tuna steak with almond crust, which was succulent and absolutely delicious.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great food. Good atmosphere.”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Great food. We ate here on June 2013, the food and wine was great. Fish with almonds and Zisola wine. The atmosphere is nice and service good. Recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming and genuine hosts”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We passed this restaurant many times before we ventured in, it was near where we were staying in a small side street. But once through the door we came back every night of our remaining stay! The hosts were charming and knowledgeable as well as kind. At the end of 2 days we felt we had made real friends. The food was simple, local, fresh and superb! We also loved the cactus leaf bread bowls and the local china, it all added to the warm atmosphere. One of the highlights was listening to large Italian family gatherings discussing the menu with the staff in the depth and interest in food only the Italians seem to express. Book if you can just to be on the safe side.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luccaphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Locanda Mastrarua also viewed

Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Locanda Mastrarua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing