We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK in a sea of excellent eateries”

Spaghetteria Do Scogghiu
Ranked #170 of 649 Restaurants in Syracuse
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just OK in a sea of excellent eateries”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We ended up here after being turned away from a couple of places as we hadn't booked (Tip: book your dinner table at lunchtime!). The food was pretty average, service average and the experience in general....you guessed it. In Ortigia there are some fabulous places to eat, seek them out before you settle here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mr_and_Mrs_T_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    238
    113
    72
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Good and fresh seafood”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We had the antipasti de mare and resto and spaghetti with seafood. All was fresh and tasty, good value for money in a disent size dishes

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Desimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgas, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Why would wait in the queue for something like that?”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Well, having read a number of reviews on TA we are now in Syracuse as well trying to taste the best of it. It seems that the best places /rated highest/ are ring reserved for days ahead. So I thought that if we wa t to eat dece t food just queue up and wait. We waited for hf an hour for lunch time an we were seated. Food was average, rizotto was absolutely not a real one but just some rice mixed with smth a d thrown in a plate. Sword fish was awfully salty. And they do not accept credit cards. I would not recommend and would not go back

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank renig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great pasta and value”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Excellent local pasta dishes and very good value too. Pasta with cerna particularly good. Fish selection rather restricted, it is a spaghetteria after all. Wine selection limited to 3 or 4 local wines too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RaphMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I ate here today so my impression is 'fresh'! The food is great and is above more restaurants in Siracuse and Taormina! The staff is just ok, they seem to be always in a hurry and because it is a crowded place they bring you the bill even if you didn't ask it. Overall, it is very good. The food is very well prepared and it is not expensive (2 main courses + dessert + wine & water = 25 euro/pp).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cristiandragomir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spaghetteria Do Scogghiu also viewed

Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Spaghetteria Do Scogghiu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing