We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient hotel at 3star rates and appeal.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grande Albergo Alfeo
Ranked #11 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The practical location, 5min by walk from the train/bus station and 3min to Ortigia, makes this an ideal hotel for the less busy months where the free shuttle (navetta) is nowhere to be seen. The rates for the rooms are cheap for a 4 star, but you will quickly realise the hotel is more in line with a 3 star rather than a 4 star. The staff is impeccable, helpfull and smart. The downside; rooms lack attention to detail as compared to the rest of the hotel and need of proper good maintinance (As some claim, lamps with no shades is true. Our TV was disconnected from the hotel-tv feed and I had to move furniture to re-connect it. The bathroom had a good powerfull hot shower but we had a fault with hot water at the wash basin, which we did not report since it was no major issue for us, consumed toilet paper was not replaced ont he last day). The breakfast service needs huge improvments, I've had much better breakfast at hotels rated 3stars and in agriturisimo. Overall, hotel is good value for money if you can live with the above, which we did.

Room Tip: Our room on the first floor (balcony over Via Malta) was suitably heated and with good Wifi receptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AquilinaMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 697 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

Everything about this hotel is excellent - great location, delicious breakfast, big, comfortable, clean room with very good wireless, delicious breakfast. The Signora at breakfast was especially charming and helpful. But when we had a problem with our date of arrival (we still wanted to stay three nights, but arriving one day later, due a unforeseen problem in Rome), the manager changed the reservation for us. Everybody kind and helpful. (We asked for and got a room with a view of the water, over the roofs. Beautiful!)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

The hotel is located within walking distance (5 minutes walk) of the gate to Ortygia, which is perfect. The rooms are clean and spacious and the price is very competitive. This hotel gives good value for money, so I would certainly recommend it.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank PeterBelgium17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Booked two rooms for 6-nights for a stay in November 2012. Cost just 540 Euros - brilliant value for a comfortable hotel well located roughly equidistant between bus/train stations and Ortygia.
And a very good breakfast included....
Just a little tip for those unused to Southern Italy/Sicily. Despite being November, beware mosquitos at night, so keep windows closed!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I won't get into the argument whether this hotel deserves 3 or 4 stars, but one thing for sure, for the price of a 2 stars hotel, you get a lot more. Their Internet deal is really hard to beat, at least during the low season when we went there (November).

Location is perfect, just out of the old part of town. You can go also by foot to the Greek Theatre. Its a large hotel with a rather big lobby. The room we had was big, with a balcony, a comfy bed, a desk and a chair. It was not noisy, but I can't tell if was the isolation of the fact there's not many guests this time of the year. Everything was clean, and the shower had enough pressure (not always the case in Sicily).

Breakfast (included in the price) is buffet style, with cereals, yoghurts, cheese, ham and a large choice of pastries. I would recommend them to add some fruits, especially in Sicily, where fresh fruits abound.

That said, if you want more for less money, this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I have no major complaints about this hotel, but don't feel it should be graded as a 4* hotel. Our room was quite dated and lacked basic finishing touches you would expect like lamp shades. The location of the hotel is good, just a short walk from Ortygia and we got a pretty good deal on Booking.com. The breakfast was good.
Since we were travelling with our 11 month old baby, it would have been useful to have a bath instead of a shower, but that is just a personal preference.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilybina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This hotel is just a few steps away from Ortygia, so while it's not at the epicentre of the whole tourist affair it still is in a prime location, and for that the room price probably cannot be beaten! We also found the location to be of super value because we were able to park our car TWICE at no cost in the parking spaces along Via Malta (the street just outside the hotel). The hotel room itself was very large, clean and with modern equipment. Free Wi-Fi was available only in the lobby, though. Staff was generally friendly, though not overly effusive. Breakfast buffet was nice, and although there was no real espresso machine, the coffee machine still made a cappuccino that was quite good.

A small comment on the four-star rating given to the Grande Albergo Alfeo: In our experience, four-star hotels are, well, a bit more perfect. For instance, while the renovation that apparently has been done has been well executed, the veneer is just a bit too thin, the luxury just a bit too much on the lower end.

Since I don't want to end this review on a negative tone, let me re-iterate that I would strongly recommend the Grande Albergo Alfeo to anybody who looks for accomodation in Syracuse: You *do* get an amazing lot of value for your money!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herzbube102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.5 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.6 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#3 of 75 in Syracuse
608 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Politi
Grand Hotel Villa Politi
#9 of 75 in Syracuse
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#17 of 75 in Syracuse
662 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
#5 of 75 in Syracuse
417 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mercure Siracusa Prometeo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Albergo Alfeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo Alfeo

Address: Via Nino Bixio 5, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
#14 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#15 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: $68 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Albergo Alfeo 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grande Albergo Alfeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Albergo Alfeo Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing