We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grande Albergo Alfeo
Ranked #11 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Spent 2 nights in Siracusa with my partner. Needed a 4-STAR hotel that was half way between the historical centre of Ortigia and the archaeological park. This was it :) Perfect location. Hotel is regular 4-STAR standard on the high-end. Great almond and coffee granita for breakfast !!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pulena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 697 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

The hotel is good clean and well located, brakefast is not very rich but its o.k, the only problem is the Internet, the wi-fi is very very slow. There is a lot of parking place for the car outside at the street

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mosaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Great hotel in a great location. Spacious room with balcony and big shower. First time in Sicily and was impressed with the friendly and polite staff. Can't complain about the breakfast, what do some people want. Where would you get coffee ice cream and great selection of pastries.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FitzyboyMullingar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We are a young couple from Australia on our honeymoon, and it was our first time in Sicily and Syracusa. Apart from the magical area that Syracusa and particularly Ortigia is, this hotel was just purely and simply fantastic. Staff were friendly, polite, courteous and tried their upmost to attend to your needs. Their knowledge of the area was of great assistance. The hotel room was clean, incredibly spacious, and the view was lovely. Breakfast was great the first morning, and maintained the same standard, although, variety of available food would have been better (sort of get sick of eating the same thing every morning). Wi-Fi was available and was strong in all common areas of the hotel, but not strong or at times not available at all in the room...but you can live with that. All in all, this was a fantastic hotel to stay at - close to everything and well worth the money. Will definitely stay her again when we return to Syracusa hopefully one day in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anonymous P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed one night at this beautiful hotel just a few steps away from Ortigia. The place is modern and stylishly refurbished. Bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious and common areas are inviting.

To improve:
Breakfast - not impressive for a 4* hotel
There's no iron/inoning board available (in the room or at the hotel)
There's no sewing kit available

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afs14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Very nice place convenient to Ortigia but still walkable to Greek Theatre etc in north. Clean modern decorated rooms. Friendly service. Breakfasts OK (so long as you are happy with Continental which we were). As with every hotel we've been to in Sicily (Italy even) if they have a computer they don't have a printer - it's so simple cheap and basic but really was a pain (boarding passes, Google Maps and directions). But a very nice place and we would stay again

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickandlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

This hotel offers a comfortable staying near the touristic area (Ortigia island), the room was just like on their website, very spacious and modern decorated. As a minus, the TV had only up to 10 channels, all Italian. Breakfast should be more diverse too.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dafyda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.5 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.6 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#3 of 75 in Syracuse
608 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Politi
Grand Hotel Villa Politi
#9 of 75 in Syracuse
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#17 of 75 in Syracuse
662 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
#5 of 75 in Syracuse
416 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mercure Siracusa Prometeo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Albergo Alfeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo Alfeo

Address: Via Nino Bixio 5, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
#14 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#15 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: $68 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Albergo Alfeo 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grande Albergo Alfeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Albergo Alfeo Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing