We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best italian restaurant was actually french” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Vin de L'assassin Bistrot

Le Vin de L'assassin Bistrot
Ranked #5 of 552 Restaurants in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best italian restaurant was actually french”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Friendly staff, delicious food and wine. Casual, tasty, good value. Best escargot ever. If you're slowly getting tired of pasta, pizza, scalopine then this is your ideal choice. If you visit Syracuse this is a must :)

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VelrybaPraha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,940 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,328
    432
    124
    32
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Siracusa Must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Outstanding food, friendly, efficient, and welcoming service, very nice atmosphere. MANY restaurants in Sicily should go here for training.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roland L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuilly-sur-Seine, France
1 review
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I wanted to taste and something else so i visited Le vin de l'assasin.Great food, tuna with almonds was excellent. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. What a great choice! The food and the service were excellent! A really value for money!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank skidhiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great evening, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We went to this restaurant after reading reviews on Trip Advisor, We had an absolutely fabulous evening! The waiter took the time to explain every dish as best he could in English. The owner then went through every dish on the menu so we fully understood the choices. Both me andmy fiance loved all three courses that we chose and it is one of the nicest meals we have ever had.100% recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hudston d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
142 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“So close to the top mark, but please smoke outside!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We spent Christmas week in Syracuse, just around the corner from this small restaurant. We had dinner here twice and we loved it. The food was very good, the service was excellent and the open kitchen provided entertainment. The place was full both times, so it is a popular place, The only things that was not perfect was that we think they could have matched the wine with the food a bit better and also some of the dishes were a bit to unimaginative for a place like this. And, as the reviewer before me mentioned, the smoke from the bar in the next room drifted into the dining area. It´s not that cold in Syracuse, not even in December.
That said, I can definitely recommend this place. The duck!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Vin de L'assassin Bistrot also viewed

Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Le Vin de L'assassin Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing