We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Sicily”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Musciara Siracusa Resort
Ranked #34 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We were 2 families with teenagers staying at this hotel, where nothing seemed too much trouble-a late lunch when we arrived tired, restaurant recommendations and bookings, boat trips and even help digging a sea urchin spine out of a foot!
The hotel itself is beautifully appointed-very elegant, with a charming private beach. Dining is truly next to the sea. The small apartments worked well for the teenagers, though they might be a bit open plan for a family. Close to town, we could all come and go as we wished, searching out food from the market to eat on the terrace at the apartment, culture or ice creams late at night. It is one of the nicest places we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mia060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 249 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2010

I've fallen madly in love with Ortigia and a big part of the reason I keep coming back to this stunning part of Sicily are the long, dreamy days spent totally unwinding on the private beach of the unique, Musciara Siracusa Resort.
This chic hotel with elegant, comfortable rooms, suites and apartments sits directly on its own private, protected harbour and offers a rare barefoot luxury that allows me to totally relax and enjoy my hoilday like nowhere else in Europe.
Every detail has been designed to pamper but is delivered in the most easy, relaxed way which really, has everything to do with the natural generosity and good taste of my host and owners, Ida, Laura and Salvo who welcome me like a family friend.
Excellent service is delivered by efficient, friendly staff and a local secret is the delicious home-cooked Sicilian lunch served on the terrace.
Apart from cooling off in the pristine natural stream that infuses through the beach sand into the sea, I have no reason to leave my shaded sun lounge.
But if the mood should take me, I know that all the natural and historic beauty of Ortigia lies just beyond the gates and along the curve of the harbour.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BradleySeymour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

The best was the breakfast which was (luckily) not Itailan but a nice buffet with fresh orange juice, lots of pastry as well as decent rolls, a cheese selection, salami, eggs and fresh fruit salad. The weather was sunny still in November and we took our breakfast on the terrace which is directly at the sea... During night you hear the waves which was really nice as well. The family which runs the hotel is very friendly and helped us with what ever we needed.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arkadi71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

We enjoyed the Musicara Siracusa Resort. It was in a great location within easy walking distance of Ortigia and of the Archeological Park. We liked the fact that the hotel was in a quiet location but close to busy Ortigia. Our room overlooked the the waves, and we loved watching the fishing boats leaving the harbor in the evening. The beach is unique for the area, and we had hoped for better weather to be able to use it - alas, that was not to be. (I did enjoy sitting by our window reading and listening to the waves pound the shore.) Breakfast each day was a bit different, and delicious. The hotel rooms are small, but very clean. Everything in the bathroom is smaller than normal, but of beautiful design. Our only complaint was space to store things as we were on a six-week trip. For most people this would not be a problem, I assume.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mayo Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Musciara Resort is amazing!
The location is perfect - close enough to the centres of Siracusa and Ortigia yet removed enough to feel like a hideaway resort if you prefer.
The standard of the house we rented was perfect. It was spotlessly clean, comfortable, tastefully decorated and spacious.
The hotel itself was superb- again both tasteful and comfortable.
The restaurant/dining area on the patio excellant as was the Sicilian food cooked by Teresa.
The private beach beautiful, sun loungers comfortable, the views stunning and the water clear.
Basically Musciara is pretty near perfect but what makes the resort stand apart from other places is the family that owns/runs it. It is such a pleasure to spend time with people who have a genuine passion for what they do - and it shows throughout the whole place.
We absolutely recommend Musciara without hesitation and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulF1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We stayed 8 nights in the appartment and 5 in the hotel. We loved both, although the appartment (actually it's a house) was our preferred option. Very quiet, very relaxing and we would thoroughly recommend it. Not child friendly due to very hard metal spiral staircase (todlers would just fall off the edge). The galley kitchen (full size fridge freezer and four gas rings, no oven or microwave) on the second floor leads to a roof terrace with roof top views to the sea, where you can eat all that you bought at the fresh fish/cheese/veg market which is daily on Ortigia. (If you find the cheese stall, go into the shop at the back ....... wonderful!).

The private beach is pristine and very relaxed but we only used it whilst we were in the hotel in the second week. Music is on but doesn't interfere.

Ortigia is beautiful for walking round - restaurants we found a bit hit and miss. the food at the hotel (we ate once in the evening, out on the terrace with the sea lapping and the fish swimming through the underwater lighting) was by far our best meal out, but it came at a price.

Overall a really wonderful place to have a very relaxing break.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaquik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary and renewed our vows. Staff went out of their way to arrange a church for the renewal of our vows, this was at no extra cost. We celebrated with family and friends, some family travelled fom the USA. Position of the hotel was very good, we hired a car but really did not require this as there was so much to see and do within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel was very clean. The self catering apartments were well equipped (stairs not really suitable or older adults. Only one toilet in the bathroom off the main bedroom. Sleeps a family of four comfortably but not really suitable for 2 couples).

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julia186368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
2 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#9 of 75 in Syracuse
1,314 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Villamare
Hotel Villamare
#2 of 7 in Fontane Bianche
243 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Maniace Hotel
Royal Maniace Hotel
#14 of 75 in Syracuse
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#13 of 75 in Syracuse
691 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Musciara Siracusa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Musciara Siracusa Resort

Address: Riviera Dionisio Il Grande 42, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Syracuse
#9 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: $266 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Musciara Siracusa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Musciara Siracusa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Musciara Siracusa Hotel Syracuse
Musciara Siracusa Resort Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing