We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome service”
Review of Hotel Livingston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Livingston
Ranked #22 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I had already decided to give this hotel a 5-star review before I left. It is on the water, central in Ortygia (the old city), with 18 foot ceiling rooms, and spectacular views. The people at the front desk were very helpful, and loaned us guidebooks to the city for our 4 day stay. However, I was most impressed when I left my laptop on the nightstand after checking out. I discovered this in the Catania airport, borrowed a cell phone, and called the Livingston. They knew I had left it, and were trying to reach me. They sent the laptop in a vehicle, with someone to recognize me, to the airport, and returned it half and hour before departure. Spectacular!, and enough said.

Room Tip: I recommend rooms 305, larger (1st choice), and 306, better bathroom. Both with awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Querulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 360 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here in mid march for 4 nights . This hotel was superb. The most charming, helpful staff, lovely girls , who parked our car, changed our room to One with side balcony, still glorious sea view and a fabulous bathroom. Lying in large comfortable beds listening to the waves crashing against the sea wall was a thrilling experience. Beautifully furnished, clean and fresh everywhere.
The spa in the basement is a real treat, this was very kindly opened especially for us after it was closed.
Wonderful breakfasts, with enormous choice of fruits, and perfect scrambled eggs.. Friendly waiters . Sadly, restaurant was not open for dinner while we were there but we were given recommendations for dining in local family restaurants.
The 360 views from this top room is sensational.
Ortiga is excuisite, and this hotel, small and intimate made our stay totally peaceful and relaxing after sightseeing.

Room Tip: The view from any room is superb, some rooms only have hydro massage showers, so ask if you would li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Hotel Livingston is located along the waterfront in old Ortygia and a sea view room is definitely worth the extra cost. This hotel has just about everything you can think of to make your stay more comfortable - clean, spacious rooms, very comfy beds, slippers and robes, cool bathroom with glass sink and Jacuzzi shower, wonderful spicy orange scented toiletries, reliable, free Wi-Fi, long balcony with direct sea view, an excellent restaurant, an elevator, and friendly helpful service.

The breakfast buffet was much better than average with scrambled eggs and bacon, hard rolls, cheese, and deli meats, cereal, yogurt, fresh pineapple and other fruits, and about eight different pastries and tarts. The restaurant and breakfast area are in a glassed in room on the top floor with panoramic views of the sea and town. In mild weather they open the windows to the sea breezes. Although we normally do not eat dinner in hotel restaurants, we did at Hotel Livingston and it was excellent. The presentation was beautiful, service was friendly and professional, and food was delicious.

Room Tip: A sea view room is larger and the views are exceptional, well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeborahATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Good location, in a nice area of Siracusa, near to restaurants, bars, the Cathedral (Duomo)... We had a large and well equipped double room, with hydromassage, large bed, nice furniture... Good breakfast at the fourth floor, with a nice view. Free car parking (although on the street) available.

On the down side, poor wi-fi coverage in the room and place is a bit on the expensive side, given that it was low season and Siracusa is probably not a top tourist destination.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Comfortable room, we had a junior suite, with sea view. Bit on the expensive side. Easy access to all of Otigia. We didn't eat in the hotel as we were out and about with lots of good restaurants nearby. The breakfasts however were ok with a wide choice, though not much off the 'full english' list. Very friendly guy running the restaurant. Didn't use the Spa. They could offer a free transfer to the Airport bus stop.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4across
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Hotel Livingston is so small and cute. Sun welcomes in every day. The sea is close to the hotel and the impression is that the room flows into the sea. The room and bathroom is clean. Service at the reception is ok. You can not use the SPA at the evening because is closed. The breakfast is on the roof from there is a view of the old town and sea. Food is ok.

Room Tip: Take a room 206!!! and others on this side with the balcon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madlein J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night at the end of a 10 night stay in Italy.

It has a good location by the sea in Ortygia Island and was fine for a night but I expect there are better places to stay!

We arrived after a 3 hour drive and no one was on reception, with a queue forming which was not a good start to the visit and not what I would expect in a four star hotel.

Our room was fine. We paid more for a balcony with a sea view. However, the balcony was quite small and had no chairs or anything on it so you couldn't really sit and read or have drink out there. The room was small although pleasant enough. It had a jacuzzi shower which didn't seem to work and the hairdryer kept cutting out.

The hotel had a spa which I thought might be worth a visit after a day's sight seeing but it was closed. We were told it would be open the next morning but it was so dark and gloomy that we didn't bother.

Breakfast was on the roof (they call it a roof garden but it is inside not outside) and wasn't great. Coffee was tepid.

There was one member of staff that was particularly cheerful and helpful (lady with short hair). She supplied us with maps and a good restaurant recommendation.

I'd say this is more of a budget base rather than the grand hotel that it purports to be. But it is reasonably good value for a night's stay in central location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie_CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#16 of 75 in Syracuse
679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#3 of 75 in Syracuse
617 reviews
0.4 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.3 mi away
Royal Maniace Hotel
Royal Maniace Hotel
#17 of 75 in Syracuse
464 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Caiammari
Hotel Caiammari
#7 of 75 in Syracuse
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Livingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Livingston

Address: Via Nizza 17 | Ortigia, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#19 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: $136 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Livingston 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Livingston , located on Ortigia’s Island which is the historic centre of Siracusa, It’s a four stars charme hotel with all luxury comforts. This ancient building is surrounded by the Ionian Sea whom guests can admire from the roof garden and enjoying the view from the balcony of the rooms. Hotel Livingston offers modern technologies such as the magnificent Daikin air conditioning accompanied by class and elegance of the furnishings as Jacuzzi bath tub with glass shower stall or box top level Jacuzzi in the marble bathrooms.The restaurant '' U'' Taliu, all in the roof garden on the sea, delights visitors with its Mediterranean cuisine and the flavors of Sicily.The “Galatea” spa is a sophisticated and comprehensive wellness centre where real professionals take care of you body and mind.The “Galatea’s centre has an aero-hydro-massage pool, swimming against the tide, neck massage, color therapy., emotional showers, finnish sauna, turkish bath, laconicum (sauna Latin). Use Spa facilities described above a is completely free for our guests. Paying , Only the massage and the beauty treatment made from highly qualified beauticians. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Livingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Livingston Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing