We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice well located hotel”
Review of Hotel Livingston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Livingston
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice well located hotel”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Good location, in a nice area of Siracusa, near to restaurants, bars, the Cathedral (Duomo)... We had a large and well equipped double room, with hydromassage, large bed, nice furniture... Good breakfast at the fourth floor, with a nice view. Free car parking (although on the street) available.

On the down side, poor wi-fi coverage in the room and place is a bit on the expensive side, given that it was low season and Siracusa is probably not a top tourist destination.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    115
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
20
195
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Comfortable room, we had a junior suite, with sea view. Bit on the expensive side. Easy access to all of Otigia. We didn't eat in the hotel as we were out and about with lots of good restaurants nearby. The breakfasts however were ok with a wide choice, though not much off the 'full english' list. Very friendly guy running the restaurant. Didn't use the Spa. They could offer a free transfer to the Airport bus stop.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4across
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Hotel Livingston is so small and cute. Sun welcomes in every day. The sea is close to the hotel and the impression is that the room flows into the sea. The room and bathroom is clean. Service at the reception is ok. You can not use the SPA at the evening because is closed. The breakfast is on the roof from there is a view of the old town and sea. Food is ok.

Room Tip: Take a room 206!!! and others on this side with the balcon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madlein J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night at the end of a 10 night stay in Italy.

It has a good location by the sea in Ortygia Island and was fine for a night but I expect there are better places to stay!

We arrived after a 3 hour drive and no one was on reception, with a queue forming which was not a good start to the visit and not what I would expect in a four star hotel.

Our room was fine. We paid more for a balcony with a sea view. However, the balcony was quite small and had no chairs or anything on it so you couldn't really sit and read or have drink out there. The room was small although pleasant enough. It had a jacuzzi shower which didn't seem to work and the hairdryer kept cutting out.

The hotel had a spa which I thought might be worth a visit after a day's sight seeing but it was closed. We were told it would be open the next morning but it was so dark and gloomy that we didn't bother.

Breakfast was on the roof (they call it a roof garden but it is inside not outside) and wasn't great. Coffee was tepid.

There was one member of staff that was particularly cheerful and helpful (lady with short hair). She supplied us with maps and a good restaurant recommendation.

I'd say this is more of a budget base rather than the grand hotel that it purports to be. But it is reasonably good value for a night's stay in central location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie_CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel is in a terrific location on Ortygia island with relatively good public parking facilities (bearing in mind that you are in a very old city). A bit hard to find, at least for our sat-nav which tried to bring us directly to the hotel through a maze of small streets, some with limited access or residents-only signs, rather than taking the most convenient route which is on the seaward side of the Island. Great staff, very friendly and helpful. Our room was small but entirely adequate- it had a small balcony looking out over the sea, without this it would have felt cramped. Unlike other reviewers we found breakfast to be entirely adequate, but not a gourmet experience. Great selection of restaurants close by- but avoid those facing the harbour, based on our own experience, where we got the only bad meal in a two-week trip around Sicily. Lots to see and do both on the island of Ortygia, and also across town- try the Archeological Park, well worth the 40 minute walk from the hotel.. Syracuse is an amazing place for 2 or 3 days stay.

Just a couple of negative, or neutral, comments- The "Roof Garden" restaurant is not on the roof, it's indoors. The safe in the room had a mind of its own, I was never quite sure if it would yield up its contents. Rooms a bit small so you would not be inclined to spend any time relaxing there, but not a big issue with so much to do and see around the hotel. No garden or other outdoor sitting area- again, much as one would expect in an old city, but could be a problem for a longer stay (we spent 3 nights here which was fine)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClassicPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed in the Livingston Hotel on 2 separate occasions in June. A great find in an ideal location overlooking the sea within easy walking distance of the p.zza Duomo. The staff in particular stand out in this hotel, friendly & so helpful. Breakfast in the rooftop restaurant with its fabulous views was v pleasant - fresh fruit & fresh orange juice as well as all the usual sweet pastries served in Sicily. This is a small hotel - rooms are tastefully decorated albeit small but this is not unusual in Sicily. I will definitely be back.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

All rooms have a full or partial sea view, our partial view consisted of craning head out past shutters and looking along street to a patch of blue sea. Mini bar not working when we arrived, despite much shrugging no timetable was ever given to fix...eventually changed in 48 hours... Meaning 48 hours of regular trips back and forwards to reception so they could get our milk from the hotel bar fridge.
Our door and room next door stuck regularly, porter demonstrated fix was a firm shoulder..a fire hazard?

All in all we were not that impressed and cannot recommend this hotel, nor Siracusa which was quite dirty and bedraggled...I have never seen so many filthy cars on the street in a first world country

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiMark69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.2 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#4 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Maniace Hotel
Royal Maniace Hotel
#15 of 75 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.4 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#13 of 75 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.1 mi away
Residence Hotel Alla Giudecca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Livingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Livingston

Property: Hotel Livingston
Address: Via Nizza 17 | Ortigia, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#16 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Livingston 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Livingston , located on Ortigia’s Island which is the historic centre of Siracusa, It’s a four stars charme hotel with all luxury comforts. This ancient building is surrounded by the Ionian Sea whom guests can admire from the roof garden and enjoying the view from the balcony of the rooms. Hotel Livingston offers modern technologies such as the magnificent Daikin air conditioning accompanied by class and elegance of the furnishings as Jacuzzi bath tub with glass shower stall or box top level Jacuzzi in the marble bathrooms.The restaurant '' U'' Taliu, all in the roof garden on the sea, delights visitors with its Mediterranean cuisine and the flavors of Sicily.The “Galatea” spa is a sophisticated and comprehensive wellness centre where real professionals take care of you body and mind.The “Galatea’s centre has an aero-hydro-massage pool, swimming against the tide, neck massage, color therapy., emotional showers, finnish sauna, turkish bath, laconicum (sauna Latin). Use Spa facilities described above a is completely free for our guests. Paying , Only the massage and the beauty treatment made from highly qualified beauticians. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Livingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Livingston Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing