We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, if a bit pricey”
Review of Hotel Livingston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Livingston
Ranked #23 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

A lovely hotel in a good location. Our room was disappointingly small, and the balcony was tiny but the views we're nice.

The bathroom had a strange geeky gadgetry shower which took an age to decipher- slightly out of place!

The huge highlight though was the breakfast. In a wonderful room with beautiful views and wonderful food. I stayed in 4 hotels in Sicily after this and none of them were anywhere near the quality, even the top range 5 star places.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chunners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 360 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2012

We just returned from a great little getaway down on the island of Ortigia, in Siracusa. Hotel Livingston is a small hotel with tremendous Italian ambiance, combining modern conveniences in an atmosphere of an old Italian home. The rooms are first rate, and kept immaculately clean. The views of the Med are spectacular. Furnishings and decor are very "old-world", while connectivity and facilities are very modern. The staff is absolutely first-rate--always friendly, and very helpful. Many thanks to Iolanda and Annamaria for answering our many questions, helping us with dinner reservations, and taxis. This is our fourth or fifth stay at Hotel Livingston, and we will be staying there again in the near future!!! Our highest recommendation!!

Room Tip: The Jr. Suites are a few € more, but offer a very nice sitting area, and wide ocean-view windows tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We chose a room without seaview and it was wonderful, just like the others. Breakfast room is gorgeous with a 360 view of the sea. Service was great and everything you expect from a 4 star hotel. The location is perfect, too - walking distance to all the beautiful sights on Ortigia island. Can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SicilyFan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed here for two nights after swapping and changing our requests a few times (bad weather in Sicily meant we had to be a bit flexible). The hotel was very accommodating and found us a room when we asked if it was ok to come a night earlier. The room was small (it's meant to be for a single person), with a French bed. We are used to this size though as we have one at home. There wasn't much room to move but we were thankful to have a room available. We were given the option the next day to change rooms to a bigger room (at 10 euros more) but we decided to stay in our cosy room to avoid repacking. The room had Sky TV so plenty of English channels and lots of sports which my partner loved! We also had free wifi in the room which was handy. The French bed was very comfortable but the room was a little cold for me. I couldn't work out the airconditioning and so rang the reception. The lady told me that she could control it from the front desk and she said she switched the aircon off but I didn't feel any different. The bathroom was a decent size but the jets of the shower did not work. So in the end it was just a plain shower, with a lot of buttons which were difficult to work out how to use. We used the sauna, spa facilities and that was nice. We had dinner upstairs on the 4th floor on our first night. But I would suggest going out to eat at another restaurant unless you are able to get the pre-paid dinner deal (we didn't opt for this at the beginning). There was a nice room with open windows on the 4th floor where my partner could have a cigarette. Great views and sounds of the sea, which our small room could not offer.
We gave our keys to the hotel staff to park our car as there was no space out the front, so this was nice (and free!). Breakfast was the best we had in Sicily (out of two). A lot of choice (pastries, cakes) and scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, freshly squeezed juice.
We had to print our boarding passes and the hotel staff were very helpful with this.
I can only imagine what the rooms with a view would look like, but we were happy to pay the 105 euros per night for our very basic, small room. The location was great too - away from the crowd, right on the sea, but in a very walkable distance from everything. We would stay here again if we came back to Sicily.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here. It is in a goff location on Ortygia Island (where you want to be). The rooms have no doubt been recently updated. The bed was confortable and the bathroom was large and modern. The room was quite small in that there was space for the large bed and not much else. Closet and storage space was very limited and may be fine for one person but not for two. We had a small balcony (not big enough for furniture) with a great sea view with the water so close that it felt as if you were on a cruise ship.

While the staff is generally helpful, there is one thing that you should be aware of. I never saw more than one staff person on duty at one time. The hotel seemed to be strangely void of staff. I never saw a bellman for luggage in the four days that we were there. While it did not seem to pose a real problem, this can be important if you need to speak with the front desk and there are others in front of you. The wait can be quite long when there is only one person working at the desk.

The breakfast buffet was quite extensive (especially if you like sweets in the morning).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We spent three nights at the hotel, two of which were on the top floor (3rd) with wonderful sea view and one on the basement (1st) which was a disappointment. The reason was the noise that started around 9:30 p.m and was coming seemingly from below. By 11 p.m. I went to the reception and complained and asked the receptionist to do something about the noise. She told me that she would check with her colleague and the noise stopped after 40 minutes. Alas, it started again at 6:45 a.m. and lasted till 8:15 a.m. Thankfully it was our last day at the hotel. Upon check out a different lady at the reception asked me if everything was OK and when told her about the noise she replied “may be the plumbing!” Apart from that, the hotel has a great location and the breakfast area has great views. But I would not call it a 4 star superior!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are better. Rooms on the first floor experience some traffic noise and roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophiaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Very well positioned on the island of Ortigia with beautiful sea views. We booked a large room (junior suite) with a large window overlooking the sea, which is only feet away. Due to the very high ceiling it was difficult to bring the room to the desired temperature, especially on account of the fact that you need to plug your key-card in to activate electricity therefore being HVAC switched off while away. The room was clean on arrival and it was properly cleaned every day. Décor is alright, not really tasteful but acceptable. Beds are very comfortable and the area was very quiet at night, we’ve slept very well. There’s little water pressure, it’s good to have a Jacuzzi but it takes over an hour to fill it up; it’s just enough for showering. It’s a common problem in Sicily but there are solutions. Breakfast eventually: enough choice and quantity but some items, including cakes, were of rather poor quality. And it’s really depressing seeing yoghurts branded by a big discount supermarket chain. Staff was friendly and helpful, we didn't try the restaurant; the restaurant/breakfast room is not cosy at all. There's certainly room for improvement but it's a good start.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waggadouggou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#17 of 75 in Syracuse
679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#3 of 75 in Syracuse
617 reviews
0.4 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.3 mi away
Royal Maniace Hotel
Royal Maniace Hotel
#16 of 75 in Syracuse
464 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Caiammari
Hotel Caiammari
#8 of 75 in Syracuse
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Livingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Livingston

Address: Via Nizza 17 | Ortigia, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#19 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: $136 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Livingston 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Livingston , located on Ortigia’s Island which is the historic centre of Siracusa, It’s a four stars charme hotel with all luxury comforts. This ancient building is surrounded by the Ionian Sea whom guests can admire from the roof garden and enjoying the view from the balcony of the rooms. Hotel Livingston offers modern technologies such as the magnificent Daikin air conditioning accompanied by class and elegance of the furnishings as Jacuzzi bath tub with glass shower stall or box top level Jacuzzi in the marble bathrooms.The restaurant '' U'' Taliu, all in the roof garden on the sea, delights visitors with its Mediterranean cuisine and the flavors of Sicily.The “Galatea” spa is a sophisticated and comprehensive wellness centre where real professionals take care of you body and mind.The “Galatea’s centre has an aero-hydro-massage pool, swimming against the tide, neck massage, color therapy., emotional showers, finnish sauna, turkish bath, laconicum (sauna Latin). Use Spa facilities described above a is completely free for our guests. Paying , Only the massage and the beauty treatment made from highly qualified beauticians. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Livingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Livingston Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing