We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Via della Giudecca - A Real Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B&B La Via della Giudecca
Ranked #4 of 221 Syracuse B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“La Via della Giudecca - A Real Gem”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We booked for 4 nights at this B&B in the middle of Ortigia which is a small island connected to Sicily by 3 road bridges (100 metres each approximately). We booked the executive double room which included breakfast and free internet access. The term 'double room' is a bit misleading; it consisted of a large lounge, a large double bedroom with 2 French balconies (one overlooking the church square), and a large en-suite. At €90 euros per night (via Booking.com) it was an absolute bargain.

The rooms were kept spotlessly clean each day. The décor was modern, the fridge was quite large, and the Air Conditioning kept it cool. There is no lift in the accommodation and our room was on the 2nd floor (of 3 floors). Initially, there was some huffing and puffing getting up the stairs, but we must have got fitter during our stay as the stairs did not bother us at the end.

It can and did rain a couple of times. We anticipated this and took a hooded raincoat with us, but need not have bothered as large umbrellas were available for use just by the exit door. The location was really good right in the middle of Ortigia which is a labyrinth of streets, alleyways and piazzas which are riddled with restaurants, bars, cafes and shops. The B&B provides a street map which is very useful the first time you go walkabout but is not really necessary after that - the island can be circumnavigated on foot at a leisurely pace in about an hour, so if you walk in one direction long enough you will hit the coast where some great views are to be had. I will talk more of Ortigia in a later review.

Breakfast at the B&B is a continental buffet but what a selection of pastries, croissants, cheeses etc. They have a menu board in the restaurant with a selection of prepared cheeses - which means, for example, that you can get a dish of heated cheeses with herbs; these were really tasty.

The reception area is quite large offering 2 computers for free online access, comfortable seating area and some reading material. The receptionist spoke good English and was very helpful in translating for me some words and phrases I wanted to use in local bars and restaurants.

We arrived in Syracuse by bus (€8.20 euros per person from Catania bus station). From the Syracuse bus station we took a taxi costing €10 euros to our accommodation. It is walkable but unless you have been there before you would never find it, and carrying or pulling luggage over that distance is not recommended. For our departure, reception was very helpful ordering a Taxi to pick us up.

The next time I go to Syracuse, this is where I am going to stay and I would recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: Book the Executive Room but if you are not very fit then get one on the lowest floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    133
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
94
406
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We can only repeat the good comments made about this B&B and the excellent staff (especially Roberta). We had a wonderful week in Syracuse and the hotel was one of the best parts. The room we had was more an apartment than a hotel room with a full size fridge and hob if you wanted it. The aircon worked well and the Wi-Fi was good as the room had its own hub. I can't think of anything that would have made it better apart from parking which was a bit difficult. But then that would apply anywhere in central Ortigia. It was certainly worth it for the location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
673 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

There are quite a few rooms in this B&B and I can't attest to the others, but Room 11 is wonderful. It's about 60 steps to it, but worth it. There is a kitchen, a living room, bedroom, bathroom (of course), and two balconies. The balcony off the living room offers a view of the the water across the roof tops of Ortiga. A very narrow ladder/set of steps takes you up to another balcony with an even larger view of the water. We loved to open all the windows and the door leading to the balcony. After our first night, we learned to close the windows and door at night and use the A/C because of mosquitos that arrive during the night. Roberta was a wonderful hostess. We were traveling throughout Sicily and after the first couple of stops learned to leave our luggage in the car while we looked for the often elusive B&B's in which we were staying. When we arrived at La Via della Giudecca, our car was parked a fair distance away. Roberta - bless her heart - drove us to our car so we could get our luggage then drove us back to the B&B. The breakfast was good; typical of Italian breakfasts - meat, cheese, breads, yogurt, pastries. The location of the B&B is good, it is close to many shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Room 11 or 13 - a lot of steps but balconies with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hola4876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This B&B is simply terrific. In a great location in Ortigia, a short walk to the seafront and close to the main square, it is comfortable and stylish - and has THE BEST breakfasts! The staff are kind and helpful, the wifi connection very strong, and our room - actually more of a one-bed apartment on the top floor - was comfortable, spacious and very clean. There was also a large balcony with great views over the rooftops towards the ocean. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Number 13 on the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PB60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

As I was checking in I noticed the Tripadvisor 5 star plaque in a very prominent place. This was a Sunday and the next morning the builders started at 7.30am right out side the bathroom window.
I mentioned that they must have known about the builders and failed to mention it.They said they would change me to another room. 5 star I thought as I walked into breakfast not a chance. That was before I had a cup of coffee.Coffee was the best I have ever tasted the breakfast was fantastic and the staff were superb.The room was changed and peace was restored, so was the 5star rating……..Brilliant

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank julianshearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stylish, calm, well located, terrific breakfasts that make the most of local produce, but best of all is thé charm and sensitivity of thé staff who quietly go out of their way to be helpful, thoughtful and attentive. This was my third stay in Ortigia and this accommodation far surpassed others I've visited.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misstic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at this B and B on our honeymoon and had a great time. We stayed in the room at the top, which is enormous and has a little kitchen, a fridge and a roof terrace! We loved staying here, and even hung out a bit in the room as it was so nice. The people who run it were very nice and helpful, and they recommended some great restaurants, and helped us find free parking very nearby. The breakfast is good and the bed was comfy. Another thing which made our lives much easier was that they have computers you can use downstairs and they also give you the wifi password, which unlike in other hotels, doesn't expire, so if you are staying a few days you just have to enter it once. The only thing we thought was that the place has a lot of stairs but no lift - this was fine for us, but probably they should advertise this as I think it could really be a problem for others potentially. Overall, we really rate this hotel, and would go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.2 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.3 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
0.1 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#4 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Hotel Alla Giudecca
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#13 of 75 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grande  Albergo Alfeo
Grande Albergo Alfeo
#9 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B La Via della Giudecca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B La Via della Giudecca

Property: B&B La Via della Giudecca
Address: Vicolo III Alla Giudecca 4 | Piazza San Filippo, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 221 B&Bs / Inns in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B La Via della Giudecca 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B La Via della Giudecca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B La Via Della Giudecca Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing