We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Minareto
Nearby Hotels
Antico Hotel Roma 1880(Syracuse)
$208
$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$330
$322
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$116
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$166
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$266
$257
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$334
$326
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$170
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,343)
Filter reviews
1,343 results
Traveler rating
815
293
138
64
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
815
293
138
64
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssandy beachhot selectionrocky cliffpool arearesort hotelsmall bungalowssummer breakcrystal clear watercourtesy bussea viewgreat resortpoolside restaurantsun chairscost eurosout of seasonshuttle servicemount etna
Filter
Updating list...
191 - 196 of 1,343 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2014

The hotel has a fantastic location, providing both a sandy bay and terraces down towards the sea, as well as a large pool area and a couple of jacuzzis overlooking the sea. Perfect location for lazy days by the sea and exploring Syracuse and surrounding area (if you have rented a car). The hotel is situated 10 km from the city of Syracuse and the old city Ortigia. The hotel does however provide a free shuttle bus service (for 7 persons) four times a day, -if you want to explore Ortigia. The last bus at 18:30 is perfect for eating dinner out, but you'll need to take a taxi back that will cost you approximately € 25.

The resort and rooms are well kept and clean, but the architecture itself is neither here nor there and didn't really appeal to me. The common areas like the reception, the bars and the Nesos restaurant are very tacky. Be sure to get a room with a sea view, or you might end up in the parking lot.

The hotel claims that they have WiFi coverage in the common areas including the pool, but it is a half truth since there only are a few patches with WiFi. I sincerely hope the hotel invests in a WiFi upgrade also including complete coverage of the pool area, the rooms and the beach. It is not a huge investment and the new generation of guest will require it!! For visitors wanting to enable WiFi in the room, just bring a small router like ASUS WL-330N3G and plug it into your wired Internet connection in your hotel room.

The most disappointing thing about this hotel is the food and restaurants. It is nothing more than average and far too expensive for what you get. We found ourselves eating in Ortigia most days (E.g. Ristorante Retroscena, Sicilia in Tavola..). The Italian/Sicilian kitchen has so much to offer (!), so the hotel restaurants need to reboot their concept and start over from scratch. If you want a genuine pizza (with a sea view) in walking distance, try La Fornace, 10-15 minutes walk from the hotel. It is packed with locals.

To sum up the hotel is situated in a beautiful location. The architecture and definitively the dining experience does however not do it justice. If you take the hotel for what it is, you'll have a great stay. We enjoyed ourselves.

Room Tip: It is absolutely worth paying a few extra Euros to get a room with sea view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Nokk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minareto2010, Direttore at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2015

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank You for choosing Grand Hotel Minareto for Your vacation and for writing such a positive feedback.
It makes us happy You appreciated so much our free shuttle service, the uniqueness of the location, the beauty of the private sandy beach and all the other benefits.

As regards the criticalities You wrote about, we are glad to inform You that we are working to extend the Wi-Fi signal over the entire surface of the resort; also, starting from the next season, we will introduce in our menu a section of typical sicilian courses, extending our offer.

Hoping we could host You again as our kind Guest, just to experience the great news and the improvements of the next season, we send

Best Regards
Antonio La Spina – Senior Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Excelent stay in Grand Hotel Minareto for my Dad birthday party, Mrs. Valentina Consiglio and her Staff was very profesional in the group and Party Organization.
Rooms very good, AA for Real, good food and Excelent resort Facilities and view of beautiful Ortigia from the sea.
I will return for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SALVADOR L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minareto2010, Direttore at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Dear Guests,

first of all, we would like to thank You for choosing Grand Hotel Minareto as the location for Your special occasion: we will remember with great emotion the eyes of the birthday boy once discovered the stunning surprise organized for him.
Our job is also to make sure that the wishes of our Guests come true.
Therefore, we would like to thank once more for Your wonderful comment and we hope You with Your family and friends will join us again for furture celebrations.

Best Regards
Antonio La Spina - Senior Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We were advised to stay here by friends. When we arrived, immediately we thought we were mistaken. It looked like a caricature of a hotel designed for a TV mafia movie. Everything was tacky, reception was horrible, rooms unbelievably ugly. Food inedible. Stay anywhere else.

Stayed: July 2014
6  Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minareto2010, Direttore at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2015

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank You for choosing Grand Hotel Minareto and for writing this feedback on TripAdvisor.

We regreat very much that the overall judgment is absolutely negative but, unfortunately, based on what You wrote, we don’t have any concrete facts to be answered or unpleasant situations to apologize.
Honestly, it seems that the main aim of Your comment is to wittingly denigrate the hotel rather than give useful advices or remarks to readers and hoteliers.

In Your comment it is not indicated what You ate and why this experience was not positive at all; it is not indicated the duration of the stay, the period and the typology of the room. Useful remarks on the staff, the cleanliness or the location, are totally missing.

What is most striking is the debut of Your comment: it shows a biased attitude towards the structure and a total closed-mindedness. We agree that our personal tastes are indisputable but judging the structure negatively just because You don’t like the style, not supporting Your comment with evidence, is a symptom of little intelligence and also, it is an attitude that is ill-suited to a traveler.

I decided to reply to Your comment just to let everyone understand that TripAdvisor is really useful only when users respect the rules and behave properly.

I still hope that in the future You will give us the opportunity to make You change Your mind.

Best Regards
Antonio La Spina – Senior Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have stayed at many hotels and I don't know how this hotel can be 5 star deluxe. It certainly wasn't. The food was absolutely DISGUSTING! The lunches were pre made and you choose from a canteen style like in an airport. The breakfast and dinner was also in-edible. The back of house parts of the hotel were very exposed and open when you were walking around. Customer service was ok. Beach towels very old and no baths in the bathrooms which for a 5 star deluxe hotel I don't think acceptable. The only thing going for this hotel is the beautiful views...we will never stay here ever again.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank NICOLA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minareto2010, Direttore at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

I regret that You didn’t keep a good memory of Your stay at Grand Hotel Minareto, pushing You to leave a comment with such a low score.
I am glad You appreciated the location and the breathtaking views, as well as skills & kindness of the staff; but, honestly, in Your feedback there are too few details to figure out and analyze what did not go as You expected.

As regards the towels, at the beginning of the past season we replaced the whole linen for the rooms and for the beach, choosing a fine Italian sponge.
It could have happened that You have received a towel a little less new, due to an oversight of the laundry service; but this was an exceptional circumstance which does not characterize the hotel.
Concerning the Food & Beverage service, because of the few details You wrote, it is not possible for us to reply to Your complaint, since Your feedback is too generalist.
However, we could certainly vouch for the quality of our products and for the abundance and variety of the breakfast service.
Probably, Your tastes have not found correspondence with what we usually offer. When this happens, we usually kindly ask to our guests to point this out to the Front-Desk, in order to satisfy all the special requests of our guests.

At the end of my reply, I regret once again for Your bad feelings about Your stay and I hope that You could give us another chance to show You that the impressions You had were excessive.

Best Regards
Antonio La Spina – Senior Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We spent 5 days at the Minareto and were happy with the resort. It is a nice and spacious environment, and the beach, while small, is adequate and fun for snorkelling. We didn't eat at the restaurant as are generally not keen on hotel restaurants and there are good choices in Ortigia and locally. Actually the food for breakfast was a bit disappointing. The bread choice for toast was a bit limited - boring for 5 days - and the cooked food sat there for a while. Asking for fresh egg dishes wasn't successful, we were told if would take ages. Nice fruit salad so not too much problem.
The staff were nearly all great. The manager was very courteous and found us another room when ours was too close to the pool and we were happy with the exchange. I say 'nearly all' - spoiled by one officious woman who accosted me taking a croissant after breakfast to my daughter who was a bit under the weather in bed. Not a 5 star attitude.
My only other complaint would be the very limited WIFI - it is the 21st century!!!! Not even available by the pool and very unreliable even in Reception. And the music in the breakfast room... Horrible... Why have it. Not for the guests! Otherwise, I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S0lway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minareto2010, Direttore at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2015

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank You for choosing Grand Hotel Minareto, for writing this useful feedback, for the score You gave us and for recommending our hotel.

It is a source of pride for us that You appreciated the kindness of the staff, the common areas and the gardens but, at the same time, we regret to know You didn’t taste the culinary arts of our restaurant.

I am really sorry to have disregarded Your expectations about the breakfast service, since I consider it the most important service a 5* Hotel should offer to their guests.
Regarding this, I would like to inform You that for the next season we are increasing the breakfast buffet with some sicilian specialities, which for sure You will appreciate.

As concern the Wi-Fi, we are working in order that the network signal could be available for free in all the common areas and rooms of the resort. The intermittent presence or the total absence of the signal must be explained not as a structural deficiency whereby the management is responsible but as an infrastructural problem linked to the major network operators.
Starting from the next season, we will install a Wi-Fi technology working with satellites.

Wishing You the best and hoping You will come again as our kind Guest, we send

Best Regards
Antonio La Spina – Senior Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews