We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Minareto
Ranked #9 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Me and my husband came with another couple to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversaries. We were not disappointed. We loved the beach and sitting on our balcony watching the sunsets. The breakfast buffet was great and the two meals we had at the resort were wonderful,

Top notch service and everyone was more than happy to help with any request we had.

Don't miss going up the tower by the pool to enjoy the view.

Our stay was exactly what we were wanting and we will always remember our stay here, an amazing anniversay trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDub10-20-30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minareto2010, Manager at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You very much for Your kind comment and for sharing Your experience at Grand Hotel Minareto with all the friends of Tripadvisor.

We are glad that You enjoyed Your stay at our Resort, with the amazing view over the sea from our Terrace and the room balconies, with the rich buffet breakfast served at the restaurant and thanks to the courtesy of all our staff. Positive comments like Yours are powerful means to motivate the staff to do better and provide always better services for all the guests.

We really hope to welcome You again at Grand Hotel Minareto for future occasions,

Best Regards

The Manager - Dr. Antonio La Spina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    257
    112
    54
    29
See reviews for
213
626
15
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Dear traveller if you ever been in a real 5 stars hotel or in a real 4 stars superior hotel in your life avoid this place like hell! As a traveller stated about this hotel here some time ago Minareto might try first to be a good 3 stars hotel before fooling travellers around saying they are a 5 stars resort hotel.
At their site clicking at restaurants you are going to be fooled as they show there 5 "restaurants". The only real restaurant at the time we were there was Nesos Restaurant. It is also the ugliest and saddest decorated restaurant I've ever seen! Plastic flowers, ficus trees, heavy clothing beige draped curtains covering the windows all of those not suited for a 5 stars hotel at the beach!
The taste of the food and presentation of the dishes at lunch and dinner were quite ordinary not suited for a 5 stars hotel restaurant either.
Air conditioning at room did not work well it looked like the hotel were saving money turning off air conditioning of the rooms.Too much mosquitos so we could not open the door to the balcony we had to ask help at concierge.
The hotel is far from Syracuse and they do not have taxi service at their door. Its awfully strange for a 5 stars hotel. If one might need a medicine and does not have a car one needs to wait from 20 to 30 minutes for a taxi to arrive at the hotel plus from 20 to 30 minutes to go to Syracuse and more 20 to 30 minutes to get back at the hotel.
Booking 8 days at this hotel almost ruined our vacations. After 2 nights at Minareto we ran away from there as fast as possible as soon as we found room in an enchanting hotel in Syracure-Ortigia.

Being fair: they have a beautiful view of Ortigia. They have 2 very nice restaurant attendants: Gabrielle and a guy from Sri Lanka. Other good point: after we left the hotel the manager sent a hand written letter and a box of sweets excusing themselves for all the inconveniences we had while staying at Minareto and saying they hope we might give them another chance in the future. We hope they can get it over with!

Room Tip: If you insist going there get a room with balcony at cliff edge overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ettorevianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We spent 2 weeks at this excellent hotel.The view of Ortigia from our sea facing room was amazing. The service was without fault from the day we arrived until the morning we left. We found that the staff were very friendly ,supportive and motivated to provide the best service available. The dining room is welcoming and spacious . The buffet at breakfast is fresh and provides a good variety of food and cold drinks. The hotel is in a quiet location approx 9km from Seracuse. We did not have a car,however the hotel provides a courtesy bus which goes to and from Ortigia twice daily. We spent 2 weeks exploring,and visiting many places of interest in Ortigia and Seracuse. We also explored the area local to the hotel and ate at local restaurants.We had a wonderful and memorable holiday.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minareto2010, Manager at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You very much for Your kind comment and for the beautiful words through which You described Grand Hotel Minareto.

We are really glad that You enjoyed the amazing view of Ortigia from our rocky beach and terrace and the quality of the food offered during breakfast.
We are also glad that the courtesy of the staff contributed to make Your stay as much pleasant as possible. This is something which we really care about.
We hope to have You again as special guest in the future in order to appreciate also the original dished offered for lunch and dinner at our restaurant.

Looking forward to welcoming You as special guest again in the future,

Best Regards

The Manager - Dr. Antonio La Spina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moira
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We been staying in April at Minareto hotel.
We totally enjoyed and instead of staying for one night, we decided to have luxury retreat for one more night.
Our room was fabulous, supper clean, stylish and the view to Ortigia island was fabulous.
Receptionists and manager were very friendly and customer focused.
The breakfast was the best in whole Sicily, we been going to different hotels for whole week.
The restaurant menu was exclusive and the food was very good. We really appreciate chef hard work and creativity, especially desert with aubergine and ricotta.
we want to say big thank you.

Room Tip: Check for the view first, but mostly all rooms have excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minareto2010, Manager at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You very much for You kind comment that You shared with the entire community of Tripadvisor.
We are glad that Your stay at Grand Hotel Minareto left You a good memory and You enjoyed the Buffet breakfast and the other restaurant services during Your stay, as well as the location and the room comforts.
The courtesy and the customer attention of our staff is something really important for us and we are glad that You noticed and appreciated it. Positive comments like Yours always give us the strength to do better and to offer always better services.

We really hope to welcoming You as special guest in the future.

Best Regards

The Manager - Dr. Antonio La Spina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

The views from this hotel were breathtaking. The service was excellent, breakfast delicious, rooms clean, property quiet. The path to the beach was quite steep so may be difficult for some. The only complaint was that you could hear (very loudly) the toilets flushing in the rooms next to you, which happened to be next to my head when sleeping.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayme718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We spent 4 days @ the Resort Grand Hotel Minareto. Even if we arrived early in the morning, we got immediately the room, # 271, which face the bay of Siracusa. The view is breathtaking, with the Etna visibly clear on the ground. The room was clean and with all the comforts, first quality cosmetic products, fridge fully served, On the north-side there is the access to the sea trough the rocks, on the south-side there is the private beach, with sand and cristallclear. Both sides are furnished with sunbeds. The package was including breakfast, served from 7:30 AM until 10:30 AM, which was just excellent, with a big variety of fresh pastries, fresh pressed orange juice and fresh fruit, a big choice of cheese including a fantastic fresh Ricotta-Cheese, cappuccino, plus eggs, fresh bread and many others... We also spent 2 dinner @ the Hotel-Restaurant, quality very good, quantity could be a littlle more, service top. All people, @ the lobby or @ the restaurant as well as on the beach extremely friendly and attentive. The Hotel organize a free shuttle-service to the city center of Siracusa-Ortigia, is also possibile to rent a Bike. Because of its location I recommend to rent a car to move around the area without problems. In few words: our vacation was just great. I woulnd not have any problem to give 5 stars, if only I can make I little remark is the missing wireless Internet Connection in the room. Indeed, I got a cable for my Laptop, but unfortunately did not work out because my computer doesnt support that kind of cable. Since I use the computer a lot for work, I had to go to the lobby in order to use it. But, as said, everything else was just beautiful. Surly we will come backj!

Room Tip: Room 271 and 273 directly face the breathtaking view of the sea and Siracusa-Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank italiano66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Sulpice, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and stayed two days in the Grand Hotel Minareto and it was memorable: the staff is friendly, the rooms spacious, the view breathtaking and the beach beautiful. We even ventured to swim in the very fresh sea and it was delightful.

Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loulou22091977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minareto2010, Manager at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You very much for the nice words You wrote about Grand Hotel Minareto.
We are really glad that You chose our Resort for Your spring holidays and You enjoyed the exclusive location of the Resort, completely surrounded by the sea, and the comfort guaranteed in our rooms.
We are also happy that the courtesy of the staff was appreciated and that You keep a good memory of Grand Hotel Minareto.
We really hope to welcoming You again in the future, so that You could also appreciate the original dishes and the Sicilian tastes of our restaurant.

Best Regards

The Manager - Dr. Antonio La Spina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Syracuse
4.2 mi away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 75 in Syracuse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPa
1.5 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
97.6 mi away
Hotel Le Calette
Hotel Le Calette
#2 of 35 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
1.0 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
56.2 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Minareto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Minareto

Property: Grand Hotel Minareto
Address: Via del Faro Massolivieri 26A, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Syracuse
#6 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#9 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#9 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Minareto 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Minareto was born on a promontory which draws from the poetry of its natural beauty and the power of the charismatic history of the pride stand before the island of Ortigia, a masterpiece of art and history, heritage of UNESCO.has three different private access to the sea that allow our guests to enjoy of softy golden sand, that recalls classical caribbean little islands, or the rocky sea beds of the cliff, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Minareto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Minareto Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing