We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small hotel with view of Ionian Sea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Domus Mariae Benessere
Ranked #25 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My partner and I stayed in this charming hotel for four nights in glorious Siracusa. Our room was large, furnished in an attractive upscale fashion and had a view of the Ionian Sea. The hotel is in a building which houses a group of sisters and there is a private access to a neighboring church. I enjoyed the free internet access and found the staff of the hotel and the nuns to be warm and helpful with my routine questions. My only minor criticism is the lack of some amenities in the room (glass glasses, facial tissues, armchair) and I thought the breakfast was rather skimpy considering the price of the room. The buffet included a large selection of delicious breads and cakes, but offered a very small selection of fresh fruit, cheese and meats.

Room Tip: If you can afford to splurge, select one of the room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 397 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic place to stay! We stayed here for our wedding in ortigia. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the breakfast is delicious. The hotel is close to everything also offers a few car spaces if needed. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaZ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We spent three nights here as part of a tour of Sicily. It was a very pleasant stay. The 'unusual' bit in the heading is the fact that the hotel belongs to Ursuline nuns, who float around; a retired bishop takes all his meals in the hotel and has his own table. Don't let this put you off: it made the stay for is to be in this environment. The service is excellent, the two receptionists (completely different personalities, but both with excellent English) were very helpful. We got a spa treatment thrown in at their extensive facility. We only ate in the restaurant on one evening and enjoyed the Sicilian dishes on offer, washed down by a delicious local wine. The hotel is on the seafront, just 5 minutes from the centre of Ortygia (the old town). Our room had a sea view. It was quite compact. Overall the hotel is peaceful, different in a nice way, and easy to recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheHistoryProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed here for 4 nights recently and found the Domus Mariae Benessere a tranquil and relaxing experience. I had a single sea view room, number 201, which was a decent size as was the en suite. The bed was hard which suited me perfectly but may not be to everyone's liking. As the original building has been very professionally converted and extended the rooms retain the thickness of the old walls and this,coupled with excellent double glazing, made for a extremely quiet stay. I was completely unaware of any traffic noise from the road directly in front of the hotel. The air conditioning is fully adjustable within the room. I found all the staff very efficient and friendly, particularly Samantha in reception and Anna Maria in the restaurant and bar. I would strongly recommend anyone thinking of visiting Syracuse to consider Ortigia as a base as it is the older and much more interesting part of the city while within walking distance to Syracuse proper. The free bus, number 20, runs from the central bus terminal across from the train station and takes you around Ortigia with a stop directly opposite the hotel. The bus terminal is a filthy place which has a couple of years accumulation of rubbish and is a very bad introduction to the city.
The majority of tourists in Syracuse at the time of my visit were Italian and very few people in shops or transport spoke English , (and why should they) so the basics of the language are essential and much appreciated locally when used. I found that tips were also very much appreciated and not expected as in other European cities.Domus Mariae Benessere is managed ( and very well managed) by an order of nuns, the Ursuline Order, and this is reflected in a conservative and reserved ambience generally so I would caution that anyone seeking a vibrant and lively place to stay should look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aulddub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

I am sorry it has taken me so long to post here, but I wanted to set up a web site of our trip. I did a travelogue as we went and wanted to post lots of pictures. You can find our trip under Italy at:

www.galatitravel.com

You will find pictures and info on the web site under:

Italy

Sicily

Day 2-4

Thank for helping make it a wonderful trip! Now we wish we could live in Sicily!!

Oklahoma Cyndi

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OklahomaCyndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2010

A very nice hotel with a really good location in the old town with the sea almost directly in front. Things that we really liked: the room we had was spacious, clean, the bathroom only had a shower but it was fantastic. Modern with all the comforts. The hotel also had a very nice terrace on the roof facing the sea. The hotel staff was also very nice and helpful but it was difficult to communicate without knowing Italian. Things that were a bit negative: If you have a car, parking is a public lot across the hotel which was always packed although we did always manage to find a spot, for a 4 star the breakfast was very average and the coffee was from a self service machine that just did not provide the Italian coffee that is so famous, and price is a bit high for Sicily. One incident - we went up at night to the terrace to look at the sea. There were two doors back to back and a sign on the door that said please make sure the door is closed at all times. We opened both doors and followed the directions of the sign which meant we closed the doors promptly locking ourselves out of the hotel on the terrace. We were then stuck for 20 minutes as there was no way to contact reception but we used our phones to look up the phone number of the hotel and call reception. A nun then came up and let us in. It is funny now but at the time not as fun. One last thing, the hotel is staffed by normal hotel staff and the nuns living there. Overall we did like our stay here and do recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank appl_pap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Stayed 3 nights in a single room which was smallish but had everything I needed, and a small window overlooking the sea (and a small parking lot, one of the few on Ortygia). Nice bathroom. Accommodating staff with pretty good English. This converted convent is still frequented by nuns in gray. I would return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmmBee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0 mi away
Domus Mariae
Domus Mariae
#21 of 75 in Syracuse
335 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grande  Albergo Alfeo
Grande Albergo Alfeo
#11 of 75 in Syracuse
712 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#15 of 75 in Syracuse
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Maniace Hotel
Royal Maniace Hotel
#14 of 75 in Syracuse
470 reviews
1.4 mi away
UNA Hotel One
UNA Hotel One
#12 of 75 in Syracuse
1,072 reviews
0 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Mariae Benessere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Mariae Benessere

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 89, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Syracuse
#23 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: $72 - $505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Domus Mariae Benessere 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the magnificent Interlandi Palace built in 1300, a unique place to relax body and mind. 21 rooms, divided into single, double and triple rooms and junior suites, all with private bathroom, air conditioned and equipped with direct dial telephone, satellite TV, minibar, safe and hairdryer. In our spa you can have beauty and wellness treatments, with specific routes for every need. Emotional shower with aromatherapy and color therapy, meditation cave steam, Kneipp, pool, spa, beauty center, fully equipped gym. Our staff is on hand to answer any queries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Domus Mariae Benessere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Mariae Benessere Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing