We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value in Ortigia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Maniace Hotel
Ranked #15 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Royal, New Jersey
Level Contributor
159 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great location and value in Ortigia”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel was simple but very nice and decent size for a european hotel. Very clean comfortable rooms at a reasonable price. My view of the sea was spectacular. The location was good being close to many restaurants but actually ortigia is so small you could easily walk to anywhere on the peninsula from anywhere else on the peninsula. Hotel had a eurpean feel to add to the experience. Not like being in a chain hotel that feels the same regardless of what country you are in.

Room Tip: pick a front facing room for spectacular views but if you want a quieter room ask for a room that do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjlynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    172
    45
    16
    4
See reviews for
47
243
22
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed for fifteen nights at the Royal Maniace Hotel during mid-October which seems to be a lot longer than the average stay and obviously gives time for niggles to show. But overall they didn't and we would definitely recommend this hotel to others. We were clearly lucky in the timing of our stay - the weather was ideal and not too hot. We were able to spend time on the loungers on the balcony almost every aftenoon and the sea view was wonderful. Our holiday was split between sightseeing and relaxing and we spent most afternoons and early evenings in the hotel ( maybe 2 till 8 ) so obviously the quality of amenities mattered a great deal and for this reason we had booked a deluxe room which meant a separate sitting room and bedroom, and a balcony with sea view. Breakfast suited us well though i would have liked more choice of cereals, but the coffee was freshly made and excellent and the staff were very welcoming and helpful in replacing anything which was running out.
The room staff were also friendly and helpful. Fresh towels every day. Acceptably good level of cleaning ( and I am very fussy); my only disappointment was not to have fresh bedding at least evey other day - I think we had new sheets every three or sometimes four days, which is not enough. We had pots of tea served in the garden several afternoons for a minimal charge.
We has difficulty negotiating the one way system when finding the hotel on our first evening but were helped by hotel staff with parking and had no problems thereafter. The location in Ortigia is excellent. The Castello Maniace is a couple of minutes walk away and well worth a visit ( especially if you are over 65 from an EU country and so qualify for free entry, as with museums and many other places of interest). We were happy to walk to all the places we wanted to visit in Siracusa - the Parco arcaeologico and the Museo Paolo Orsi for example, but there is a free bus service that runs ( somewhat intermittently) all round Ortigia. There is a wealth of choice for good restaurants to eat in the locality ( we particularly liked Estia, on the sea front a 3 or 4 minute walk away from the hotel).

Room Tip: We did not see any other rooms but for such a long stay we definitely benefitted from having a front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janfarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
245 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

I was born in Ortigia but I live in Milan. Although I have an apartment in Ortigia, when I come to Siracusa for a very short stay I prefer to accommodate in another charming hotel along the lungomare that I also reviewed for Trip Advisor. At this time in June 2012 I believe because of the Rappresentazioni Classiche season, that hotel was fully booked and they suggested / recommended to go to Royal Maniace. Overall great location and view on the Ionio sea. I do nt like the air conditioning and preferred to leave the huge wood frame window open to fresh marine air of the night. The garden of the hotel shared with ancient church of San Martino is unique, pleasant and quiet pace to spend your logistic time. Good very good place to stay in Ortigia.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SCaboto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We've just got back from 7 days at the Royal Maniace Hotel, Ortygia. As other reviewers have commented, the best thing about this hotel is the fantastic location in the heart of Ortygia and right on the sea-front. We had one of the front-facing rooms recommended by other reviewers, and were glad that we did. The other good point was the lady receptionist who was on duty for most of our stay, who was very friendly and helpful, particularly with her advice on parking.

However, apart from the two points mentioned above, we were very disappointed with a hotel that was advertised as 4 star and cost us 122 Euros per night. We did not feel that the standards of facilities and cleanliness were what we would normally expect of a 4 star hotel. Breakfast was poor and very repetitive. The only cereals on offer most days were Coco Pops and Frosties, and on 2 of our 7 days, the fresh fruit salad was replaced by tinned stuff that I have not eaten since the 1970s! Although the bedlinen and towels appeared to be clean, they were grey and well past their best, and the towels were hard and scratchy. Facilities were very limited, with only Italian-speaking TV channels, which I found surprising, given the large number of international guests in the hotel.

During our visit, the hotel switched from a key system to a card system for room entry. No-one told us about this change, and the first we knew of it was when we returned to the hotel one afternoon, to find our room-door had been left ajar (presumably by workmen), and the lights and air-con did not work! We eventaully deduced that the system had been changed, and went to reception to ask for a card-key. A somewhat farcical chain of events then followed, that involved two workmen visting our room a total of 3 times to programme 2 card-keys for us.

This was such a shame, as the building itself is beautiful and has great potential as a top hotel, if only the management were a little better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow, scotland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Nice modern hotel-get the impression it's used for business conferences a lot since the turnover of guests was high. The rooms were a good size and the front facing ones had a wonderful sea view. The bed was hugh and very comfy. We had no problems with the air-con (like some reviewers) and it was just as well as the weather was very hot and humid. The breakfasts were very good with lovely staff (Alessia especially was very pleasant) and introduced us to almond milk and ricotta cake (Yum) We used Ortygia as a base for visiting towns in the area, Noto, Ragusa and Modica which are fabulous. Public transport was not the greatest though and the hotel is quite far from the railway station and bus station (such as it is!!!) Ortygia itself is lovely for walking about and eating!!

Room Tip: Front facing rooms best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christinehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We spent eight nights the the Royal Maniace Hotel and used Syracuse as a base to explore the highlights of east and south east Sicily.
We had an excellent suite, room 111, which had its own private balcony overlooking the sea. Perfect to enjoy a nice glass of wine after a hard days sightseeing. The room had its own sitting area which made the bedroom and bathroom a little small and a bit claustrophobic but the other advantages of the room more than made up for this.
The buffet breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choice and a cheerful welcoming staff.
Parking was almost always possible close to the hotel and when it was difficult the staff always assisted and moved the car for you once a more suitable space became available.
The hotel had suffered a huge lightening strike just prior to our arrival which caused havoc with some of the electrics and TV but everything gradually got back to normal including the free wifi available in the room.
A perfect location for restaurants and attractions in Cefalu, all within easy walking distance and a good base for other parts of Sicily.
All in all a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: If possible try to get a room overlooking the sea with an outside sitting area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treworder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

LOCATION: 25/25 [On Lungomare Ortigia, with excellent views across the bay and sea]

ROOM: 5/25 [The air conditioning had broken down. Disaster in 30 degree heat. Had to sleep with a wet towel on my face. Literally. Rooms were decent size but looked like they were last decorated sometime in the 1980s. The first room we were offered was dirty (see video at link below)]

BREAKFAST: 1/10 [Very, Very, mediocre - a limited and poor quality spread of food and drinks. Not 4*)]

STAFF: 2/10 [Did not cope with the air con and wifi outage across the hotel. This had been ongoing for 5 days before we arrived and continued during our stay.]

AMENITIES: 3/10 [Limited amenities. They have a 'garden' out the back but it wasn't terribly appealing.]

VALUE: 5 /20 [£90]

OVERALL: 41/100 = Excellent location ruined by management. Do not stay here.

If you decide to stay here, you MUST insist on a room with a sea view. The sea view is the only thing the hotel has going for it under current management. It was close to “Fawlty Towers’ bad.

Time for a change of management, investment in the hotel and rebranding I think.

Videos of the rooms here: http://www.barnabyrobson.org/journal/travel/5-days-in-sicily/#syracuse

While I don’t like giving bad reviews, the whole ethos of trip advisor is for to give frank and honest assessments of experiences, so other travelers can plan and have the perfect trip.

Room Tip: Must ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barnaby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#8 of 75 in Syracuse
1,193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.2 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#4 of 75 in Syracuse
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#14 of 75 in Syracuse
596 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Maniace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Maniace Hotel

Property: Royal Maniace Hotel
Address: Lungomare d'Ortigia 13, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Syracuse
#8 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#8 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#10 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#14 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Maniace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Royal Maniace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Maniace Hotel Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing