We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Maniace Hotel
Ranked #14 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Purley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

The hotel is in a quiet location and is clean and modern. As mentioned in other reviews, the parking outside the hotel is not easy (actually locating it is not easy either!) but the reception staff were more than helpful in finding parking places and helping out. Nothing was too much trouble for them. There was not a huge choice for breakfast considering this is a 4 star hotel, but the breakfast staff more than made up for this with their friendliness and attention to detail. We had a room overlooking the sea with a balcony and it's definitely worth asking for a sea view. The only downside was that the air conditioning wasn't working during our stay and the hotel were struggling to get it mended. We managed to cope although it was very humid. Good job it wasn't in the height of the season!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. Room 215 is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    168
    43
    16
    3
See reviews for
47
236
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Royal Maniace Hotel is ideally located in Ortygia, the historical sea-side of Syracuse. Although arriving the first day by car was a bit tricky, the staff was so helpful and kind to block the street for us to park our car! Our room was huge, and had a terrace with views to the sea. Wifi was free (and good connection!), breakfast was full of home-made pastries and fresh fruit, and coffee was delicious! I fell in love with that hotel, I highly recommend it and if we ever come back to Syracuse, we'll be staying here!

Room Tip: Ask for sea-sights event though the street is underneath. It is not noisy at all (even in mid-August...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anmoltre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

This lovely hotel is situated on a road that hugs the sea and is very conveniently located for all major sites in Ortigia. We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in July 2012 and our room was spacious with a large window and a narrow balcony with great sea views. Staff members, from the front-desk to the ladies serving breakfast are all helpful, cheerful and service orientated. Breakfast is served in a bright and airy room and although it is limited in variety the food and coffee is fresh (great daily fruit salad!) and good. The free Wi-Fi worked most of the time but reception is a bit hit or miss at some parts of the hotel. In addition, the hotel has a very nice back garden with – lovely for drinks in the summer. We have enjoyed our stay and recommend this hotel - it was great.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room and ask for one with sea view and / or balcony. Be aware that parking out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug_surrey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Beautiful (and convinient) location. Our room was comfortable and very spacious with an amazing view. Good breakfast, free wi-fi,very helpful staff! Highly recommended.
I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martaptrwsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frieth, Oxon. UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed here during June 2012. We arrived very late and were assisted with car parking (in the motorists' nightmare that is Ortygia) by a member of the night staff. We had a pleasanr 4 days in the hotel; our second floor room was at the rear/side of the hotel and the view of the sea was from a slit window in the bathroom.

It was pretty comfortable place to stay, although the air conditioning was less than perfect - it seemed to require intervention from a staff member using a control computer in reception before it became effective.

Breakfasts were very good, but a bit 'samey' by the third morning.

All in all - pleasant enough but no real wow factor

Room Tip: Only rooms at the front offer a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGPAman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

We spent one night here in April 2012. It was easy to find and we had no trouble parking right outside. The hotel staff were great, breakfast was good and our room was quite pleasant. We had a sea view with a very small balcony--not the best room since some had real balconies, but we did enjoy the view and it was definitely worth the price we paid (and the better rooms were unavailable as we booked only a week before arriving). The modern furniture suited the hotel and the bed was comfortable (although quite hard like all the other beds in Sicily). The wifi worked great in our room. We really enjoyed Ortigia and Siracusa and had a great time wandering around, having coffee in front of the Duomo and visiting the archeological sites. Don't miss the Catacombe di San Giovanni, we took the guided tour (in English) and it was fascinating.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony--then you can sit outside and enjoy the wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MWave12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Clean large room (small TV at far side from bed), quiet with garden view. Uncomfortable "stylish" chair and tiny shower but spotless and with lots of lighting and cheap minibar, huge bed. Breakfast plentiful but variable - cold scrambled eggs, weird orange juice but very attentive staff, excellent coffee, pastries, meats. Staff very helpful all round but odd hotel layout - no bar or lounge other than a couple of chairs in the foyer; dinner at breakfast tables with bright light and no frills at all. Very close to a lot of good restaurants, though. Definitely worth forking out for a sea view balcony if you're going to spend much time in your room or want to sit and drink of an evening without going to a bar.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.4 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.1 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#8 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#13 of 75 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#4 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grande  Albergo Alfeo
Grande Albergo Alfeo
#7 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Maniace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Maniace Hotel

Property: Royal Maniace Hotel
Address: Lungomare d'Ortigia 13, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Syracuse
#8 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#8 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#10 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#14 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Maniace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Maniace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Maniace Hotel Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing