We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puppet Theatre

Puppet Theatre
Ranked #10 of 113 things to do in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We really enjoyed the play we saw. It does not matter at all that it is only in Italian, it is easy enough to follow and the puppets themselves and puppetry skills were excellent. This was one of the highlights of our trip.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jody21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    71
    9
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Huron, Michigan
Level Contributor
200 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Better than many movies we've seen lately”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

After missing a traditional Sicilian puppet show in Palermo, we made sure to catch this one in Siracusa. The puppets are beautiful and the performance exciting. This one began with an undersea vignette with sea life and iridescent paint that was lovely. Then the action began, including exciting fight scenes with decapitated puppets! The theater is small and intimate and the performance just the right length though we found we wanted more. When we return to Ortigia, we will definitely visit again.

The performance is only in Italian (and if my Italian were entirely fluent, I would give this six stars), but you can read the synopsis that is handed out before the performance. Better yet, since the stories performed are listed on the website (www.pupari.com/), you can learn about them in more detail before arriving. I happen to be a literature professor and love a good heroic epic and so was happy to read the story beforehand.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank professorclee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Read something before to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

The story of the puppits is long and cover all Sicily. I had no idea that there were 2 differents school between Catania and Palermo, so Puppits are different and also their costums. They are related with the Sicilian donkye cart

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Very quirky, glad we read synopsis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We went to this charming small traditional puppet show which ran for 45 minutes. Incredibly detailed marionette style puppets with great detail and entertaining movements. A really charming experience, just enjoy for what it is. But read pamphlet re storyline prior to show.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lyndy3187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely unexpected find in Ortygia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stumbled across this tiny theatre (seating around 25-30 people) which is attached to the Museo dei Pupi, on our wanders through Ortygia. The shows are scheduled for late afternoon, and last approximately 45 minute. Tickets were not cheap, but the show was well worth it. Tickets are for reserved seats, so first in best dressed. To experience this type of art form is special, as it is not common and could almost be classed as a dying art. The performance is in Italian, and while the accompanying program notes are in Italian, French and English, they cover a complex and difficult plot which fills one with dread before the show! However, once the action starts you get the general gist or what is going on, and the plot complexities fall way. There is much fighting between the heroes and the Saracens and Spaniards which is beautifully choreographed, and quite fun to watch. Highly recommended, for a different experience of Sicilian culture.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank lyn057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puppet Theatre also viewed

Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Puppet Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing