We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A charming and delightful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puppet Theatre

Puppet Theatre
Ranked #10 of 113 things to do in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Moraga, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A charming and delightful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

The show was in Italian but easy to follow because of the English handout we received before hand. The theater is extremely small so it is best to get there early. The show is about 45 min. The puppets are about 3/4 life-size with lovely costumes. The beginning is an underwater scene with fish that seem lifelike in their movements. We are adults and were absolutely enchanted with the performance.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan32742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    71
    9
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South-East
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun, Despite the Language Barrier”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Although we were unable to understand most of what was said, their was an over-view of the story written in English to help with the overall plot and lots of action to keep you engaged. The whole experience was charming and thoroughly enjoyable and should not be missed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BecomingMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
494 reviews
181 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Very Entertaining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

I was not sure what to expect from the puppet theatre, but it was very entertaining and worth seeing. There was a lot of action and the time went by quickly. It was fun to see an art form that goes back many years.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim_atl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
217 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Drama, Humor & Tragedy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Don't pass this up when visiting Ortygia. This traditional art form must be preserved so do your part and support it. The theater is small and run lovingly by a family doing this for a few generations. We didn't understand the Italian very well but that didn't keep us from getting the overall gist. The performance is not too long, maybe 45 minutes. The puppeteers work quite hard since the puppets themselves are quite elaborate and heavy.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Galooba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
438 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Inadvertently posted the review for this under the Puppet Museum. We enjoyed this even though we understood very little of what was said. They had an English summary of the story so we could follow along.....just like an opera.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puppet Theatre also viewed

Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Puppet Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing