We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apartment Moscuzza--great location, exactly as described.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Casesicilia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Syracuse
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casesicilia
usa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Apartment Moscuzza--great location, exactly as described.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed at the Moscuzza apartment for 5 nights. It is 2 short blocks from the entrance bridge to Ortigia in a safe neighborhood. Banks, markets, coffee shops and gelato all close by. Plenty of free street parking. Close to the daily street market across the bridge. The entrance to the building is at first unappealing (water damaged paneling, dark at night until the light gets manually turned on) but the apartment is lovely, and as I said, the building and area are quite safe. We appeared to be the only transient occupants in the building. The bedroom is in the middle of the apartment so street noise is not an issue for sleep. Wifi is reliable. Everything we needed was available. Christian, who met us and oriented us to the apartment, gave us his cell number and stressed that he was available 24/7. Lilla responds quickly to email if any questions arise as well. And no one else has mentioned it but the restaurant right below the apartment has great pizza!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dccnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    22
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
53
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

Bilo 13 is very nice. Location is the key. Price is completely adequate.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IvanEvdokimov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

My boyfriend and I visited Ortigia this year and stayed at the Bilo 2 apartment. The owners Lilla and Massimo were extremely helpful provided us with all the information we required and were there whenever we needed them. The flat is in an excellent location close to all the amenities and busy Piazzas of Ortigia. It is extremely spacious and we just loved spending time on the balcony in the evenings! I would highly reccommend these apartments as well as visiting the magical island of Ortigia.
Ela & Derek

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaandDerek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

This year we decided to see South Eastern Sicily. By Vagabonda's recomendation, I contacted Casesicilia apartments and received very informative and kind replies from Lilla. We booked Solomone 5 in Ortigia for a week.
This is a nice, one bedroom apartment, however, in summer months you need an apartment with a balcony, where you can spent time at nights after your sightseeing and enjoy wine. Lucky for us our water heater broke that day and Lilla transferred us to the third floor to Solomone 9.
Now, this is the place you want to spend your week. Beauiful and cozy, but with a large balcony overlooking the quiet and charming streets of Ortigia, a view of the Duomo and a pick to the sea!
We were overwelmed and went to the open market, got grocceries and fish, invited our new friends over whom we met at the local restaurant there and had the most memorable and fantastic night.
Massimo and Lilla are very professional, nice and helpful.
The location was wonderful - free bus stop 20 right around the corner, the best trattoria Sciue Sciue downstairs (Teresa was a delight, more on her later). Walking to EVERYWHERE!

Overall, we felt that Ortigia offers warm hospitality and elegeance. We are in love with this little town, with the delishious food, amazing granitas, the BEST Gelatos (especially the pistachio), fresh canolis and evening walks every night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilit_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

We spent a week in the Duomo apartment in Ortygia in early May and it was the highlight of our first trip to Sicily. All the booking arrangements were smooth and Lilla was extremely helpful in email exchanges prior to our arrival. Christian met us on arrival and was charming and informative. We didn't need to contact them again but were assured that we could do so at any time. The apartment itself is clean, comfortable and very well equipped with everything you need for self-catering but not over-cluttered - exactly as we like it. The web-site really doesn't do it justice!

However the main benefit of this apartment is its wonderful location. We have been visiting Italy for over 30 years and this has to be one of the best locations ever! The Piazza Duomo is a beautiful space and the heart of the city. The entrance to the apartment is through a gate leading directly from the Piazza via a quiet, private courtyard. Even thought the apartment next door was being renovated when we were there it was extremely quiet and peaceful even when the Piazza was buzzing! The entrance is on the ground floor so no stairs or access issues however when you go into the living area you are hit by a flood of light coming from french doors on the opposite walls which lead onto a little balcony (big enough for the little table and two chairs provided). You then find yourself on the second floor with a glorious view over the tree lined promenade of the sea and harbour. Not only is the sea view wonderful but it is great for people watching too!You can even catch a distant glimpse of Etna if the conditions are right!
Ortygia itself is lovely and full of interest - much nicer than I expected having read some other reviews! The only possible drawback is car parking. There are fairly complicated rules on driving on the island but there is a big car park directly after the bridge to the main town. This is a bit away from the apartment but there are free buses that drop you nearby. We didn't have a problem as we have a disabled sticker and we checked that this allowed us to park in a disabled space two minutes from the apartment.

Overall a lovely apartment in a great location - perfect for couples.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leomaisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

Our budget was tight, we knew we wanted to do much of our own cooking, and we watch tv, both international and Italian. Lilla recommended Appartamento Arezzo, and it was perfect- nicer and more spacious than their website photos depicted. Casesicilia sets you up with your own living area- this is not a hotel situation with staff, etc.
Exiting right down via Arezzo put us at the water, and exiting left led us to the shopping street Corso Matteotti, to the exceptional outdoor six-day-a-week market or to walks through the historic center. Beauty and charm everywhere.
Lilla and Massimo Occhipinti, through their business "Casesicilia," set us up nicely with good advice and directions, a helpful binder of information and a well-supplied kitchen. Our "apartment" was actually its own building, with entry, upstairs to the living area, and up those stairs to a large outdoor terrace with plants and a shaded table.
This was a great spot to live for a week, not deluxe, but the simple value we sought. We felt right at home.

Room Tip: Describe what you want, they will make a match.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john_rose3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Repentigny, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2011

We just returned from a mounth in Ortigia. The appartement Prestige was just as described: clean,well stoked, good beds,and very well situated so we could travel around by trains and buses.We met freindly people all over that were eager to help us and made our stay a memorable one.Thank you Lilla&Massimo

Gilles&Monique

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sellig26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.4 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.1 mi away
Royal Maniace Hotel
Royal Maniace Hotel
#14 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.0 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grande  Albergo Alfeo
Grande Albergo Alfeo
#7 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#8 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#4 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casesicilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casesicilia

Property: Casesicilia
Address: Via Salomone, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In unique and historical surroundings, we offer personality and charm, combined with all modern facilities. Reside in our self-catering apartments in Syracuse and your expectations of comfort and lifestyle are met with the reality of staying in prestigious & modern furnished apartments. It is our aim to exceed your expectations and to create the perfect home away from home! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casesicilia Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing