We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Sleep in Sicily

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sleep in Sicily
Ranked #134 of 236 Syracuse B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 12, 2013

A charming little B&B located on a quiet street within walking distance of Piazza Duomo and other hot spots. Host Massimiliano is a charming and welcoming man, and the rooms are unique and very cool. Great place to stay when in Syracusa.

Room Tip: Be nice nice people get nice rooms
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank idanorway0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for Sleep in Sicily
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 71 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

Perfect location, less than 5 minute walk to Duomo and many restaurants. Kind of noisy and poor inconsistent Internet, not exactly as we had hoped for. Minimal breakfast but got us going in the morning. Hot water plentiful and bed comfy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zialucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Ortigia is the old town of Syracuse, divided from the mainland by a channel. It is absolutely charming and magnificent and if you go to Syracuse you must stay here.

Sleep in Sicily, on the other hand, was maybe not the most impressing experience. We had two rooms with entrance from a small back garden, that was not too well maintained, with a broken sun chair and things laying around. The rooms were ok, though. One had a double bed, the other a bunk bed. There was not much more furniture. The bunk bed room had no window. The beds in this room had no reading lamps. The bathroom might once have been a balcony, somewhat whimsical, but working.

The air condition, thankfully, worked very well.

There was no hot water in the shower when we tried it the first day - probably other guests had risen earlier and emptied the tank. The next morning we rose first and got the hot water.

The tv had many interesting, Italian game shows.

There was no wifi in the room, but we got the code from Massimo and could sit in the staircase inside the house and surf.

Massimo was helpful. He helped us with parking the rental car and he pointed us towards beaches and good restaurants.

In beautiful Ortigia in August you don't want to spend time indoors anyway, so the deficiencies I list might not be that serious. The "Sleep in Sicily" is very centrally located, a few steps away from everything. We stayed for two nights. One could certainly spend more time in Ortiega.

Room Tip: Maybe the four bed ground floor rooms, one of which we had, are not the best in the house?
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brainspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranMastrro, Owner at Sleep in Sicily, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Dear Brainspin, first of all thank you for your feedback. Secondly I would like to give you some suggestions before you write anything else on other places you might visit in future. You must seriously read what you're gonna book. The room you booked was an economy room as was written in your reservation even before you booked. You booked an ECONOMY quadruple room which means that the room had to be without an aircondition and breakfast. I gave you a room with air condition for free and offered you breakfast just the same. The price for the room you booked that is the quadruple room is the same price of a luxury double room. The bathroom is ideal for a budget room. The room is furnished with all the neccessities including a fridge,tv, a table, 2 bedside tables, a wardrob and a double bed and a bunk bed. The room has 2 lampshades and a chandelier in the middle of the room. As regards the other room maybe you didn't notice that there is a transom window (vasistas). I want to remark that is very important to read what you're gonna book if it's an economy room or budget or a luxury one as specified in the details of the room along with the price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Martina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Stefano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Federica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Teo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleep i, Proprietario at Sleep in Sicily, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Arco Antico
Residence Arco Antico
#31 of 74 in Syracuse
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Maniace Hotel
Royal Maniace Hotel
#14 of 74 in Syracuse
454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ortigia Camere con Vista
Ortigia Camere con Vista
#113 of 236 in Syracuse
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Avolio Tailored Rooms
Avolio Tailored Rooms
#185 of 236 in Syracuse
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
A Due Passi Dal Duomo B&B
A Due Passi Dal Duomo B&B
#74 of 98 in Syracuse
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Residenza Levante
B&B Residenza Levante
#176 of 236 in Syracuse
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep in Sicily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep in Sicily

Address: Via delle Vergini 20, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 236 B&Bs / Inns in Syracuse
Price Range: $55 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleep in Sicily 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed and Breakfast Sleep in Sicily is situated in a 900" Liberty’s age building close to Fonte Aretusa, Ortigia island (Siracusa). The rooms are spaceful and kindly designed, all of them are equipped with Bathroom, Air condition, TV, Frigobar. B&B Sleep in Sicily is a perfect spot for those who want to stay in a quiet place at the historical center, far away from traffic noises. On the other hand, there are many public and private “solarium” just a few meters away, on the sea coast nearby the b&b. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sleep in Sicily reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep In Sicily Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing