We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$137
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/09/21
Expedia.com
$158
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/10/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
$135
View deal
Hotels.com$158
Priceline$163
eDreams$137
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,120)
Filter reviews
2,120 results
Traveler rating
1,670
353
76
18
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,670
353
76
18
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel historic building sea ortigia island car minibar terrace duomo
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 2,120 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2019

We stayed for five nights in October. Very good location to walk to all sites in Ortigia. We booked two rooms. Both nice. One with a large terrace and hot tub. Breakfast was good but not spectacular. I am very pleased with our choice.

Date of stay: October 2018
2  Thank mbpman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2019

We mistakenly went to the hotel next door and were glad it was not the correct hotel because the front desk staff at Algila was very welcoming ( next door was not!), offered lots of friendly advice and was always there when we needed something. Also, we have never had room service coffee delivered so fast and always with a big smile! We stayed 3 nights in a lovely, clean room with windows that opened onto a beautiful sea view. Very relaxing, even though it was on a main street it was quiet. Walking distance to many things. Breakfast buffet very good, plenty of choices and attentive service.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Happy415
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algila, Manager at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2019

Dear guest many thanks for your positive review. We are very happy to hear that you had a more than pleasant 3 night stay. We pride ourselves on giving all of our guests a warm Sicilian welcome - our staff are constantly working to deliver everything you need with a smile!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Best Wishes from all at the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2019

Just wonderful. Lovely Junior Suites in two different buildings, very charming, good breakfast, minutes to walk to the atttractions of the city, very nice staff, excellent recommondation! Book it before someone else does. But avoid the standard rooms, they are very small!

Room tip: Take a deluxe room or a junior suite
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank IbnBatutta3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algila, Manager at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2019

Dear guest,
We thank you for taking the time to leave a review and such a positive one at that!
There are so many reasons that you have enjoyed your stay and that pleases us - the guest do love the complimentary breakfasts, Bulgari toiletries, free mini bar and hotel in general, not to mention the fact that the rooms face the Ionian sea where the sun can be seen rising over the eastern horizon. The Junior Suites are popular offering that extra space. Our standard rooms have sea views too which makes up for the dimensions of some of them - but as you can appreciate we are lucky enough to be situated in a World UNESCO heritage site which makes building changes impossible - so we worked with what we had and offer some standard rooms in top shape with beautiful decor and facilities overlooking the magnificent sea.
We take time to invest in our staff and have a great professional team who speak many languages too - so am glad to hear your feedback about them.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the hotel
Kind regards from all the staff here

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2019

We stayed two nights at this very nice hotel which is beautifully renovated and indeed charming. It is well located as well. The only reason it is not getting a five star from me is that the bathrooms were small and not particularly comfortable for two people sharing, carved as they are out of the existing room floor plan. We booked for a room with a water view which also faces a busy street and the hotel entrance. The windows are pretty good at soundproofing the room, but you cannot sleep with the windows open. These rooms are also smaller, but more expensive, so I’m not sure the “water view” was worth it. Going back, I’d book a larger room on an inner court yard for space and quiet.

Date of stay: May 2019
1  Thank McWarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algila, Manager at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2019

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for kindly leaving us and fellow travellers a review. We are glad to hear that you appreciated the beauty of this hotel that indeed has been renovated from its original state - we had to find a balance between keeping its charm and working within the restrictions that are imposed on this and all of the ancient buildings in Ortigia as it's part of a World UNESCO heritage protected site, hence making changes to dimensions in some of the rooms impossible as you can appreciate. We understand your need for a bigger bathroom and in most cases we do offer room changes if we are aware that there is an issue. Rooms are priced at different rates according to the external views of course and as we offer sea views overlooking the east of the Ionian Sea where the sun rises, we can't help but also have our main entrance located below. The inner court rooms are more quiet as you suggested but the sights and sounds of real Sicilian life below is what makes part o the charm of the hotel and bing in Ortigia - many guests inform us. On that note, we hope that you did enjoy our complimentary buffet breakfast and in-room mini bar.
We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy our hotel and a complimentary meal in our restaurant.

Warm Wishes from all of our staff,

Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

The hotel is situated on the lovely island of Ortigia, convenient for exploring the astonishing history of Syracuse. We stayed for three nights in this beautifully restored ex-convent. The room was very comfortable and contained everything you might need. The staff were all friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was superb!

Room tip: The building next door to the main hotel has recently been restored. This is where we stayed and it was both comfortable and quiet.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CarolDanbury_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algila, Manager at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2019

Dear Guest,
We thank you kindly for leaving such a wonderfully positive review. It means a lot to us that you had a good holiday with us and in delightful Ortigia. There is more history about the building in case you are interested on our website - please feel free to download our information booklet about the area.
We value our staff as they make the hotel work so well, so thank you for highlighting their helpfulness and friendliness to us.

We welcome you back soon, have a great summer on behalf of the team here

Best Wishes.
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews