We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Could have been 5 star...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
Ranked #3 of 72 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Could have been 5 star...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is a delightful small hotel, on the waterfront in Ortigia, Siracusa. Pricey at 203 euros a night, but beautiful and tasteful renovation. Staff was friendly, professional and accommodating. Room was not large, but well appointed with Frette linens on the bed, with a view of the sea. Possibly the best breakfast I have had in an Italian hotel in many years of travel in Italy. ,

The one drawback, thin walls and lack of soundproofing, if you are as unfortunate as we were to have noisy, active children in the room above you. But don't let that stop you, this is a lovely place.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean are nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foodiefromCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,021
    252
    60
    17
    2
See reviews for
237
809
37
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sliema
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We just came back from a short break in Sicily, stayed at the Algila Hotel after reading all the good comments about it and we didnt regret it!!! Very friendly staff, excellent breakfast, big room (we have four year old, so for us very important spacious room!) overlooking inside court, so it was very quiet in the morning! Definitely recommend this hotel to families with small kids and couples:)) Perfect location, just two minutes walk from the center of Ortigia. We went to have dinner at Dionisio restaurant, recommended by the hotel, charming, non touristic, Sicilian restaurant, when any restaurant has locals it means its a good restaurant:))

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zyntherius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I like the front desk later. The receptionist was really cheerful. This is my first time to be in Syracuse and I’m thankful that the first person in the hotel we wanted to stay in had a pleasing personality. It was a busy day in the hotel and a lot of people were confirming their booking over the weekend and I was impressed with how she handled everyone. The rooms were small but nice, considering the place that we were in I think everything was kind of tight in the area. Algila Ortigia Charme just made this thing possible for me because I got to ride a bike around the area. It’s been a while since I did that. It was a fun experience in Syracuse. A lot of couples were there for their honeymoon too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSClSharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We spent two delightful days at the Algila in January. The hotel lives up to its name: full of charm and attention to detail. Most impressive was the attitude of the staff, from reception to dining room. They could not have been more charming, helpful, and enthusiastic. We will surely stay there again when w are next in Siracusa.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFiammas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix en Provence
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We loved this hotel and its location. We had a superb view of the water. Yes, as other people have commented, the hotel rooms are a little small. However we found them absolutely adequate in size and very charming. We had a meal in their restaurant and can thoroughly recommend it. Unfortunately it was open only one night while we were there, our last night or we would definitely have returned. I have written a blog on the meal at gallivantingisadora.blogspot.fr... 3 restaurants in Ortigia.
We would definitely return. We actually had booked into the Hotel Roma in Ortigia as friends told us it was in a better location. I don't agree! We were notified a few weeks before departure that the Roma would be closed for renovation and we would be accommodated in the Hotel Algila, managed by the same group. We were very happy…..and if you have a car it is indeed a much better location, with a small parking lot right on the doorstep.We never had any difficulties finding parking there and in any case the hotel has a few reserved parking places.

Room Tip: ask for a view over the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg44AixenProvence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I spent a week in Siracusa last July and I found the perfect hotel. Very friendly staff, outstanding service and amazing food! The location was great, just in front of the sea and walkable distance from the centro storico, just what you need for a perfect holiday!
The rooms were tidy, cleaned with beautiful furnishings. The restaurant served excellent food till late and the receptionists were extremely kind and helped us with everything we asked.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody looking to spend some time in Siracusa!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrMari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This was the perfect hotel for our 1-night stay in Syracuse (we wished we could have stayed longer, but we were on a tight schedule to tour the whole island)! For those looking to stay on Ortigia Island, look no further!

As the other reviewers have said, it is perfectly situated along the sea front, and is beautifully renovated. The furnishings and rooms are gorgeous, and the service was really top notch. Example: when we returned to the hotel at night I was very hungry but too exhausted to leave the hotel again to find something open. The restaurant had already stopped making dinner, but they told me that they would still make me dinner and send it up to so that I did not even have to go down to pick it up. I can't tell you how much I appreciated that gesture after a very long day of travel and sight-seeing.

We reserved 3 rooms for 3 couples and everyone loved their accommodations. There's a nice café/bar area and some of us had coffee there while waiting for the rest of our group, even though the café was not technically open at the time (See the pattern? The guests come first here!). I do not give out 5 star reviews lightly but I feel that the Algila truly deserves it based on their service and the quality of the hotel. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, choose a room with a sea view. We didn't spend much time in the room but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Syracuse
0.2 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#4 of 72 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 stars 462 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#9 of 72 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 stars 1,056 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 72 in Syracuse
5.0 of 5 stars 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Siracusa Prometeo
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#15 of 72 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 stars 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel

Property: Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 93, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is located in an exquisite ancient building on the waterfront of Ortigia, the historic centre of Syracuse. Giving onto the ancient "Mastra Rua," where the Siracusan nobility resided from the 14th century, the hotel is a starting point for cultural itineraries. Its recent restoration maintains the original structure made of three buildings, contributing to its dynamic layout. Rooms are furnished differently with antique furniture, four-poster beds and refined interior decoration with distinctive Sicilian touches and Mediterranean features such as colorful bathrooms tiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algila Ortigia Charme Syracuse
Hotel Algila Ortigia Charme
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing