We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Antico Hotel Roma 1880(Syracuse)
$317
$308
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$120
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$190
$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$177
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villamare(Fontane Bianche)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$204
$191
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Posta(Syracuse)(Great Value!)
$83
$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
UNA Hotel One(Syracuse)
$1,563
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,759)
Filter reviews
1,759 results
Traveler rating
1,366
306
66
18
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,366
306
66
18
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbulgari toiletriesbeautiful hotelfree mini barsea viewjunior suitestaff could not have been morehotel restaurantbreakfast buffethistoric buildingcannolirooms are smallour night staybeautiful roomthree nightsloved this hotelpastrieson foot
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
665 - 670 of 1,759 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This lovely hotel made me welcome from the minute I walked in - I had a dinky single room - perfect for one with everything you could need from a safe, TV and complimentary mini bar with water and soft drinks. Lovely staff who speak English and are genuinely friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is a mixture of charming antiquity and modern conveniences like free Wifi and aircon. My room was spotless and the service throughout from breakfast to waiting in the bar was excellent. It's a short walk to the main centre of the town and there is a gorgeous sea view from the hotel. I literally felt my travel weariness fall away as I fell in love with this gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Princesshilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

As with most Italian hotels it was expensive for what you get but at least what you get is good apart from the size of the rooms. Location great, we had a sea view and parking relatively straightforward and we also found it quite quiet despite building work going on next door. Staff were very helpful and gave good restaurant recommendations also breakfast was excellent with eggs cooked to order. The rooms were small with very limited hanging space which given the price of the hotel was disappointing. However overall we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewG18024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at this supposedly 4 star hotel for two days and found it so crammed: no seaview from our standard room, though it did have a balcony. Our double room, No. 305, was tiny, there was a mini-closet in which we could not fit our luggage and there was nowhere else for it in the room. We had to keep our bags upright against the walls and open them on the bed to get some clothes out!
The bathroom was very small, too.
On arrival at 1:30pm we were told we could not check in until 3pm, so we went to a local restaurant for lunch. We came back at 3:40pm and our room was still not ready. We waited until 4pm to no avail and had to get changed in our friends' room to go sightseeing. When we came back at 7pm the room was finally ready, but no apologies were given.
However, the bedspread was full of dark stains and we had to ask for it to be changed, the shower door leaked, the TV could only be watched from the bed if one sat up straight as the screen was tilted upwards due to it resting on the chunky plug behind it. Even then the image was not very clear, one had to stand up to watch it properly. The Air Con was not very strong and would definitely not be adequate in Summer, as we were already feeling hot, despite it being October. The WIFI box did not work at all (no lights on it) so it had to be replaced. The second box worked at first, then stopped. Someone took a look at it and it worked again, though intermittently. Our friends had the same experience with their box. None of our toiletries was replenished on the second day, the tissue box in the bathroom was left empty and the towels were not folded back onto the rail, and were instead untouched were we had left them in the morning. Some of the staff were not very friendly and breakfast took forever to come when we ordered anything a' la carte. On checking out we were first told we had to vacate by 11am: when I reminded them that we could not check in even at 4pm due to their delay in cleaning the room, they only gave us 30 mins extra for our check out. This is definitely a basic 3 star hotel at best.

Room Tip: 305 is far too small, and stuck in the corner, avoid!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyGio69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Although this was one of the plainer hotels of our trip I give it an excellent rating especially for the front desk. The friendliest of the trip. The junior suite was plain, but comfortable. The sitting area needed more light to read. The view was very nice and we were not bothered by noise by the time we went to bed. Nice to leave the windows open and hear the water. Good bathroom with good shower. Great location for walking. Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel is nicely situated by the sea just a few minutes walk from the central square of Ortiga. Internally it is very well appointed and decorated. Our double room was small, with a limited half wardrobe and chest of drawers so just enough space to unpack things. Friends accompanying us didn't have the latter so lacked storage space. Apart from occasional footsteps from above the hotel was quiet. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good and service reasonable considering the hotel was full. Our final prearranged dinner for 11 was a splendid occasion although Sicilian attempts at fine dining don't quite work. In the end the baroque joy of Sicily washes away the little problems.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews