We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Antico Hotel Roma 1880(Syracuse)
$157
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $168/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$115
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 59% below average rates

The price you found is 59% lower than this hotel's average rate of $227/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$112
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Domus Mariae(Syracuse)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $236/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$577
$330
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$331
$298
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,800)
Filter reviews
1,800 results
Traveler rating
1,404
309
66
18
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,404
309
66
18
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbulgari toiletriesbeautiful hotelfree mini barsea viewjunior suitestaff could not have been morehotel restaurantbreakfast buffethistoric buildingcannolithree nightsour night staybeautiful roomloved this hotelsmall balconypastrieson foot
Filter
Updating list...
716 - 721 of 1,800 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The location is overlooking the sea on the outskirts of Syracuse. I would recommend booking a sea view room, otherwise you could end up looking at a wall 1 metre from your window.

The staff are efficient and extremely helpful, but there are clearly not enough of them so they end up doing a plethora of 'other' jobs which means at times the reception/bar are unattended.

The breakfast was really fantastic and incredibly fresh, with a great selection of various items both hot and cold!

The restaurant was closed for 2 of our 3 night stay, so unfortunately the hotel felt lifeless with all the guests out eating elsewhere.

Our room was big with a great bed, but in desperate need of a re-paint. The walls were full of marks probably from suitcases banging into them.

The bathroom was tight with poor water pressure in the shower which is unacceptable in a 4* hotel.

Overall, this is an ok hotel, but at well over $250 a night it cannot justify the premium over other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: A sea-view is a must
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank busjgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed in this lovely hotel for one week the end of June and beginning of July. It is a beautifully restored old "palace." We loved the common areas, especially the breakfast room. The breakfast was a luxurious experience --a feast to all senses. Beautifully laid out with plentiful of fresh fruits, baked goods, and made to order omelets. It was hard to leave except that the town itself and the remainder of Sicily call out daily. We took day car trips to the North and to the South of Siracusa. The staff offered great advice and beach towels and on our last day before driving to the airport, a care package of goodies for the car ride as we had an early flight and were not able to stay for breakfast. From the hotel we walked nightly to various activities in Ortigia--an art festival in the town square; a puppet show in an open air theatre; a jazz concert in an old castle. During the days, we drove to Catania to visit the fish market; we drove to Caltagirona to look at ceramics; we drove to the southernmost tip of Sicily and on the way saw lemon orchards, vineyards and charming fishing villages. Throughout we consulted the concierge in the hotel before we left in the morning and when we returned they would enquire about our trip--we just felt so welcome and well taken care of--it was definitely a very memorable trip and we plan to return --hopefully soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights at this charming boutique hotel. We found the staff extremely friendly and accommodating. They kindly made arrangements for us to reserve an umbrella at a private beach club on the coast which was wonderful. The room was clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was bountiful and delicious. Every restaurant recommendation that they gave us was fantastic. Our room faced the street and we didn't hear a thing. We recommend this hotel highly and would certainly return given the opportunity.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The location is very good and the staff very kind, specially Mariangela and Marcelo, two fantastic receptionists who try to solve all your problems, but the hotel must have more people to offer a better service. The breakfast is really good, in my opinion the best in all 3 hotels I stayed in Sicilia. Our room was a suite junior, it wasn't big but the space was enough for three people. It was comfortable but the decor was quite simple and the walls should be painted. For a hotel in a touristic place, everything seemed OK, except for a problem that is absolutely unacceptable, most of the time we had no water in the shower, just a few drops, what made our baths sometimes impossible, sometimes unpleasant. When I complained in the morning, they said that it was a problem from Artigia, only in the morning, but the problem remained for the rest of our stay, sometimes just a little better sometimes exactly the same way. I don't know if this is a problem of the hotel or a specific problem from that room, but what I know is, because of this problem, even with good features, I can't reccomend Algila hotel to my friends

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paulo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtaranto, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Sir,
thank you for finding the time to write a review, we appreciated.
We are glad you appreciated our staff service that, they say, is Always available and attentive.
It is difficult to me to understand in what way, if they provided all tour needs as you say, you suggest besides more people to be employed to provide a better service.
Just a detail, our is a 4* star hotel and I guess it was an oversight what you write. maybe you wanted to write "the best in all 5* hotels I stayed in Sicilia"... In fact our clients say so!
As per the water, that was not strong flow but it isn't a "lack of water" ... I apologize: it is a wider problem that involves the town and we are tring to solve in a very short time

Hoping to welcoming you again
Best regards
Mariella Taranto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I can happily recommend this charming, boutique hotel. The common areas and rooms are beautifully and tastefully appointed; lots of character throughout the building with furnishings that suit the historic structure, but with modern touches that give you a bit of luxury and pampering. There are little touches throughout that elevate this hotel experience: almonds, juice and water left out by the lounge chairs next to the elevator in the afternoon, a plate of fresh fruit waiting for you in your room, the Bvlgari bath products, an extensive breakfast selection with the option to order items a la carte. The staff truly excels in ensuring a pleasant stay – in addition to making the usual dinner reservations, they also did research for us and provided us a list of recommended hotels for our next destination; they also called a ferry company based out of Anzio that only spoke Italian about trying to get a refund for tickets we had for the following week – really exceptional. A truly beautiful hotel, with beautiful views, located conveniently in the middle of Ortigia. Loved this place. My only complaint is the WiFi--- I always had a difficult time finding the hotel’s WiFi signal regardless of where I was in the hotel. Normally, I wouldn’t mind so much, but the fact that the hotel barely gets any cell phone service reception of any kind, made matters worse. Nonetheless, if you’re coming to Siracusa, stay here – it’s well worth it and a truly wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ptn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews