We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel with warm reception”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Algila hotel is a small city format hotel with the old fashioned interior and furniture, in a historical building, the best way to fill the atmosphere of ancient Ortigia.
They gave us very warm reception during our stay in Syracuse. Staff were extremely helpful to make our stay as comfortable and interesting as only possible. They organized a guide and the cars for us, gave very reasonable recommendations about restaurants, sightseeing, shopping, etc. Laura, Marchello, thank you, you made our stay!
The location for sightseeing was good, 5 minutes from Archimedes square, 10 minutes to Duomo, just near seafront (first line), but far from the main touristic rotes which are crowdie and noisy. 5 min to a supermarket and to a local market which was open every morning.
There are a lot of abandoned houses around as everythere on Ortigia so evening walks around were not very pleasant.
Breakfast was very the generous. Once we had a dinner, and can recommend Algila restaurant.
Pleasant additional bonus - free mini-bar and refreshing drinks for guests in lobby during a day.
We booked by Booking.com a standard double room for our family with a child (12) and it was a mistake, a double is not available for an additional bed, so at first we took second room and after second night moved to a triple.
The double was more comfortable for me, it had windows outside the hotel with a side sea view. The triple had the windows inside the hotel yard, the noise from ventilation system was irritating, there was a lack of insolating also.
The only thing we could not find in the hotel was an iron or ironing service - the common problem in Italian hotels as we can see.

Room Tip: Take a room with windows outside - noise from streets are not as irritating as constant noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nadejda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtaranto, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear SIrs,

it makes me really happy to know that your stay was enjoyable and a particular thanksgiving for having such positive words for the staff. We believe, and our users confirm it to us, that persons make the difference and have the ability to influence the entire stay, for better or for worse. We strive to bring attention to your expectations!
With this in mind we provide everything that is possible in gratuity: minibar, honesty bar, free wifi, but also bicycles, with which sightseing Ortigia
I'm sorry that you had to change rooms but this is due to inaccuracies in the descriptions but also in the setting, of the site from which you have booked and that we have repeatedly reported with no success. We invite you to do the same in order to help other users to choose the room that best suits your needs.

I hope to meet you and welcome you once again

Best regards
Mariella Taranto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

676 - 682 of 1,696 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

We arrived very late (after a delayed flight) but were met with a very warm greeting. Sabrina knew our name, got her colleagues to park our car in an adjacent free car park and arranged for the chef to prepare a two course meal for us! Standard room was a bit small but very quiet with an excellent bathroom. Thoughout our 3 night stay, we got first rate advice on restaurants for lunch and dinner. Breakfast was a comprehensive spread of hot and cold dishes. We will definitely return for another stay! The visitor's book made interesting reading. I think that the whole hotel team performed very well for all the guests!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeB097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtaranto, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Sirs,
I am grateful to all of you who write such beautiful words related to the staff because I am convinced that people can change the experience making it unique. Our greatest effort is to interpret the needs of guests and not betraying the expectations.You are confiming to me that our work goes in the right direction.
The size of some rooms is standard but there are some larger rooms, such as junior suites, which provide larger spaces. Hurry up to reserve one the next time to assure you that it is available: there are few!

Sincerely
Mariella Taranto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel oozes with charm and ambiance. It is a beautifully restored building; a boutique property in an excellent location on the lovely island of Ortigia. Every room no matter how big or small is romantic, well furnished, beautifully appointed bathrooms, lovely linens and spotlessley clean and beautifully decorated down to the last detail.
The staff are outstanding, thoughtful, helpful and service oriented. No detail too large or small for them to take care of or time to explain. A router in every room for wifi, and as a bonus a beautiful breakfast room with a delicious morning spread. Dinner is also thoughtfully prepared with a good wine list and great desserts. This pretty little gem in a delightful spot in Sicily gets high marks from us.

Room Tip: Wed stayed on the second floor room facing a quiet, narrow street off the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelinphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

A lovely hotel with comfortable rooms and the best hotel breakfast we had in Sicily (the one B&B we stayed in won the breakfast prize). In addition to the standard fare they have a menu for made to order eggs, meats, salads and more.

There is ample street parking right outside which is a big plus in Siracusa and the hotel is easy to drive to.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EH10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

If you want to be in a romantic hotel that the personnel is really nice, friendly and more important a hotel that the personnel really care about you, Algilá is THE ONE! Marcelo, Sabrina, all staff at concierge, staff working at breakfast, at restaurant makes Algilá un hotel da sogno! We have to thank Algilá reservation service because they have saved our vacations in Syracuse. It's a hotel and a hotel personnel we are going to remember forever!! Thank you guys you have made our vacations in Ortigia unforgetable!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ettorevianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Spent two nights in second week of May with our group, having circumnavigated Sicily, finishing in Siracusa. A wonderful, quasi waterfront location, with a tremendous commitment to pleasing the customer, starting with the greeting, assistance in attaining free parking, free refreshments in the mini-bar, constant supply of nibbles near the elevator, and to start the day, the best breakfast we had on Sicily. Not only is there a wonderfully buffet replete with fresh fruits and breads, but any order of eggs and garnishes will be happily accommodated. The lovely sitting room and computer center added to the amenities and yet charm, as well.
Our group of three couples had three completely different rooms, two on second floor overlooking side street and with sliver-like views of waterfront. The third was housed in Unit 401 (?), ie with the hot tub and full outdoor balcony...a great spot to host their friends for evening wine and cocktails. The desk staff could not be more helpful, and the breakfast staff, as noted will attempt to satisfy every request. Location is great for walking and exploring the island; although they serve dinner in-house, feel free to ask for recommendations for alternative dining choices. They are graciously offered in response to specific tastes.
Although Couple #2 felt their room was small (206??), we decamped in Room 204 to find a charming layout, including a lovely clawfoot tub with a shower. BEWARE if you wish to use this facility for anything but a leisurely soak, get out the scuba gear! Unknowingly, because the tub is not sealed to the wall, our relaxing shower resulted in a flood that quickly swept out of the bathroom and into the bedroom. The resulting request for help and tons of towels was immediately answered, but this is, admittedly by staff, an ongoing problem....it should be attended to, for everyone's best interest, guest and owner alike. The next day we were then moved to Room 207, which was both spacious and very comfortable. The problem was handled in a professional and pleasant manner, but it should not have occurred.
A quick word about the "dilapidated" building across the side street from the hotel. We were told that the owners will be renovating the building to serve as an annex to the hotel and will enjoy a number of the larger style rooms. I definitely recommend this hotel, but must withhold an excellent, 5 star rating simply because we experienced what seems to be an avoidable problem.

Room Tip: 204 if you enjoy soaking in tub without a shower, otherwise avoid; 207 was a very fairly priced, no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oystertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

There is nothing really wrong with this hotel, the design is lovely, it is in a good spot, the breakfasts are fine, but it just lacked something for me. A few niggles such as having to ask for extra towels and toilet paper because these weren't replenished, the loud noise of the toilet flushing upstairs, the view with the car park in front, the small room and poky bathroom took the gloss off somewhat and for me meant that it was just not worth the money. The absolute best thing about this hotel however is the staff - they cannot do enough for you.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a sea view, you will over look the car park which is noisy and bright all ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BashNarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtaranto, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Sir,
thank you for taking the time to release its review.
I'm sorry youhave had the problems you describe, perhaps a mixup on what it will be my duty to investigate. In the room there are always replacements in equipment and in the afternoon the room is cleaned up and towels changed.
If the customer is in his room at the time of replacement, it is not our habit to bother him we but remain available at any time to provide fresh towels and what may need.
Thank you very much for your kind words towards our staff


I hope to be able to accommodate you once again
Sincerely
Mariella Taranto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.2 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#3 of 75 in Syracuse
615 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#18 of 75 in Syracuse
674 reviews
0.5 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#9 of 75 in Syracuse
1,306 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 75 in Syracuse
1,211 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 93, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#2 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: $178 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is located in an exquisite ancient building on the waterfront of Ortigia, the historic centre of Syracuse. Giving onto the ancient "Mastra Rua," where the Siracusan nobility resided from the 14th century, the hotel is a starting point for cultural itineraries. Its recent restoration maintains the original structure made of three buildings, contributing to its dynamic layout. Rooms are furnished differently with antique furniture, four-poster beds and refined interior decoration with distinctive Sicilian touches and Mediterranean features such as colorful bathrooms tiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algila Ortigia Charme Syracuse
Hotel Algila Ortigia Charme
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing