We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay with an excellent team”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
Ranked #3 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay with an excellent team”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We arrived very late (after a delayed flight) but were met with a very warm greeting. Sabrina knew our name, got her colleagues to park our car in an adjacent free car park and arranged for the chef to prepare a two course meal for us! Standard room was a bit small but very quiet with an excellent bathroom. Thoughout our 3 night stay, we got first rate advice on restaurants for lunch and dinner. Breakfast was a comprehensive spread of hot and cold dishes. We will definitely return for another stay! The visitor's book made interesting reading. I think that the whole hotel team performed very well for all the guests!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeB097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtaranto, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Sirs,
I am grateful to all of you who write such beautiful words related to the staff because I am convinced that people can change the experience making it unique. Our greatest effort is to interpret the needs of guests and not betraying the expectations.You are confiming to me that our work goes in the right direction.
The size of some rooms is standard but there are some larger rooms, such as junior suites, which provide larger spaces. Hurry up to reserve one the next time to assure you that it is available: there are few!

Sincerely
Mariella Taranto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,206
    282
    63
    18
    2
See reviews for
274
951
40
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manitoba
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel oozes with charm and ambiance. It is a beautifully restored building; a boutique property in an excellent location on the lovely island of Ortigia. Every room no matter how big or small is romantic, well furnished, beautifully appointed bathrooms, lovely linens and spotlessley clean and beautifully decorated down to the last detail.
The staff are outstanding, thoughtful, helpful and service oriented. No detail too large or small for them to take care of or time to explain. A router in every room for wifi, and as a bonus a beautiful breakfast room with a delicious morning spread. Dinner is also thoughtfully prepared with a good wine list and great desserts. This pretty little gem in a delightful spot in Sicily gets high marks from us.

Room Tip: Wed stayed on the second floor room facing a quiet, narrow street off the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelinphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

A lovely hotel with comfortable rooms and the best hotel breakfast we had in Sicily (the one B&B we stayed in won the breakfast prize). In addition to the standard fare they have a menu for made to order eggs, meats, salads and more.

There is ample street parking right outside which is a big plus in Siracusa and the hotel is easy to drive to.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EH10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

If you want to be in a romantic hotel that the personnel is really nice, friendly and more important a hotel that the personnel really care about you, Algilá is THE ONE! Marcelo, Sabrina, all staff at concierge, staff working at breakfast, at restaurant makes Algilá un hotel da sogno! We have to thank Algilá reservation service because they have saved our vacations in Syracuse. It's a hotel and a hotel personnel we are going to remember forever!! Thank you guys you have made our vacations in Ortigia unforgetable!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ettorevianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowayton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Spent two nights in second week of May with our group, having circumnavigated Sicily, finishing in Siracusa. A wonderful, quasi waterfront location, with a tremendous commitment to pleasing the customer, starting with the greeting, assistance in attaining free parking, free refreshments in the mini-bar, constant supply of nibbles near the elevator, and to start the day, the best breakfast we had on Sicily. Not only is there a wonderfully buffet replete with fresh fruits and breads, but any order of eggs and garnishes will be happily accommodated. The lovely sitting room and computer center added to the amenities and yet charm, as well.
Our group of three couples had three completely different rooms, two on second floor overlooking side street and with sliver-like views of waterfront. The third was housed in Unit 401 (?), ie with the hot tub and full outdoor balcony...a great spot to host their friends for evening wine and cocktails. The desk staff could not be more helpful, and the breakfast staff, as noted will attempt to satisfy every request. Location is great for walking and exploring the island; although they serve dinner in-house, feel free to ask for recommendations for alternative dining choices. They are graciously offered in response to specific tastes.
Although Couple #2 felt their room was small (206??), we decamped in Room 204 to find a charming layout, including a lovely clawfoot tub with a shower. BEWARE if you wish to use this facility for anything but a leisurely soak, get out the scuba gear! Unknowingly, because the tub is not sealed to the wall, our relaxing shower resulted in a flood that quickly swept out of the bathroom and into the bedroom. The resulting request for help and tons of towels was immediately answered, but this is, admittedly by staff, an ongoing problem....it should be attended to, for everyone's best interest, guest and owner alike. The next day we were then moved to Room 207, which was both spacious and very comfortable. The problem was handled in a professional and pleasant manner, but it should not have occurred.
A quick word about the "dilapidated" building across the side street from the hotel. We were told that the owners will be renovating the building to serve as an annex to the hotel and will enjoy a number of the larger style rooms. I definitely recommend this hotel, but must withhold an excellent, 5 star rating simply because we experienced what seems to be an avoidable problem.

Room Tip: 204 if you enjoy soaking in tub without a shower, otherwise avoid; 207 was a very fairly priced, no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oystertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

There is nothing really wrong with this hotel, the design is lovely, it is in a good spot, the breakfasts are fine, but it just lacked something for me. A few niggles such as having to ask for extra towels and toilet paper because these weren't replenished, the loud noise of the toilet flushing upstairs, the view with the car park in front, the small room and poky bathroom took the gloss off somewhat and for me meant that it was just not worth the money. The absolute best thing about this hotel however is the staff - they cannot do enough for you.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a sea view, you will over look the car park which is noisy and bright all ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BashNarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtaranto, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Sir,
thank you for taking the time to release its review.
I'm sorry youhave had the problems you describe, perhaps a mixup on what it will be my duty to investigate. In the room there are always replacements in equipment and in the afternoon the room is cleaned up and towels changed.
If the customer is in his room at the time of replacement, it is not our habit to bother him we but remain available at any time to provide fresh towels and what may need.
Thank you very much for your kind words towards our staff


I hope to be able to accommodate you once again
Sincerely
Mariella Taranto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Congratulations to an employer who can hire and retain staff for whom nothing is TOO much trouble.

An utterly "charming" Italian hotel in an excellent location for touring Ortigia Syracuse. The staff were wonderful and made our stay.

Take a junior suite to enhance your enjoyment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.5 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
4.3 mi away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 75 in Syracuse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#4 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#13 of 75 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#7 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
#5 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel

Property: Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 93, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is located in an exquisite ancient building on the waterfront of Ortigia, the historic centre of Syracuse. Giving onto the ancient "Mastra Rua," where the Siracusan nobility resided from the 14th century, the hotel is a starting point for cultural itineraries. Its recent restoration maintains the original structure made of three buildings, contributing to its dynamic layout. Rooms are furnished differently with antique furniture, four-poster beds and refined interior decoration with distinctive Sicilian touches and Mediterranean features such as colorful bathrooms tiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algila Ortigia Charme Syracuse
Hotel Algila Ortigia Charme
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing