We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Worcester13” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
Ranked #3 of 72 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worcester13”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed in a junior suite without a sea view, which did not matter as the weather in march '13 was not at its best. The hotel was very much at its best. Very comfortable room and bed, bathroom with a big bath tub and well appointed walk-in shower. The only grumble was that the hot water was a bit luke-warm. Both breakfasts and evening meals were superb and all the staff were charming and incredibly helpful. The conversion work to the several buildings which now comprise this hotel have been most thoughtfully designed and really well executed. This in our opinion is a really outstanding hotel and we would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Worcester13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,100
    268
    61
    18
    2
See reviews for
247
880
38
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two days at this charming hotel. The staff went above and beyond from our arrival (helping us park the car and bringing in our luggage) to our departure. They were happy to answer any of our questions and provide us with information about Ortigia and Sicily in general. The hotel is in a beautifully remodeled historic building. We had two rooms and each room appears to be unique. We appreciated all the details such as plate with fresh fruit put in our room while we were gone, turn-down service while we were at dinner with delicious cookie on each pillow, Bulgari toiletries, free minibar in the room with different non-alcoholic drinks, free snacks in the lobby during the day (pistachios, almonds, different types of juice). Breakfast is included in the price and truly sumptuous. There is a beautiful buffet (I can highly recommend the different jams: mandarin, lemon, orange, figs, etc), including all kinds of pastries and fresh fruit, cereal, different kinds of juice. But there is also an a la carte menu (included in the price) with different items such as omelettes, scrambled eggs, cheese, cold cuts, etc.
One night we had dinner at the hotel. The menu is rather small, but everything is absolutely delicious and the service is very attentive and friendly.
We had a wonderful time and would love to return! Thank you to everyone for making sure everything was to our liking!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gonefeising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtaranto, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your review. With much delight we read that you were overall impressed with the quality of our facilities and especially service. Your gracious comments will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards which you have experienced during your stay with us.
We sincerely hope to soon have the opportunity of welcoming you at our hotel again.
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed in a sea-view junior suite for 2 nights. The room (well, the entire hotel actually) was beautifully decorated to give it historic character, and it was spacious enough even with 3 people in our party. The beds were very comfortable, although the sofa-bed was situated near the A/C vent which was not the quietest. Absolutely no other complaints besides that, however.

What differentiates the Algila Ortigia Charme even from other 4 and 5-star hotels is its attention to the small details and perks that make travelers happy. Like being greeted by name when we first entered the hotel...or free Internet, free mini-bar drinks, Bulgari toiletries, a helpful print-out describing all the sights in Siracusa, and a sumptuous breakfast with entrees made to order (dinner was also excellent and well-priced for a hotel restaurant).

The Algila has a great location on the sea and close to all the points of interest on the island of Ortigia. And the service is so welcoming, friendly, and helpful. We left a bag on the bus coming in from Catania, and 2 concierges did everything in their power to locate the bus 10 km outside of town and help us pick up the bag. Now that is going the extra mile (or kilometer).

Room Tip: The hotel website actually advises "anyone booking for longer periods who needs more space and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dartmouth06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtaranto, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guests,
we are happy to learn that your stay here went beyond any expectations and you caught those little things that make the difference.
We offer free services such us those you mentioned but also bicycles, wi-fi and e-printer service, kindle to download your faaorite newspaper only to make your stay easier and confortable.
Me and my staff thank you for your kind words and we are looking forward to welcoming you again

Warmest regards
Mariella Taranto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our family spent 3 nights here in December. We had 3 rooms and really enjoyed ourselves. The location is wonderful, right at the water and near the daily farmers market. The breakfasts are fresh, delicious and beautifully displayed. The front desk was very helpful in recommending restaurants, a spa and answering various logistic questions. We had been here a few years ago and couldn't wait to come back. It is a delightful hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilove2travel805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtaranto, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear friends,
what a pleasure to receive your appreciation!
We wait for you for the third time and will discover an even better service. Further to our guests suggestions there are lots of free services and new initiatives for your spare time.
Besides, to plan your visit right now can mean to the best and convenient fare you have ever had.
Looking forward to meeting you soon

Best regards
Mariella Taranto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We spent three weeks in Italy in December 2012, and this was the most wonderful hotel of the entire trip. Not only is it beautifully decorated, the breakfasts were delicious. The location is perfect, as well. But best of all, the man at the front desk (I wish I knew his name) made a suggestion that changed our trip. We had been taking buses throughout Sicily, and he suggested we use a taxi for our trip to Taormina. The cost was within our budget, so we did it! Rather than spend several hours on the bus -- including changing buses (harrowing for us because we never knew what we were doing and we always ended up scurrying) -- we were there in an hour. We did the same thing from Taormina to Messina. It's amazing how a gentle suggestion can make such a difference. This is, indeed, a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtaranto, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Suzy,

how nice to receive your appreciations.
Our mission is always to satisfy our guests' needs even giving them the right suggestion.
Do not miss to visit us again this year and be quick to book: you will find nice surprices with rates if you book in advance!

Looking forward to meeting you soon

Best regards
Mariella Taranto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st thomas, vi
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were so happy to stay at the Algila Charme Hotel in Ortigia, Sicily over Christmas 2012. The staff is wonderful, helpful, generous with their information and time, great service, comfortable rooms, beds were great. The location is terrific with walking distance to many restaurants and shopping. The staff made many good recommendations for restaurants also. Trattoria Maturua for Christmas Eve was stellar and a 5-7 minutes walk up the street. The breakfast at the hotel was among the best. Order eggs and they arrive perfect and freshly made.
Loved everything an would return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank antilles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtaranto, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Sirs,
thank you very much for your kind words and thank you for giving us the pleasure to be our guest.
For the next time you will came here, I invite you to try our restaurant at least once, I am sure you won't be disappointed. We can offer tipical sicilian dishes but also a wide range of biological and vegetarian selections ( even wines! ) ... starting from breakfast to dinner...
Hoping tro welcoming you gain
Best regards
Mariella Taranto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellford, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Algila Ortiegia Charme was one of the most convenient and pleasant hotels we stayed at during our Italian holiday. We found it clean and professional and well located for all the attractions and restaurants of Ortiegia, and we were pleasantly surprised to find free overnight parking directly in front of the hotel door.
Breakfast was excellent, with a combination of a continental buffet and a cooked meal, served with reasonable coffee.
A couple of small negatives: our room was smaller than others we'd stayed in, with limited space to store clothes or travel bags; and although the service was impeccably professional, it was a bit impersonal compared to our experiences at other hotels in this beautiful country.
Overall, we were pleased with our stay. Will we return? Absolutely!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank petercam56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtaranto, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Peter,
Thank you for your kind words , they are always welcome.
Our mission is precisely to make pleasant the stay of our customers and we are pleased to do so.
For your next stay (which I hope very near) I would like to let you know that the hotel offers superior rooms, more spacious than those of the standard type. They have a living room equipped with cabinets and other accessories. Booking well in advance can also take advantage of an affordable rate and choose the most beautiful room. There are interesting special offers for our " special" customers

With the hope to see you soon
Sincerely
Mariella Taranto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.5 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
0.2 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#4 of 72 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 72 in Syracuse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#14 of 72 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#10 of 72 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Siracusa Prometeo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel

Property: Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 93, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is located in an exquisite ancient building on the waterfront of Ortigia, the historic centre of Syracuse. Giving onto the ancient "Mastra Rua," where the Siracusan nobility resided from the 14th century, the hotel is a starting point for cultural itineraries. Its recent restoration maintains the original structure made of three buildings, contributing to its dynamic layout. Rooms are furnished differently with antique furniture, four-poster beds and refined interior decoration with distinctive Sicilian touches and Mediterranean features such as colorful bathrooms tiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and ACCOR so you can book your Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algila Ortigia Charme Syracuse
Hotel Algila Ortigia Charme
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing