We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic hotel with super staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
Ranked #3 of 72 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel with super staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at this lovely hotel. Ortigia (the island part of Syracuse) is a great place to stay - you can walk to lots of good restarurants easily and there is a LOT of history and beautiful buildings to see. The hotel is a very skillful conversion of 3 buildings and we had a comfortable room which was immaculately clean, had a balcony with a view of the sea, great bathroom and everything worked well. We'd booked bed and breakfast tariff, and the breakfast is fantastic - not like the miserable and expensive efforts of big chain hotels! Freshly squeezed orange juice, lovely Italian coffee, eggs with whatever, fresh fruit, lots of different cake... yum.

The staff were impressively knowledgeable and friendly, Marcello, Magdalena, Sabrina at reception, and went out of their way to help us out.

What I particularly like, as someone who has done too much business travel, is that they don't charge silly prices for things like wi-fi (which is free) or coffee or whatever. Instead they loan you bicycles to tootle around town and will put together a fantastic plate of antipasti plus salad and desert if you turn up after the restaurant is closed, and give you 2 ginormous glasses of prosecco at a very reasonable price :-)

Absolutely loved the place and would like to go back with our daughters. And, October turned out to be a very good time to visit, with good weather and not too many tourists :-)

Room Tip: the rooms are very individual, all the ones we peeped into looked good. The suite with terrace on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank johnhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtaranto, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear John,
thank you on behalf of all the staff appointed (but also that you had no way of knowing) for the sincere words that gratify us very much.
Yes, I am waiting with you, your ​​daughters and family: we have structured an interesting policy for families and offer an opportunity for children to share the room with parents and ... the supplement is free!
In addition, if you book in advance, will also see a nice convenience promotion and rate.
We are very keen to improve our services.

I hope to welcome you again in Algilà
Sincerely
Mariella Taranto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,014
    252
    60
    17
    2
See reviews for
235
805
36
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We really liked this hotel, it ticked all the boxes. The staff were charming, the room was lovely if a bit dark (it is an old building, after all), the breakfast was the best of our trip, and the dinner we ate there was also good. Great coffee! And you could just step out into the centre of Ortigia. (The parking is a bit quirky. The hotel's spaces are expensive, but if you do a big loop to the left after passing the hotel you can get back to a carpark opposite, for the price of a tip to the freelance "guard". There is quite a lot of parking a bit further on, too.) Overall, thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MemoryStick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtaranto, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for expressing your preference.
We hope you will come back again in our hotel.
Do not hesitate to ask for assistance for your car, we have a range of possibilities.
We also implemented an exclusive line of organic products for both breakfast and dinner, including even wines without sulfites.
Our proposals for your leisure time are also, this year, many more.
In the summer months, for example, by purchasing a special package sea, we guarantee free transportation to the most beautiful beaches ...
We wait for you soon
Sincerely
Mariella Taranto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel, like its staff, is charming. It's a refreshing change from large soul-less hotels where every room is the same. We stayed in a standard classic room and it was plenty big enough. There were no drawers to keep clothes in but there were shelves in the wardrobe for this purpose. An excellent breakfast, complimentary soft drinks provided in the mini-bar on arrival and happy hour in the bar every evening all made us feel well looked after. Highly recommended to people looking to stay in an characterful well- located hotel in Ortigia.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrisalis79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

If you plan holidays in Syracuse, you should really go in Algilà Ortigia Charm Hotel because...
... the place is beautiful
... it is well located
... the staff is really nice
... breakfasts are great
... bicycles are available for guests
We really enjoyed our stay there! And we're sure you will too!!
Arnaud and Geraldine

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ArnaudGeraldine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Perfect location to visit the sites! Truly charming. Great staff! Nice breakfast! Definitely the hotel to stay at while visitng (Ortigia) Siracusa. You can walk everywhere from the hotel. Also, bikes are available to use thorughout your stay. Recommendations for restaurants were outstanding too! We will definitely visit again and stay here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clover1646745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We loved Algila in Siracusa. The staff is friendly, very helpful and polite. The location is amazing: in the middle of Ortigia, right on the seafront. It is ideal for an evening run or for a walk in the town center. All Siracusa’s best restaurants are in Ortigia, so it is also a good place to explore different dining options.
Talking about food, the restaurant at Algila is amazing. The food is fresh and dishes are very creative. My husband and I never return to the same restaurant twice when on holiday but we made an exception for Algila as the food was too good.
The nearest beach is 15/20 min by car, Arenella, and it's beautiful. We rented a car at the airport and every day experience a different beach on the coast. We stayed in Siracusa the first week of October and had no problem with parking also because the hotel is really helpful on this matter, however I believe that in high season it could be more difficult.
The hotel has only 1 room with a jacuzzi on the terrace, but it was already booked. Rooms are not very big, we stayed in Junior suite and it was comfortable enough and the bathroom was very good with a bathtub and a separate modern shower and Bvlgari toiletries.
Overall we highly recommend this hotel as a place to stay and we would definitely go back the next time we’ll be in Siracusa.

Room Tip: Book in advance and get the Jacuzzi room or a sea view Junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ItalianaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Every October we hit the Med looking for sun, but this is the first time we have had five days of excellent weather, which was made all the better by this lovely hotel. We stayed in the top floor executive room, which had a private terrace with it's own jacuzzi overlooking the sea. The room itself was not huge, but the hotel is clear in it's literature that it is an historic conversion with rooms that reflect this. It had everything that you could want, including a music hub for iplayer; if only we knew how to use one! Posh toiletries by Bulgari and free soft drinks made it feel just like home ( I wish). The staff could not have been more helpful; phone charger, pillows, 'The Guardian' loaded onto the hotel kindle. Wine delivered to the room came with complimentary local pistachios and almonds. Ortigia itself is a fascinating work in progress; a good place to be a builder, with lots of crumbling palazzos being restored. Fantastic Greek and Roman remains too at Neopolis and Epipoli. Not as grand as the hotels on the side of the Grand harbour, but much quieter and relaxed; we will be back!

Room Tip: At 300eu a night, the executive room was worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meiard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Syracuse
0.2 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#4 of 72 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 stars 461 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#9 of 72 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 72 in Syracuse
5.0 of 5 stars 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Siracusa Prometeo
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#16 of 72 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 stars 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel

Property: Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 93, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is located in an exquisite ancient building on the waterfront of Ortigia, the historic centre of Syracuse. Giving onto the ancient "Mastra Rua," where the Siracusan nobility resided from the 14th century, the hotel is a starting point for cultural itineraries. Its recent restoration maintains the original structure made of three buildings, contributing to its dynamic layout. Rooms are furnished differently with antique furniture, four-poster beds and refined interior decoration with distinctive Sicilian touches and Mediterranean features such as colorful bathrooms tiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and ACCOR so you can book your Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algila Ortigia Charme Syracuse
Hotel Algila Ortigia Charme
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing