We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but don't expect a Red Carpet treatment”
Review of Taberna Sveva

Taberna Sveva
Ranked #64 of 643 Restaurants in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mellieha, Malta
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great food but don't expect a Red Carpet treatment”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This Tavern equates to an Osteria in terms of food, service and what to expect - in a few words - excellent food, gruffy service and modest prices. This is why in my opinion, Osterias and Taverns in Italy are generally rated poorly by a large number of foreign visitors. These establishements are meant to serve simple, delicious food at very modest prices, and the service simply isn't often part of the package.

Returning to Taberna Sveva, this restaurant is found in a small square in front of a military barracks. There is ample seating on the outside and inside, although once again, unsurprisingly, it has no bar. The food is casareccio (home-made), delicious and simple. Somehow I got the impression that the starters were huge in size, but the mains were rather smaller than your average Osteria. Finally, the prices, even though cheap and excellent value for money, were slightly more expensive than average... We paid about 30 Euro per person for antipasto, first, second and wine...

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meh190meh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    251
    75
    37
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great puddings!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The food at this restaurant got better as we went through the courses. I chose the antipasti del casa as a starter, and my husband chose the fish antipasti. The fish pLatter was very heavily oriented towards whitebait, with rather less of the other components. Mine had a reasonable selection of roast vegetables, cooked meats and cheese. Our main courses were fairly indifferent, including some rather plain lamb cutlets. however, the puddings did not disappoint! I had a delicious ricotta cheesecake with almonds and pistachios and my husband had an orange tiramisu, both of which were excellent.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
148 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Time for the 5. This place has it all!”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Excellent local food, good and personal service, fantastic location, good wine selection and reasonable prices. Thats when you deserve the 5 and this place does. We only had time for two dinners in Siracusa and we had both here - why risk it? We had fantastic home made pasta, a veal carpaccio to die for and, of coruse, super fresh seafood. We got spot on wine recommendations and ended it all with espresso & limoncello. We will be back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven
Level Contributor
112 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Surprising”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This place lies a little distance away from the other restaurants in Syracuse. It is on a square and during daytime nothing betrays the fact that there is a restaurant. At night the tables and chairs come out for a popular and busy place that serves great seafood and other local specialities. Loved it!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kaysee007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply hopeless!”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We found this restaurant through Trip Advisor and Lonely Planet. Could not believe that they microwaved part of the hot antipasti and my main swordfish dish. Their gnocchi with pistacchio sauce was tasteless. So was their swordfish. The prices are inflated for the rubbish we were given. This restaurant should feature at the bottom of the list. It was the worst restaurant we went to in all of Sicily. Since we understand Italian we could understand what the patron and his waiters were saying on their clients as soon as they left!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AZE1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taberna Sveva also viewed

Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Taberna Sveva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing