We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does not have the wow factor”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Wagner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Wagner
Ranked #13 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Does not have the wow factor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Recently stayed for three nights as part of a group. Location is fine. Pretty central to the main sights, shopping and restaurants. The rooms are large and the bathroom clean but no air duct to get rid of steam and smells and no windows. My real complaint is that the rooms are so dark and to open the shutters and curtains was an exercise. So they were kept closed which was a shame. Also it is a little noisy outside. Also there is no area where one can go outside for a drink which again is a shame.
There are no restaurants to speak of but with so many around the area it's not that important. There is an area for breakfast and the food was good.
To summarise, it's O.K however, I would not necessarily stay again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room where there is light from outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandlebaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    184
    70
    21
    3
See reviews for
46
215
27
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Thought the hotel was beautiful and comfortable - bed was great and room all in all very good. Also, the location is very handy. However, at least on the street side there was good bit of noise, so bring ear plugs! Then again, I'm not sure WHERE in Palermo you would not need them if you're in the vicinity of a street. When in Italy etc etc. Would recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mirakoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights as part of a tour group. The hotel public spaces and rooms are nicely decorated in the style of a grand hotel. Breakfast here was very good with a large assortment of food. The location is ideal, with many shops and restaurants nearby. It is also very convenient for walking in the city and is not far from the Port of Palermo. We didn't have much interaction with the staff but all seemed to be very willing to help. We did hear some noise from the street but not enough to disturb our sleep. Would stay here again if in Palermo.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGELONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Stayed for three nights in a room on the 3rd floor, directly under the dining room and where breakfast is served. Tile floors and metal legged chairs cause lots of noise when people get up and down. Breakfast is was OK; not up to US standards.

The location of the hotel is good for walking in Palermo to see some of the sites. I understand that Sicily is going through economic bad times. Everyone smokes as well and the streets are dirty. If we were not meeting a tour group, I don't think that we would have stayed there.

However, the room was large and clean and the staff was friendly. We did have problems getting internet in our room. It was better in the lobby.

The hotel itself was nicely decorated, very "old Sicily" but comfortable.

Room Tip: Stay on the first or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilifisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

this hotel is where you want to be.1 1/2 blocks from via principe de belmonte ,1 1/2 blocks from via roma and 1 1/2 blocks from via settinari...all full of great shopping ,restaurants and great architectural attractions.the interior is spectacular!!the breakfast(included)would feed aa king with sicilian delicasies.however,if you have an outside room ,traffic will keep you up all night,with an inside(courtyard )room you hear the kitchen start breakfast at 5am.anywhere on the 3rd flop you are directly under a party space with chairs sliding and him heels a-tapping till the wee hours,and any where in the hotel the sound of a mosquito in your ear is a likelihood. great location though.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richlester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Five star hotel in the centre of old Palermo. Everything about it was great. Couldn't fault anything. We got a great price through Expedia, room was superb, staff very friendly, especially the bar man.

It would be first on my list if I were to go back to this city. Give it a go you will not be disappointed .

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robbieburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Grand Hotel Wagner has a great location and its service is outstanding. I went there on a family trip and enjoyed my visit to palermo. When we first arrived we got a really small room with a window that opened to another building 8 feet away, which made it really dark. I requested a room change and got a bigger one with window to the street but in exchange we got the really loud intersection nearby where honking noise is on 24/7. Lastly, the breakfast was ok: the products were not of the best quality and it did not really have a lot of options.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Carlos_L93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#3 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 101 in Palermo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#8 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Wagner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Wagner

Property: Grand Hotel Wagner
Address: Via Riccardo Wagner 2, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Palermo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#15 Business Hotel in Palermo
#15 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Wagner 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Wagner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Palermo
Grand Hotel Wagner Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing