We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too grand”
Review of Grand Hotel Wagner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Wagner
Ranked #13 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A one night stay on the way out of Sicily back to Rome.
Stay here only if you must.
It has some grand features of overdone gilding, and furniture past its prime.
One night triple stay was almost $300 US and probably the least value of a 14 day Rome/Sicily trip.
No one is at fault - but it is only if you have no other good choices. Smells like smoke in the lobby.
PS - they provided breakfast in a bag when we were leaving before breakfast is served - not worth even thinking about eating it.
PPS - Tauck Tours stays there - and it is way below their usual standards.
Cannot recommend.

Room Tip: Search until you find one that you would stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GrahamGriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 522 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

Like others have noted it is a big down in the mouth for a 5 star. Hard to pin point what exactly, just seems a shadow its former self However, the location is excellent, off the main drag by one block so it is relatively quiet. The breakfast is good enough, not great but good and in the basement. Bathroom a bit on the small side but big for Europe.

Room Tip: First floor balcony is a spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elleg53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel at the conclusion of our Italy trip. The hotel was centrallly located, so you can pretty much walk to everything. Palermo was very active during our stay, so it was hard to sleep given all the activity - which went on until the morning hours of dawn. Our room, however, was clean and comfortable. Hotel staff was professional, friendly and helpful!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sebtran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Palermo is not a good town for hotels so I was very happy to find Grand Hotel Wagner after a few trips there for work.

It feels a bit like you have gone back in time 20 years when you walk in the front door, add this to the 20 years you go back when you land on the island and you have something rather a lovely, a sense of old world glamor.

The rooms are huge, the bathrooms magnificent and the beds very comfortable. I haven't slept as well here as I do anywhere else in the world. I would go back there just to sleep!

The coffe at breakfast was amazing and for an italian hotel the staff were actually quite nice!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FinnRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were traveling with a tour group and Alitalia lost our luggage for two days so perhaps I wasn't in the greatest mood when I first saw the Hotel Wagner. The front desk staff was lovely and tried to be helpful. The Hotel ( a grand dame covered in gilt to hide her age) is in a great location just two blocks from the best shopping and the hop-on-hop-off bus which shouldn't be missed ( red line) . The rooms are an O.K. size and quiet if you are facing the courtyard ( but dark with no view in that case). The bathroom was dirty with long black hair all over the curtains ( dingy gray). The linens were very old and the blanket worn. The robe ( although clean) had a hole in it.) We couldn't wait to leave Palermo.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelartist0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This hotel is one of two five star hotels in Palermo. We spent three nights. Our first room was quiet, facing the back alley. When we were "upgraded" to the front side it was to a smaller room with a lot of city noise. Some of the hotel staff were eager to help, others were seemingly too busy to be bothered. The location is nice, close to the harbor and the public markets for walking. Not bad, but not Grand.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a view, but rooms in the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 27countriessofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a classic hotel in the heart of Palermo on the border of the new and old town. We found the location very convenient. The rooms were large with a large bathroom and as the rooms faced the inner courtyard, it was very quiet. Great breakfast selection and very friendly and helpful staff. Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ek6347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#6 of 98 in Palermo
550 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 98 in Palermo
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Wagner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Wagner

Address: Via Riccardo Wagner 2, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Palermo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#15 Business Hotel in Palermo
#15 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: $133 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Wagner 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Wagner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Palermo
Grand Hotel Wagner Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing